We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique feel hotel, great for business or leisure trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT House Richmond-West
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Boutique feel hotel, great for business or leisure trip!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

First time at this Hyatt brand. Loved the layout of the hotel, rooms are all suites, nicely laid out for leisure or business travelers. Lobby feels homey yet hip. Great breakfast included in room rate located right off the lobby. Great amenities, pool looked nice but didn't get to use. Great location adjacent to a high-end shopping mall and restaurants. Travel here for business a lot, will always try to stay at this property!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs131364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Babs131364,

We appreciate all of your kind words about our property. We are happy to hear that your first experience at a HYATT House was a good one, and we hope that you will continue to stay with us! We are delighted to hear that you found the rooms and the rest of the property to be the perfect mix of "hip and homey". At the HYATT House we strive to make our guests feel at home and comfortable, and we are so happy that we were able to accomplish that. Our location definitely has its advantages, and we hope that you were able to venture out into the Short Pump mall during your stay. Again, thank you so much for staying with us and providing us with your feedback. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we are delighted to hear that you will be staying with us again!

Warm Regards,
Kathy Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    180
    45
    12
    14
See reviews for
268
205
39
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our choice when we are visiting the Short Pump area. The rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. The pool area is amazing. They have what looks like an infinity pool, hot tub and they have very comfortable lounge furniture out by the pool with a fire pit. It is amazing. We love sitting out there and relaxing. We have never tried the corner suite with the tub, but hope to the next time we are there. Try it, you'll love it

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear LAmos,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property, and making us your number one choice when you are visiting the area. We are so happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our pool and fire pit area. We understand how important it is to take a break and relax, and we are happy that you were able to do that at the HYATT House. Next time that you are in the area you should definitely try our Corner Tub Suite. The Corner Tub Suite is a guest favorite and certainly worth experiencing. Again, thank you so much for all of your positive feedback, and it is our sincere hope that you will return soon!


Warm Regards,
Kathy Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
154 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My family and I recently stayed at the Hyatt House Richmond West and was very happy with both the quality of the hotel, the reasonable rate, the service of the staff and the wonderful breakfasts. The location is perfect and centered within a huge mall area with plenty of shops and restaurants. I recommend this hotel highly

Room Tip: Get one of the corner suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Tom H,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent visit to HYATT house and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted to hear that everything from the service, breakfast, rate and the location were a perfect match for you. Our entire staff strives to provide outstanding customer service and it seems we achieved that during your visit. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,
Kathy Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My wife and I needed a place to stay for one night around Richmond. I found what I thought was a decent rate at the Hyatt House. My wife and I had our expectations blown away. The rooms were very clean, stylish, and comfortable. We remarked about how great the room would have been for business travelers. It had the nicest hotel room kitchen we had ever seen. The staff was very nice, the gym was good and the breakfast was great. Plus, it was right next to the Short Pump mall which is one of the nicest malls we have seen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi melbyt ,
We love it when we are able to completly exceed a guests expections! Thank you so much for the amazing review and 5 star rating. We are very happy you had an amazing stay and loved the area. The Short Pump mall is definetly the nicest in the Richmond area and they are actually renovating and adding stores so by November it will be even better. Thank you again for taking the time to write the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kathy Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

the only regret we had about this stay was that it was not longer. We had an executive room on the fifth floor that was spacious, with ample seating areas, a separate sleeping area and a glorious shower. The room is equipped with microwave, small refrigerator and is supplied with dishes and drinkware. The desk allows for easy device connection and device recharging. The included breakfast is a full buffet and very good. The hotel is located in or on the edge of a large upscale mall. Out GPS took us to the Broad street address, but we could not find the Hyatt at first, because it is not seen easily from the street. Our advice to first time visitors is to drive into the Mall until you find the Hyatt. Our advice to Hyatt is to have a sign at the Broad Street entrance to the Mall. The friendly staff at the registration desk said we were not the first to have trouble finding the place. Everything else about this hotel was 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ET88BaskingRidge_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi ET88BaskingRidge_NJ,
Wow...thank you so much for the 5 star rating and review! We are so delighted you enjoyed everything about the hotel and our location. You really can't beat the Short Pump area with all the shops and restaurants. There is always something to do while you are visiting. I'm sorry you had a little trouble finding the hotel at first. We have been working hard to try and get signage at the front of the mall and hope to see that in the very near future. Thank you again for taking the time to write a 5 star review for Hyatt house and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Kathy Holland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have stayed at this exact property maybe 10 times now. We drive from northern to NJ to the NC/SC border. It the perfect halfway point. The rooms are always clean, the staff wonderful and the best breakfast (included!). We are a family of 4, we usually get the King suite...we the parents have our room with nice sized TV and the kids have the LR with the pullout coach and they have their own large TV so they get to have a sleepover together, while away and they know they have their own privacy. And the price for the King suite is always beyond reasonable for what you're getting. Breakfast is a continental style but don't just expect some danishes and some cereal boxes...they have eggs, pancakes/waffles, fresh fruit, yogurts, pastries...very, very varied but they also have an omlette station! Again - all of this is included with your stay! It's also located at the Short Pump Mall. A very nice mall to stroll and that is located within another enourmous shopping strip with great restaurants for all types of cuisine. We tend to arrive a little later than I'd like so we've been unable to take advantage of the outdoor pool, but we usually get the view and it's seem very nice and although it's an outdoor pool, it is heated and they have a great fire pit. One of these stays I'm going to take advantage of this. The only reason I didn't give this place an 'excellent' is for 2 reasons. I would like for them to offer a in room safe instead which they don't have. Lastly, I'm not a fan of the sliding doors in the bathroom, particularly the handle, if you're not careful you slam that handle into your fingers while closing the door. It's takes one good slam to remind you to be careful for the next time. I've brought this up to them and hopefully they may at least change the handle style to avoid getting hurt. I highly recommend this place!!!!

Room Tip: if traveling with children (no more than 2) opt for the King Suite - worth it for the privacy!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi Rosemarie N,
We are so excited to hear how much you enjoy staying at our property and that we have become your home away from home when visiting the area! Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review and letting everyone know what a fabulous property and staff we have here at Hyatt house. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Kathy Holland
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for a weekend trip to explore Richmond and would definitely stay here again/recommend this hotel to others! We loved the room itself, complete with a full refrigerator, sink/dish soap, microwave and a small stovetop. This was such a nice feature, which allowed us pick up some groceries from Trader Joe's down the street and have them on hand. We enjoyed the hot tub and the firepit out by the pool- this was so relaxing, especially after a full day of sight-seeing around Richmond. Another unexpected perk for us was the location right in the Short Pump mall; we could step right outside and pick up things that we may have forgotten or find a great meal (we'd recommend Lehja, right under the hotel!). In addition, we were impressed with the breakfast options and loved the omelet bar. We were initially concerned that the hotel might be too far outside the heart of Richmond, but the drive was only about 15 minutes and it turned out not to be a problem at all. Thank you for a great stay, HYATT house!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 364ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HhRichmondGM, Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
364ch,

Wow! We strive to provide the type of service and amenities that will make our guests want to stay with us again and share their experience with others, and it sounds like we succeeded based on your review! I am so glad you were able to take advantage of our omelet station at breakfast, as well as our outdoor fire pit and pool area. I hope you were able to see a lot of the attractions and sites that make Richmond a great city to visit during your stay. The next time you stay feel free to stop by the Front Desk so we can provide you with more recommendations of things to do and see in our city!

Sincerely,

Daniel Mays
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
12.3 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
13.1 mi away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT House Richmond-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House Richmond-West

Property: HYATT House Richmond-West
Address: 11800 W Broad St Ste 1098, Richmond, VA 23233-7927
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House Richmond-West 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Richmond-West blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service, and free-flowing amenities. Its 134 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs and MP3 docking stations while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Seattle's Best brewed coffee and WI-FI. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with infinity pool, alluring fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located at Short Pump Town Mall with easy access to Interstate 64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT House Richmond-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing