We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for low-maintenance travelers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Ranked #31 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great for low-maintenance travelers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

If you want pampering this is not the place. But if you want to set your own pace this is perfect. We wanted a quiet place away from the tourists where we could relax. The directtv was a fantastic bonus. The occasional plane could be heard, which surprised me, but overall the place was quiet. On the weekends the grill got boisterous, but no worse than our neighbors at home.

The only problem I had was that the gutter downspout was right next to our bedroom so I heard every drip of water after one evening rainstorm. Not horrible, but took some willpower to ignore.

We would stay here again no problem!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalazoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Lalazoom,

Thank you very much for your generous review. We here at Candlewood Suites strive to give our guests the best "at home" service, friendly atmosphere and accommodations within our abilities. We have our maintenance team looking into the downspout audible drip issue to ensure it will not inconvenience anyone in the future. It is only through our guest's experiences that we stay rated as the best hotel in Richmond, and we will provide you with the same industry leading service next time you are in town. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

-James K. Brown-Hare-
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    56
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
81
53
21
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed last night because the hotel is located within a mile from family. The room was clean, spacious and attractively decorated. The beds were comfortable. My two children liked the Direct tv that provided various station selections. The bedding and towels are nice as well. I liked the kitchenette and it is perfect for staying multiple nights. The a/c is a little noisy, but it shuts on and off automatically. There is only one small elevator and you will have to wait.

Also, there were many young people staying at the hotel because of a sporting event, so the hallways were a little noisy. I'm glad we stayed on the top floor so that we wouldn't have the noise over our heads.

We will stay again. It meets our needs and it is close to our family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Java84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Candlewood suites may have the best beds and pillows in the Western world. They are truly pet-friendly and, if you are flexible enough to cook well without an oven, you can save restaurant expenses.

The price is right. But don't expect much in the way of service. You'll cary out your own garbage and tote your towells to the front desk..

When we arrived on a Sunday, having unpacked, we disovered that neither the TV in the sitting room nor the bedroom worked. There was no one in the building that could help till Monday There is no hard copy list of [Direct] TV channels although one could be copied and distributed to all roms in a couple of hours at best. So you'll have to use the on-screen guide [which is a masterpiece of disorganization] and write your own list or set out to memorize them. Probably better to bring a book.

Departing aircraft are audible but infrequent..

Our experience at Candlewood in Winchester, VA was more positive than Richmond Airport.. Still, we're not tempted to return to Residence Inns.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, ask to be near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Poophiles,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to know that you appreciate our beds and pillows. We strive everyday to create special experiences to our guests and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. We are sorry the service you received from our hotel staff was less than satisfactory. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate departments for possible improvements or modifications to better accommodate all our patrons in the future.

Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention. Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to the Outer Banks. It was the first time I had ever stayed at a Candlewood Suites and this one made a great impression. The room was very clean and spacious with a small kitchen and all of the accessories one would need to cook a small meal, etc. What I really loved was the guest laundry! It was free! You do have to supply your own laundry detergent, but I was so relieved to be able to wash a few clothes, which we desperately needed since we were traveling with a baby who had spit up on me the day before. There was also a very nice fitness center and a guest store (operated on the honors system). It appeared to be well-stocked with things people might need on the road. I didn't go in, just looked through the window. If I'm ever in the area again, I will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
195 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Myrtle Beach. The place was very clean, rooms spacious and well appointed with a fridge, dishwasher, small stove, microwave and all the utensils needed. We did not need any of those things just a bed and a shower. The bed was very hard and set up against the wall where my wife had to climb out and get out at the foot of the bed, strange however I believe that its set up for a business traveler. The night staff was very accomodating as we arrived late. Needed to ask what was around for breakfast the morning staff was no where to be seen....Its a good place to stay for a short period of time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waverly, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

What can I say, another very solid stay at this location!!! While most of this "TEAM" appear to be fairly new employees they are trained to exceed our (customer) expectations. Always attentive to our needs with immediate response to any requests. This location appears to be a training site for quality people that in a very short window are promoted to other locations. Way to go "James"
you know how to seriously school these folks for growth. I would recommend a stay to everyone!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I chose this hotel because of it's ranking here on TripAdviser. On arrival we were greeted buy front desk attendant; who was quite pleasant and welcoming. A really a good place for the money. comfy bed, you feel safe, I love the use of a little kitchen. The staff is friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1216322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbrown804, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
1216322, thank you for your review. I love hearing the staff is doing a good job. we will strive to maintain the same high standard so that you will always choose the Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport in the future. Hope to see you again soon. Safe travels, and remember, at Candlewood Suites, consider us home.

-James K. Brown-Hare, General Manager-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
10.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
13.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Address: 5400 Audubon Dr, Richmond, VA 23231-2860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#9 Business Hotel in Richmond
#13 Family Hotel in Richmond
#14 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Richmond Airport Hotel (RIC). The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is a member of Priority Club Rewards & the IHG family of brands including InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn, Express & Staybridge Suites Hotels. Specializing in your extended stay experience, the Candlewood Suites Hotel is the perfect environment for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary & corporate housing needs.The Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel is centrally located at the (RIC) Richmond Airport near I 64 & I 295; minutes from the Downtown Richmond & West End real estate districts. Our location offers near access to Ft. Lee (RIR) Richmond Raceway, Colonial Downs, Richmond Convention Center, the Coliseum, VCU Siegel Center & local corporate facilities including Hewlett Packard, Million Air, Phillip Morris, Qimoda, Smurfit Stone and Thomas & Betts.The Candlewood Suites Hotel offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term hotel real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio & one-bedroom apartment - like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living & work areas, TV w/ DVD players, free wired & wireless Internet. Other features include 24 hour business center, shuttle, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard w/grills & our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing