We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISHONEST STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Richmond Airport
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DISHONEST STAFF”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Very DISHONEST staff. Was unable to retrieve my engagement ring. I had left it in the bathroom along with two rings on the soap dish. I called hotel same day and they said they had already given the room to someone else that I would have to call back in the morning to see if housekeeping found it. When I called back they said they found 1. Later on they called and said they found them. And they will put them in the safe until I retrieve them. I was so happy until my bf goes and stays there today and it turns out that they had only found 2. My engagement ring was the one stolen. So now I am very upset. I thought I was staying at a nice place considering its part of the hyatt hotel. So either someone in housekeeping stole it, or the staff members that have access to lost and found. I know that the guests that stayed in the room after us did not take them because the room was cleaned and if the housekeeper replaced the soap and shampoo, which is obvious they did he/she grabbed them. It's just impossible for them to only find 2, When they were all in the same exact spot. Whoever took it took the most expensive out of the 3. I hope someone gets fired over this. I'm actually thinking I'll file a police report because after all they were stolen. It's easy to figure out who took it. See who entered the room to clean it by seeing when they swiped and who they gave the rings to afterwards and how many we're given to them. You would think this hotel wouldn't have thieves working at such a nice place considering the clientele. This hotel does not live up to its name.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanyvaldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello,

Firstly, thank you for staying with us. I have been informed by my staff that we found two rings and they were returned to your husband. We investigated the entire incident spoke to the housekeeper who cleaned the room but we found only two rings.

There is definitely some misunderstanding regarding the third ring. Please call me at 804-467-3330 to discuss further if you haven't found it yet. I will help you as much as I can.

Sincerely,

Sunny Amin
Director of Operations.
Hyatt Place Richmond Airport,VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    98
    49
    26
    16
See reviews for
100
59
34
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Here for business. Great rooms, with a lot of space. Bonus was a desk to sit and do work at. Bathroom was a bit cramped, it worked. The breakfast is the morning was good. Get there early, it goes fast. The staff was helpful and directed us to some great food joints. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hello,

Thank for your staying at our Hotel. We appreciate your Feedback & are happy to know that your stay was enjoyable.

Please keep us in mind next time your are visiting Richmond, VA.

sincerely,

Sunny Amin
Director of Operations,
Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, VA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Pro's staff was friendly at check in!! Joshua was really nice and helpful. Giant room and comfortable bed!

Con's shower had scum all over like it has not been washed in a long time. The big one for me was they ran out of breakfast. There were empty bowls and plates and weren't restocked for at least 30 minutes. No one seemed to care. Dirty plates piled high, no napkins, no hot water, no forks, no clean tables. This was only an hour into breakfast service.

Will go back next time to Hampton Inn, Sandston. A few extra dollars but see not it is worth it!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank allycat1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, General Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hello Guest,
First of all I am embarrassed about our Breakfast & cleanliness issues you experienced during your stay at our hotel.

Please accept my Apologies and I also would like to inform you that additional training has been done with our housekeeping & Breakfast team members.

Please give us another chance next time you are in the area to see what improvements we have made. Please call me directly at 804-467-3330 as I would really like to speak with you & offer my apologizes as well.

Sincerely,

Sunny Amin
Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

I found the Hyatt Place chain a while ago, because Im a huge fan of the Hyatt Gold Passport program (along with MANY others), and was so pleasantly surprised with room size, plush clean towels and extremely friendly front desk staff. The room size is huge with desks, separate sitting area with sofa's and usually a large flat screen TV that swivels to accommodate the bedroom as well.

While finding myself stranded and in need of a place to stay, I saw there was a Hyatt Place near the RIC Airport and it happens to be alongside acres of shopping from Target to hair salons and MANY restaurants both fast drive throughs, to dine in. But the hotel also has a wide range of easy comfort food to choose from either using room serves or down in the lobby/bar area. I called from the airport, booked a room and drove down the street and checked in.

I used this Hyatt Place during Hurricane Sandy and right before boarding my flight from DCA onward to Hawaii, with a stop at DFW, my flight was cancelled and was told if I could get to RIC they could reroute me through ORD. So, off I went, in torrential rain to Richmond, VA, a place I've never been. Low and behold after the three hour drive, all flights ended up canceling and, now I'm in Richmond for the night, well I thought for just one night... I ended up being forced to stay in Richmond two nights before I was able to get a flight out. Thanks to the lovely people at the Hyatt Place Richmond, they helped me make the best of my situation. I ate breakfast each morning, shopped and saw the area during the day, and bellied up to the bar each night and drank, ate and chatted with other guests and the friendly staff, all sympathetic to my ongoings.

The Hyatt Place in all the locations I used, have a plentiful free breakfast starting early and decent coffee, not a super luxury Cappuccino, Espresso machine, but it's hot, plentiful and not bitter, and they give guests a few types of milk, not all budget friendly hotels do. They also have egg dishes where I've stayed with fruits and breads.

Now, I can't say I will ever book a vacation stay within the Hyatt Place chain, they do fully realize who their customer(s) are and cater quite well to them, the business traveler(s), as well as the needs of guests like myself and guests who don't want the hassles of getting to the airport for early flights.

Travel can be tough and tedious, so be kind to your fellow traveler and be smart, safe and enjoy the experience's in front of you.

B

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBAcres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time & providing us feedback regarding your stay at our Hotel. We appreciate your Business and looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Sunny Amin
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
173 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I enjoyed my stay here very much. Stayed one night prior to flying out early the next morning. They had a great airport shuttle which made it convenient. The hotel was clean and nice and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hi Carla,

Thank you for taking the time to providing us feedback about your stay at our Hotel. We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely

Sunny Amin
Director of Operaions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

My stay would have been nicer if there hadn't been a rave party down the hall, place smelled like a night club the next morning, police had to come and kick them out, crazy. Insult to injury, they retained a $50 dollor deposit off my debit card and never told me about it, had to wait 5 days for it to get returned, then I saw a $34.00 charge on my card I have no idea what it was for, still waiting to hear back and my stay was back at the end of March (it's now May). At times, nobody was at the front desk during the day. To be fair, I did hear from a manager that they have added staff since my stay, I hope that helps with the problems I had.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernPeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hello Guest,

First of all please accept my apologies regarding your experience at our Hotel. We recently acquired this property on June 19th, 2013. The property is under new Ownership & Management and I would like to assure you that things are completely different now.

Please keep us in mind the next time you are in the area as we would love for you to stay with us again & show you what improvements we have made.

Sincerely,

Sunny Amin
Director Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Decent place to stay for business in the area or for an overnight. Good thing about Hyatt Place's are that for the most part they are pretty good, have big rooms, strong customer service and good breakfast service. This Hyatt Place was no exception. Met my needs for a quick trip to Richmond. Big positive is that it is near multiple shopping destinations as well as restaurant chains making it a good place to stop if driving on I95 with a family. Rooms were good sized with ample room. bathrooms were on the small side. My only complaint about the Hyatt Place in general. Breakfast was very good including Starbucks coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lohotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny A, Manager at Hyatt Place Richmond Airport, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hello Guest,

Thank you for providing us feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your business very much & looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Sunny Amin
Director of Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Richmond Airport
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Airport
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Airport
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Richmond Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Richmond Airport

Property: Hyatt Place Richmond Airport
Address: 4401 S Laburnum Ave, The Shops at White Oak Village, Richmond, VA 23231-2419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Richmond Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Richmond Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Richmond Airport Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing