We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn
Ranked #33 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stopped here for the night on a FL to NY trip. Got a coupon at the Virginia welcome center, and paid $39+ tax for the room. It was great! Clean, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, in room coffee. Room had a good smell. Front desk woman was sweet and helpful. Elevator bldg. Nice breakfast including waffles. I would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bleweyz39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    62
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
35
32
23
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We went to spend just one night at this hotel... i had 2 kids with me. our room was smelling like we just had a smoke ourselves and we dont smoke. the hall way was smelling like its smoking party is going on. We walked into our roomand put our bag down and walked out hoping to get fabreez hoping that will work. we spent about 1min in that room... could not stand it cos my 4yr old had allergies. after we walked out of the hotel our cloths smells like we just finish haivng a smoking gallor. so while we where out we called the hotel to see if they can give us a non smoking room... but they dont have one. so we decided to come back and check out of the room... so it was about 2 hours since we checked in. the lady at the desk said.... she said we will not be refunded cos our child wrote on the bed...LOL!! our child did not even have a pen and we spent 1min in the room... nasty customer service... We think after we told her on the phone we coming back to check our cos she cannot get us a non smoking room... she went up into our room and change the cover to make it think that we messed it up so we should be charged. cos remember she did go into our room to see if there is still smoke smell there. We dont have a problem being charged on the basis that we may have checked in 2 hours before changing our mind, but to charge us cos our daughter wrote on the bed is really pissing us off.... i will advice that families with kids definately not a place for you... the price difference compare to springhill Marrioat... you should not sacrifice your families healthy for $10... yeap that is the difference.so choose somthing else.even adults...its just nasty and really smoky rooms and hall ways... not a great place to stay all ..if you are not a smoker

Room Tip: RUN far away from This hotel if you love yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gladeiola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

A few years ago, I stayed at this property nearly every Friday night for school. This past weekend, I tried it again for an overnight stay.

My first impression was that the management was letting the place go. The lobby area had a sad, worn look to it, and the stained grout in the tile floor areas just makes it look dirty. Also, the tile in the entry way is cracking and chipping badly, and that contributes to an overall appearance of neglect.

Check in was fast, efficient and friendly, just as I remembered from before. The clerk gave me directions to my room (I didn't need them, but the gesture was nice).

The elevator was very dirty and smelled a bit like stale beer. The carpet in the corridor had a neglected look to it, like it had gone a few weeks past when it should have been cleaned. The temperature in the elevator and corridor was stifflingly warm.

The room was acceptable. Bathroom was clean and towels were okay. Carpet looked like it had been vacuumed, but was in need to a deep clean. The blanket and spread on the beed looked worn and dirty and in need of rotation. Bed sheets looked like they had been balled up- makes the bed look unkempt under the best of circumstances. The chair and the wall above the headboard had some nasty, suspicious looking stains.

The iron is attached to the ironing board with a bracket that gets in the way when trying to iron.

WiFi worked well, and the cable TV has lots of channels- many more than at most hotels.

Overall, good for the price- at $54, it was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STVUstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Needed a place to stay on our way to Myrtle Beach. found this place, cheep but room was dirty and stunk. wont stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel. Each year we go down to Florida and last year we stayed here and were thrilled. This year not so great. The area seems to have gotten a little less desireable than it was just a year ago and while certainly not dangerous by any means it wasn't quiet at all. Walls are paper thin and people in and out at all hours. I slept right through it, but wife and kids didn't sleep worth a darn.

The hotel itself is very clean, the beds/pillows are comfy as it gets and the showers are wonderful! Price couldn't be beat, but as much as I like the hotel and the value I'm afraid that next year we'll probably not be staying there. Just too noisy in general.

No comments on the free breakfast since we just took off in the mornng, but the fact that they provided it says a lot. And the free high speed web was a nice free amenity in this price range.

All in all if you're by yourself and just want to grab some sleep, you can't beat it. But for a family, pony up the extra 20 or 30 bucks and get a Hilton or holiday inn off the beaten path where it's quiet.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjcalnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Stayed 2 nights and was entirely satisfied. The rooms were very clean and well-appointed. The service was fine, no problems. Location is very convenient to many restaurants and to 95 and 295. Breakfast was the usual for this sort of hotel: Unexciting but adequate.
All in all a good place, inexpensive and i will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxrrttyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2009

This Sleep Inn is standard to all that I have stayed inn. Clean rooms, small though. Worth the 53.00 i paid to stay there, did not do the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepper1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#38 of 81 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
11.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Glen Allen Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
11.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
3.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Property: Sleep Inn
Address: 950 E Parham Rd, Richmond, VA 23228-6511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Richmond
Sleep Inn Richmond
Richmond Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing