We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (956)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveller rating
627
236
57
17
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
236
57
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit short pump corner suite dick's sporting goods omelette station outdoor mall omelet bar made to order omelets huge mall hotel is located mini kitchen full size refrigerator shopping and restaurants richmond west hot tub living area very nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 956 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This is a new and really nice hotel that is ATTACHED to the ----- Mall about 15 minutes from Richmond downtown.  it is in a nice up scale suburb yet convenient to Richmond for sight seeing or business.  The hotel is the new Hyatt suite, extended stay concept, Hayatt house.  Only this used to be another hotel brand so it is a remodel.  The "kitchen" is a microwave and mini fridge, not even a wet bar sink.  I chose a corner executive room which was huge with 7 windows.  Only problem is the windows overlook a shopping center (Macy's, nNordstom, Dillard's) parking lot.  But the room is nice the staff was nice.  The free breakfast was moderate.  Nice selection of restaurants around within a mile.  If you are looking to shop till you drop this is the hotel for you.  Others will find it OK but the Dicks Sporting Goods Superstore next door takes away from the ambiance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank aybc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a one night getaway and loved it! the hotel was very clean, the room was a bit small but I'd rather have a smaller clean room than a huge dirty room. The staff was very helpful and there are so many shops and resturants within walking distance of the hotel. The breakfast was great, many options. Overall the only thing that would make this hotel any better would be rooms with jacuzzi and and indoor pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The location of the hotel is tricky - it's in the depths of a sprawling shopping mall off the interstate. If you don't have a car you'd better have local friends that do, and your GPS will get you only part of the way there as every building in the mall has the same street address.

Once you've found it, it's a high quality experience. Check in was equally next-door-neighbour friendly, and professionally efficient, in the way that big-chain American hotels manage so well. The suburban sprawl feel extends to the hospital-gurney sized elevators and super-wide corridors. Decor is modern, clean, chic, not over-decorated.

My room had a very comfortable bed with great bedlinen; a good sized working desk; a usable kitchenette with live-in fridge (it was huge); and a sofabed and coffee table. Although the bathroom was a good size, it only had a shower, albeit a big one, not a long bath. After a long week and a long journey to get here, a soak in the bath would have been nice. However there's a jacuzzi attached to the pool which I guess would serve the same purpose if you had your speedos with you. The bathroom toiletries were of good quality. Finally, there was a good ipod dock, almost a requirement in a hotel room these days!

Internet was free and worked well. The breakfast buffet isn't extensive, but what was there was good (scrambled eggs, moreishly crispy bacon, bagels, etc) and altho' it's a buffet, there are staff there to clear and be helpful, laying on the Southern charm.

Checkout was also efficient and easy; however I'd had to change my check-out date at short notice, and although I'd advised the night clerk the message hadn't got through. It wasn't a problem tho'.

I didn't use any of the facilities, but there is a pool, albeit a modest size, lappable but only about 10-15 yards, not 25. There's a gym too. If you're a runner, if you run out of the mall and cross to the opposite side of the interstate, you hit semi-rural woodland which is pleasant.

We asked the check-in clerk for a dinner recommendation, but couldn't find the place - however there's a dozen or so restaurants within the mall area so easy to find something you'd like. We found an excellent and not particularly expensive Mexican restaurant a 2-minute drive away.

So long as you have your own wheels (really - you can't expect to walk to anywhere apart from to the mall shops!) and can find the place, this is comfortable and excellent value, and would be good for a longer stay. I'd stay here again if I were in the 'hood for a few days.

Room Tip: Rooms either look out (car park/shopping mall) or over the pool. If it matters to you, ask at check-in.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Mrs Seat64K and I stayed twice at this Hyatt property: at the start and at the end of our VA holiday.

Overall, I rate this hotel as very good, We stayed in a studio suite, equipped with mini kitchen, huge TV, sofa and comfy bed. Unfortunately, due to the lighting (very low wattage?) the spotlessly clean bathroom appeared dingy. Perhaps lighter walls and different lighting would make for a more appealing bathroom. But this is a minor quibble. Although we didn't fully use it, the mini kitchen had everything you'd need to eat-in in the evening.

Service was minimal but helpful. Breakfast choice was extensive, the usual US breakfast staples being provided.

I found that the room had two drawbacks, the first was the fridge which was rather loud, especially as the room itself was very quiet (easy enough to deal with: turn off before going to bed, turn on in the morning...). Secondly, although the filter coffee provided wasn't too bad, the Hyatt House ONLY provided that ghastly synthetic "coffee creamer" instead of little pots of real milk or half-and-half. Apparently, according to the helpful desk clerk, they used to have real milk, but Hyatt decided that powdered creamer would be the standard (c'mon Hyatt, surely your customers deserve better than synthetic "stuff" for their morning in-room coffee?).

In all, a very good place to stay. Near to shops and restaurants, nicely fitted out and reasonable prices, I'd certainly suggest Hyatt House Richmond West for anyone wishing to visit Richmond, but bring your own milk (or filch a mini pot of half-and-half from the Hotel's entrance coffee bar).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seat64K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven K, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the kind words,it is our goal to exceed your expectations.
We hope your travels bring you back to Richmond and forward to serving you again and you will not have to bring your our milk ( we have plenty in the kitchen, just ask!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Traveled to Richmond for a two day meeting. Previously stayed at two other hotels, but this hotel has me sold. The lobby is just beautiful and better still it is adjacent to the Short Pump Town Center, great stores and eating establishments. I tried to attach pics of my room. Comfortable bed, full kitchen, big screen tv, spacious bath and quiet, but site will not allow. If I can attach later I will. They also have a wonderful fitness room, pool and spa. So you ask okay they have what most hotels have so what won me over. It was the "BREAKFAST" other hotels say free breakfast and it consist of juice, bagels and instant hot cereal. But this hotel offers an omelet station, and a very big selection of hot and cold foods. This is a thumbs up for the hotel, location and features. In addition the staff was friendly and quick to accommodate. I think it is a winner!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyGhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven K, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Wow, what wonderful compliments! We are delighted you decided to stay at Hyatt House and are pleased you enjoyed our hotel, the location and amenities. Thank you for sharing your experience and for the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon!


In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews