We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HYATT House Richmond-West
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2009

I stayed at Hotel Sierra Richmond West for business on December 1-3, 2009. The group rate was very competitive so I’ll admit that I had low expectations. Wow, was I surprised to be greeted with such friendly enthusiasm by the front desk clerk and even more surprised when I entered my king studio suite! The suite was equipped with a full kitchen complete with a refrigerator/freezer, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker and utensils. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The draperies and blinds completely blocked the light of the adjacent shopping center. All of which contributed to restful nights and productive days. I can’t wait to go back but the next time will be just for fun and shopping!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SalemVA_Snorkeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2009

Dear Valued Guest,
Wow, what wonderful compliments! We are delighted you decided to stay at Hotel Sierra and are pleased we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon for fun and shopping!
In hospitality, Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

846 - 852 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2009

My husband was traveling to Richmond on business and I decided to come along to visit family in Fredericksburg and some historic sites. He had us booked in a Marriott Courtyard, but I found this hotel on the internet, checked to see if they had a corporate rate for his company (yes) and booked it - we are so glad we did!

We can only pretty much echo all the positive things that have been said so far - great location, friendly staff, awesome breakfast, innovative design/decor, comfortable rooms, etc. It was great to be by the mall the last day where, after checking out of the hotel, I could shop while waiting on him to finish his business. It was also great to have all the mall restaurant options available for dinner.

We have stayed in hotels all around the world ranging from $50 - $500 a night and we have to say this hotel gives you more for your money than any place we have ever stayed! I hope we have the opportunity to return to Richmond - if so, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2009

Dear Valued Guest,
I'm glad you found Hotel Sierra on the internet and decided to give us a try on your recent visit to Richmond. It's great that you were able to enjoy the restaurants in the area and do some shopping on your last day. Thank you for staying with us and we're glad you wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on your next visit to Richmond!
In hospitality, Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

I travel to this area frequently for work and usually stay at a Marriott Courtyard in Glen Allen. I happened to notice this hotel one day and decided to try it on my next trip. I will never go anywhere in this area again! So many positive things to say...where do I start??

The rooms are spacious and modernly furnished. The hotel is really nice and quiet and the outdoor pool area is really beautiful for either the pool/hot tub or the fire they get going at night. Breakfast (included!) in the am is wonderful, and the bar here is very classy. I always try to score a suite when I stay here - the bathrooms are bigger and not tubs, just showers (which I prefer). Staff are friendly, and I LOVE that I can walk next door to the mall and eat at the California Pizza Kitchen, Cheesecake Factory or a multitude of others. This is the place to stay....I am a picky traveler, but I have no reservations about recommending this beautiful hotel for work or fun.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjohnso6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2009

Dear Valued Guest,
Wow, what wonderful compliments! We are delighted you decided to stay at Hotel Sierra and are pleased you enjoyed our hotel, the location and amenities. Thank you for sharing your experience and for the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Stayed one night at the Hotel Sierra in Richmond, VA. This hotel was by far the most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed in. My room was spacious, (king suite), modern and extremely clean. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was fresh, and hot, with a large variety of food choices. I could live in this hotel, it felt like home. I can't wait to stay at another Hotel Sierra.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank nordiq21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2009

Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear your experience at Hotel Sierra was positive! We are happy you enjoyed our spacious suites and found our staff to be inviting. We thank you for staying with us and for posting your comments. We hope to see you again soon!
In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

This hotel has a fantastic location right at the Short Pump Town Center. The rooms are new and nicely furnished. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and professional. The breakfast buffet is included and has something for everyone. The gym is small, but has very nice equipment. The business center seems nice and the wireless internet is very reliable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank businesstraveler0997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2009

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Sierra! We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience! We hope to see you again soon!
In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

The Hotel Sierra is snew and therefore clean- but nothing special. I paid $95 for my room so I wasn't upset about value. I would never spend more then $100 for a night at this hotel. The room had two scrawny towels- (Motel 6 quality). The bed sheets felt like they were scratchy. Don't stay here and expect to feel pampered like a stay at The Westin. The AC was noisy but necessary, so sleeping was tough. When people used the shower/bath upstairs it sounded like someone moving furniture.

They are building a new Hilton down the street, so if you want to stay near The Short Pump Mall you will have that choice very soon. My stay at Hotel Sierra wasn't great, but not bad enough that I complained at the desk. Basically it was forgettable. Would only recommend if the rate was a super bargain.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navyspouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

The Hotel Sierra had many nice touches. I especially appreciated the modern elements of the rooms and lobby. My wife and I were looking to stay somewhere with conveniences closeby. Since this hotel is part of the Short Pump Town Center, there are all kinds of great restaurants and great shopping just a few steps away! If you're looking for a place to stay without having to get back in the car, this is it. The rooms were very nice and clean. One of the most unique features of the hotel is the courtyard area with a pool, hot tub and outdoor firepit! If you stay at the Hotel Sierra, don't miss out on spending a half hour or so one night sitting on the outdoor cushioned furniture around the fire. I highly recommend this hotel. My only complaint is the lack of fruit on the breakfast bar.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VA_TravelerVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSRichmondGM, General Manager at HYATT House Richmond-West, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2009

Dear Valued Guest,
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and our amenities at Hotel Sierra. Thank you for bringing to our attention that we may need more fruit at the breakfast bar. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon!
In hospitality,
Steve Kendall, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Richmond Hotel & Spa / Short Pump
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
6.6 mi away
The Westin Richmond
The Westin Richmond
#3 of 82 in Richmond
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
12.7 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
11.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT House Richmond-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT House Richmond-West

Address: 11800 W Broad St Ste 1098, Richmond, VA 23233-7927
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £115 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT House Richmond-West 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt house Richmond-West blends cozy chic with the convenience of guest-empowered travel thru intelligent design, stress-free service, and free-flowing amenities. Its 134 guestrooms + suites feature flat panel TVs and MP3 docking stations while free details include breakfast with made-to-order omelets, Seattle's Best brewed coffee and WI-FI. Sample small plates, sip and socialize at the HBAR or Rooftop Terrace with infinity pool, alluring fire pit and lounge seating. Conveniently located at Short Pump Town Mall with easy access to Interstate 64. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your HYATT House Richmond-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing