We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HYATT House Richmond-West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HYATT House Richmond-West
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Getaway!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Husband and son went to Richmond to spend a couple of days seeing some of the museums. We wanted to come back to a place without valet parking, a palce that had big enough rooms so my son and my husband and I could have some privacy, and somewhere we would find ample places to find something to eat. The Hyatt House Richmond West was perfect for this. The hotel is located at Short Pump mall, which enabled us to have a large variety of dining options, and a Dicks Sporting Goods store to engage the guys while I hit up Dillard's, Macy's, and Nordstroms. The front desk was extremely friendly and accomodating. The mini bar that sells beer and wine and little tapas like plates was quiet and soothing. The upscale decor was refreshing- I have become used to what I call "hotel room chic".... you know ... the tasteful colors and pedestrian flower art. This hotel had a monochromatic scheme that looked like they ripped the decor out of Restoration Hardware. Very different- yet still inviting. I loved the little modern touches like wheat grass in the lobby, interesting glass, and nickel accents- like the courtesy phones in the lobby. The breakfast buffet in the morning is to die for. There is everything up there- no kidding. The coffee is hot and plentiful, and there is hot water and tea choices for non coffee fans. The king suite room we got was amazing for the price. There was a kitchen area with full size refrigerator and freezer with ice maker, two burner cooktop, reasonable stock in the kitchen (including wine glasses!) and diswasher. There was a large sitting area with a full sofa that pulled out into a bed for my son- but he was so comfortable with all the pillows he just slept on the sofa and put his stuff on the ample ottoman. The king size bed in the bedroom part of the suite was superbly comfortable. There were plenty of towels and handsoaps, etc. There is also a little snack shop by the front desk where you can pickup soda, ice cream, chips, etc and pay for it there. My son loved that! On the minus side there is a shower that does not sut all the way, and the bathroom door is a heavy pocket door. I pinched my fingers on a late night potty run. My son took a shower and I used two of the extra towels to mop up. The shower has a glass door that goes about halfway across the shower. If you face the shower head away from you it only splashes a little onto the floor. If just run in, take a shower, and run out you have a mess on your hands. The icemaker in the fridge was off so it took several hours to get ice from the fridge. There was no ice bucket in the room so I took a mixing bowl and went in search of an ice machine. Apparently- the ice machines are only on every other floor and there is not information in the room- not even in the hotel literature- to tell you that. A passing custodian let me know that - the front desk person thought there was a vending area on every floor. All in all- the positives certainly outweighed the minuses. We really enjoyed our stay and will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    175
    42
    11
    13
See reviews for
251
196
37
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here since it was hotel sierra. The rooms still look brand new, i stayed in a studio king, no bathtub, with a kitchen... It is connected to short pump mall, if you are only going to shop i say stay there.. But for the price and value, i would stay at aloft or hilton with 2 miles

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

This is our 2nd stay. We had to go back to make sure the 1st was not a fluke. It wasn't!! The staff and service personnell is very friendly, pleasant ant professional. Your wish is their command. We desired to check in early, no problem. Our accomodations were excellent.; clean, fresh and well appointed. Location leaves nothing to be desired either. The site is on the edge of a shopping mall outlet (Macy's, Dillards, Crate & Barrel, Godiva's and so many more). Located on site are so many restaurants, a food court and a movie theater within walking distance. Only a short ride away are museums, gardens, more restaurants, farmer's market and tours galore. Breakfast the next morning was just as pleasant a surprise (made to order omelets, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, cereals pastries and more). Only one drawback ...parking. The parking is a little scarce because it's shared with the mall, but we saw constant security in the lots during the night if you have to park a little away from the hotel. Worth a try people. We are going back for concerts and more museums. See ya there!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slaughterhousecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel is in a great location for shopping and visiting on west end of town. In good location for Interstate 64 and 288. Reception was nice and was allowed to check-in early. Room looked nice and seemed clean. Then noticed stains on bathroom floor in front of toilet, I wiped up brown stains just in front of toilet and wondered if the floor could use a good mopping. We were careful to stay off floor in bare feet. Also, requested extra towels and pillows and they were there very quickly. You have to request it, but we did get fresh towels daily. All in all the hotel is OK and would probably stay there again. Everyone was so nice which makes the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel is perfect for a couple with little infants. We reserved a room with kitchen and couch for 1 night and ended up staying there for 2 nights. It has nice size swimming pool and gym that were located center of the building at the second floor. The gym was small...I would rather run outside... but the swimming pool area was awesome. My 6 months old baby enjoyed water for first time :) The hotel stuffs were very friendly and warm.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keiko J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. The welcome from the reception staff was excellent, very friendly and helpful and check in process was quick.

The room was fantastic... great bed, nice bathroom, huge TV and very well furnished. I had a great spot overlooking the outdoor pool, which was also very nice.

The rooms was very well equipped as well with a small kitchenette. The only slight complaint I have on the rooms was that the air con was a bit loud. When it kicked in there was quite a loud fan noise, so if you are a light sleeper then this could be annoying but for me it was fine.

The hotel is located close the mall and the restaurants! Some great places to eat (recommend Firebirds) and plenty of shops to visit.

The breakfast was OK. Plenty of choice from the buffet but I did find that some of the food was a bit on the cold side, particularly later on. Although they also do fresh omelette's to order etc.

Overall, i would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay. it's conveniently located, the rooms are nice, the staff are very welcoming and there are some great shops and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Writetomab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is in a great location right next to the Short Pump mall. There are plenty of restaurant options and lots of shopping. The hotel is very modern, too. Check in was a breeze, with very friendly hotel staff. The room was clean, very comfortable, and made you want to stay a while. Our floor was mostly quiet for the exception of a few noisy groups, but it didn't affect our sleep since we had a suite. There was a pair of doors that partitioned the bedroom off from the sitting area. The suite itself had pretty much everything you'd need: refrigerator, dishes, dishwasher, stove, sink, sofa bed, two TVs, plenty of mirrors and lighting, comfortable bed, dresser, ample closet space and a roomy vanity space and toilet/shower area. The shower was very chic, but not that functional seeing that half of the shower had no door. If you didn’t put a towel down, the floor would get wet. The toiletries were awesome! The elevators are super slow, which can be a bit annoying. The gym is functional, but small. There are treadmills, ellipticals, weights, an exercise bike, TV, water, and cool towels. One of the treadmills was broken. All other machines made a horrible squeaking noise when operational, and seemed like they would fall apart. It was distracting when working out. We didn't utilize the pool or fire pit areas, but they looked well-kept and clean. The business center was great, and all computers were fast and fully operational. You could even print documents from your wireless device in your room and have it ready downstairs. A fully stocked snack area by the front desk was useful for a quick snack. There weren't many options, but what was there was decent. I also enjoyed the ability to charge the items to my room instead of using cash. The breakfast in the morning was average at best. It ends way too early, and what they had available wasn't anything special. Your standard scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits, gravy, toast, bagels, and fruit were available along with tea, coffee and cold cereal. I didn't enjoy anything I ate. I saw a hair in the fruit, and the omelet station other reviewers raved about was not available. We saw the ingredients and the tips, but no staff member. Very disappointing. All in all, we had an enjoyable stay, but there are improvements to be made.

Room Tip: Get great deals from www.expedia.com.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrvlLover80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
12.3 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#10 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#4 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT House Richmond-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House Richmond-West

Property: HYATT House Richmond-West
Address: 11800 W Broad St #1098, Richmond, VA 23233-7927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House Richmond-West 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Hotel Sierra blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service and free-flowing amenities. Its 134 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs, MP3 docking stations and waffle terry bathrobes while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Starbucks brewed coffee and WI-FI. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with infinity pool, alluring fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located at Short Pump Town Mall with easy access to Interstate 64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Booking.com so you can book your HYATT House Richmond-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing