We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT House Richmond-West
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Modern hotel, very clean. Standard rooms are like a suite with sofa bed in a separate room to main room. My kids loved the pool and spa. The breakfast was pretty good too. Rooms have a built in kitchen with dishwaher. Overall a bargain. The hotel is in a shopping centre complex and not right near attractions, so you need to be traveling by car, but overall this was a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acorn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hi Acorn9,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at the property! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your time here and all of the wonderful amenities we have to offer. Our goal is to make you feel at home while staying here and it sounds like we accomplished this during your stay. Thank you for choosing Hyatt House Richmond West and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Kathy Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Really enjoyed our 2-night stay here. Location is convenient with tons of shopping and dining in the immediate area (it's actually right next to the mall...not even on the perimeter). Staff were very friendly and helpful. Front desk staff ensuring we knew about some parking renovations occurring during our stay, breakfast staff making yummy omelets and keeping the buffet stocked with a friendly smile, housekeeping staff greeting us with smiles, and a member of the mechanical staff inquiring about our stay during a short elevator ride. The room was comfortable and clean. We were in a traditional room, not a suite. However, the room was spacious, had a mini-fridge and plenty of space to spread out a bit. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. Great climate control in the room, too. We took advantage of the very nice outdoor area, in the heated infinity pool and the hot tub. Loved it! The fire pit and surrounding seating in the evening was very inviting, too. Breakfast was delicious! The breakfast area and lobby were nicely laid out, spacious, and well decorated. This was my second stay in a Hyatt House, and they are quickly becoming a favorite!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Girl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hi Travelling_Girl76,
Thank you so much for the rave review and five star rating. It's always a joy to read such great comments starting with the moment you arrived until you departed. We appreciate you coming back to visit for a second time and are so happy to hear we have quickly become one of your favorites. I will be sure to pass along all these wonderful comments to the entire team and we look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Kathy Holland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed two nights here, very modern and clean. Front desk were friendly. I did not try the free breakfast but apparently they have an omelette station. Rooms were well decorated with kitchenette, full refrigerator. Bath with large shower, separate vanity. Great location right at short pump town center.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiromita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

hiromita,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay at our property! I am very happy to hear that you found the Front Desk team to be friendly in your interactions with them! "A little condo away from home" is a great way to describe our property and I hope you will come back again so that you can give our breakfast and omelet station a try.

Sincerely,
Daniel Mays
Assistant General Manger
HYATT house Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We originally booked one night in a King Suite using our Hyatt points to rest up before heading to Alabama after we sold and moved out of our home in Chesterfield County. Shortly after arriving, and seeing the hotel and room, we decided to spend a second night. The next morning we booked a third night. I think we'd still be there if I did not have to be in Alabama to start work.

Pros: Great location at a major Richmond mall with lots of great retail shops and restaurants including Texas de Brazil, clean well maintained hotel, wonderful staff, great free breakfast with fantastic made to order omelet station.

Con: Because of the mall location parking at night, especially Fri & Sat, is an issue. Be prepared to walk to get back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_Red_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Good Afternoon Steve_Red_Dog,

Thank you for you thoughtful feedback regarding your stay at HYATT house Richmond West! We are so happy you enjoyed everything and extended your stay by 2 additional nights. Our staff always appreciates guest feedback and we will be sure to share yours with them. We look forward to having you back next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,
Jessica Engle
Assistant General Manager
HYATT house Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great location, staff, & facility. This was my 3rd stay & was as good as the other times. Location was good for the guys to get to the race, while the girls shopped. My only complaint was the 4:00 PM check in. I called on Wed and was told to call back Sat. Morning. I called back @ 9:00 Sat. & was told to call back closer to our arrival. I only wanted to get in by 1 or2 so I didn't see the big deal, but they came thru & had both rooms whee we got there around 1

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank FlagmanBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear FlagmanBill,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our property for a 3rd time! We are all very happy to hear that your experiences have been consistent each time you have stayed with us. We greatly appreciate all of our returning guests and I am glad that we were able to honor your request for an early check-in when you arrived. We hope to see you for a 4th visit in the near future!

Sincerely,
Daniel Mays
Assistant General Manager
HYATT house Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My loyalty programs are primarily with Marriott and Hilton, but I liked the location of this hotel and its #2 rank for Richmond, so I thought I would give it a try and it did not disappoint. The Hyatt House brand is similar to the Marriott Courtyard and Residence Inn line, kitchenettes and a buffet breakfast. Overall, this is a very good hotel; here is a breakdown of the primary pros and cons:

Pros: Very convenient to I-64/I-295 interchange and there were plenty of restaurants literally around the corner in the Short Pump Mall, where the hotel is located. It was easy to find if you follow the directions on their web site. Our room was very quiet; we didn't hear any doors slamming, any vehicle traffic, loud TVs, or any other distractions. That, along with the excellent mattress (Simmons) with Goldilocks qualities, i.e., not too hard, not too soft, just right, made for a very sound night's sleep. Receptionist was very pleasant and helpful, as were the ladies manning the omelet station at breakfast. They also serve Starbucks coffee at breakfast, which is another one for the plus column.

Cons: The bathroom had a walk-in shower, which is a huge plus in my book, but the shower splashes outside of the stationary glass enclosure and you end up with a fair amount of water on the floor; it would be a simple fix to remove these enclosures and convert to frame-less glass showers with swinging doors. The breakfast buffet was pretty standard fare for this category of hotel (with the exception of the omelet station). The only criticism I had is that the fruit was on the overripe side; the cantaloupe pieces were a little soggy and the bananas had started turning brown.

All that being said, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet night's sleep in this part of Richmond.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 73Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Good afternoon 73Duck,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your stay with us! I'm very happy to hear that you were able to have a quiet and restful stay and that you found our beds to be "just right"! I appreciate your feedback regarding the cons to your stay as well, and assure you these comments will be shared with our staff so we can continue to provide the level of service we pride ourselves on. We hope to see you next time you are in the Richmond area!

Sincerely,
Daniel Mays
Assistant General Manager
HYATT house Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We had a great stay at the Hyatt labor day weekend. We booked a corner suite with soaking tub and the room was very spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and room was quite. There was minimal noise from the hallway. The complimentary breakfast had a good assortment of choices. We did not use the pool or fire pit area in the courtyard, but it looked well maintained. The front desk staff were professional and helpful. The hotel is very convenient to shopping and restaurants and is easy to find.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busymomtothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Hello busymomtothree,

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Corner Soaking Suite this long weekend! Your feedback is greatly appreciated so we can continue to impress our valued guests. Thank you for taking the time to write this glowing review and to give us a perfect score!! We look forward to having you stay with us next time you're in the area.

Regards,
Jessica Engle
Assistant General Manager
HYATT house Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
6.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 82 in Richmond
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
12.3 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,291 reviews
12.4 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT House Richmond-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House Richmond-West

Address: 11800 W Broad St Ste 1098, Richmond, VA 23233-7927
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £108 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House Richmond-West 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Richmond-West blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service, and free-flowing amenities. Its 134 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs and MP3 docking stations while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Seattle's Best brewed coffee and WI-FI. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with infinity pool, alluring fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located at Short Pump Town Mall with easy access to Interstate 64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT House Richmond-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing