We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very peacfull and relaxing.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 15 Richmond B&B and Inns
San Luis Obispo, CAL.
1 review
“Very peacfull and relaxing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

Will surely return to this property , everything is taken care of . Details seem to be the owners specialty . Who would know the city is just miles away .

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Its not in California
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank djhuntington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
39
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
williamsburg, Va.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

We wanted to "get away" for a one-night stay somewhere close to home so we chose the Historic Mankin Mansion. What an excellent choice! Kind of a hidden secret just outside Richmond on a beautiful piece of property. Since it was in the Spring, all the annual flowers, trees and shrubs were in full bloom and it was magnificent. At night, the grounds were even more beautiful with twinking white lights everywhere. This was once a working brickyard where bricks were made so there are stunning "works of art" made out brick everywhere. Our room was spacious, meticulously clean and very private. We were served our coffee in our room the next morning on a beautiful tray along with a fresh red rose and newspaper. After relaxing with the paper, we had a delicious hot breakfast in the main dining room of the Mansion. The owners are friendly, caring and very eager to make your stay the best that it can be. We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone. This is also a wedding resort so spread the word to your friends who are planning their wedding.

  • Liked — How comfortable the owners made us feel
  • Disliked — Cant' think of anything
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traincollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

We not only held our daughter's wedding at The Historic Mankin Mansion Memorial Day weekend of 2007 but we booked all the suites and cottages for her wedding party, guests, and parents.
Paula & Martin, along with their event coordinator made every detail special and truly made the entire wedding FAIRYTALE!

From the time our guests were greeted by the valets through the ceremony, reception, after hours party, through our overnight stay and fabulous breakfast buffet the following morning, each and every little detail was constantly attended to! Martin is a wonderful DJ and kept the "party" rolling all night long! Not once did we have to think about or worry about anything! We got to have a wonderful time without any fuss or muss!

If you have any type of event and want to wow your guests, and yourself.... or you just want a wonderful setting to run away to for a night or two.....go visit The Historic Mankin Mansion!
You will be very glad you did!

  • Liked — The wonderful setting and the GREAT service!
  • Disliked — That we had to leave to go back to the real world after being in a FAIRYTALE!
  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggeeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

Mankin Mansion is a wonderful getaway for us. We live in the area, and absolutely love going. Martin and Paula (the proprietors) go out of their way to make sure everything you could ever need is provided. The rooms are beautiful and luxurious. The cottages are absolutely beautiful and luxurious. Fresh breakfast in the mornings prepared and ready when you are. Breakfast is delicious! The game room is complete with a T.V. room, pool table and more. You feel so pampered from the moment you arrive. It’s hard to believe how close you are to downtown Richmond, the airport and the interstate. We love visiting and can’t wait till we go again. I would recommend this to anyone, whether they need a getaway, a place to stay or are planning a Wedding. Martin and Paula make it a time to cherish!

  • Liked — Martin and Paula, the owners, make you feel at home.
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Goshmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2009

The Mankin Mansion is a beautiful property in a convenient location in Richmond. Close to the airport and interstates, this Bed and Breakfast is a vacation destination all in itself, but close to all of historic Richmond! We stayed in a cottage, which was beautifully decorated with all the amenities we wanted and needed. The rest of the property and rooms are gorgeous and well maintained. We would be happy to stay there again!

  • Liked — The rooms and the beautiful property.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tgriff3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

My husband and I found Historic Mankin Mansion completely by accident. We were looking for a fun escape not too far from home. We were fortunate enough to stay in the Bridal Suite. Lucky for us, there wasn't a wedding there that weekend. Gosh what a wonderful experience. Martin and Paula, the owners, helped us find several great local restaurants in downtown Richmond which we thoroughly enjoyed during our long week-end stay and I, for one, loved having breakfast prepared and ready for me - - - complete with fresh orange juice - - -- every morning. What a treat!
Our room was plush while still being comfortable and we didn't want for anything. We even had a "baby fridge" with my Diet Cokes and Water. Ok, that REALLY made me happy. We've visited several times, mostly because of the hospitality and welcome we always receive from Martin and Paula. I HIGHLY recommend this private get-a-way that is still so close to "the action"

  • Liked — Proximity to downtown Richmond & shopping
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LizDaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatteras Island, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

Historic Mankin Mansion is a hidden treasure. A short drive from downtown Richmond, you feel like it's a world away. The Inn has several beautifully restored historic buildings on some of the most luxuriously manicured grounds I've ever seen. The main inn is breathtaking and beautifully decorated. We stayed in the guest house, which gave all of the benefits of the Inn with an added feel of romantic privacy.

Martin and Paula are as lovely and hospitable as their Inn. Their service and their breakfasts were nothing short of world class. Be sure to take advantage of their game room; we shot pool until 1:00 AM one evening. They also provided excellent guidance on what to do and see and where to eat in Richmond. Don't miss walking along the canals and wandering the river section. This was our first trip to stay at Historic Mankin Mansion. It will certainly not be our last.

  • Liked — The facility and the innkeepers; the best!
  • Disliked — Nothing. Liked it all.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBX_Innkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
5.3 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#9 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
4.9 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast

Property: Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4300 Oakleys Ln, Richmond, VA 23223-5956
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Mankin Mansion Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Historic Mankin Mansion. The ideal setting for a bed and breakfast stay. Enjoy the best of both worlds: a location close to modern day Richmond, all the while experiencing the ambiance of another era on this historic estate. We combine Southern Hospitality, Lasting History and Exceptional Service. Our suites and cottages have been lovingly restored and appointed with antique and vintage decor. Whether visiting the Richmond area for pleasure, a romantic getaway, vacation or a business traveler wanting personal attention. We are also available for corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Historic Mankin Mansion b&b
Historic Mankin Mansion Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing