We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, but beds were a little hard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but beds were a little hard”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is one of the cheapest ones in Richmond' West End; however, just because it's cheap, it doesn't mean that the amenities or service are. They offer free wifi and free full breakfast for all rooms, it has a very clean and nice indoor pool, and it has a small but clean gym. The front desk attendant was also super helpful especially since I was a very late check-in. My only complaint and it's really very subjective is that my bed was a little hard bordering on almost a bit uncomfortable. However, the previous times I have stayed at this hotel, it hasn't been an issue so I believe it must have been the bed in that particular room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oompa03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Oompa03,

Thank you for telling us about your recent visit. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We are very sorry that you felt your bed was not comfortable. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your feedback. It helps us make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    155
    70
    26
    22
See reviews for
237
115
31
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jarrell, Texas
Level Contributor
273 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay was excellent. From the customer service at check-in, to the fresh-baked cookies, to being able to upgrade rooms without any problem, to the comfort of the bed, to the cleanliness of the bathroom, to the breakfast in the morning, everything was great. I, along with everyone traveling with me, would gladly stay at this location again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mdiv2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear mdiv2001,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really value all guest feedback. We hope you and your family enjoyed you time in Richmond. We will pass this great feedback on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing great things about their service. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka Province, Zambia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

It was a very good place to stay nice location. Rooms are very big with a queen size beds and I really liked the architect of the building. A lot of steak houses around which gives variety of choices for anyone. The gym and Spa are very spacious and relaxing for someone who has been busy working and exhausted with work fatigue. I do not have any hesitation to come back with families for any future vacation.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank derejea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear derejea,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate our business travelers. We value all guest feedback and will pass it on to our staff. We strive to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope that we will see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
501 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

It's not near the downtown area. But the hotel is very nice, and you will pay much less than the Hilton Garden Inn. Great service at the front desk and the comp breakfast isn't bad. I would drive the extra miles and stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglesclaw121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear eaglesclaw121,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel embodies everything we miss about being in Richmond! The staff are super friendly, the rooms are always very clean, and as a rewards member there are always little incentives. Unfortunately they don't accept pets, so now that my husband and I have a Yorkie we have to stay elsewhere unless family can watch our dog. But, until we had the Yorkie, this was our hotel of choice, every time! And at Christmas it's even more pleasant than usual.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor - the pool smell is very strong. We always get a room that faces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Louise,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you so much for your comments and concerns. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the the pet policy. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We apologize for the inconvenience. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean,safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Desk person very accommodating and smiley! The desk person made it a very easy decision to stay. The location was a trial to find. Off the main road one block with no sign indicating hotel. GPS was used to find the hotel. Even tho, a great find..

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear ctbs,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback. We are so happy that you chose us. We will pass your feedback on to our staff. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Richmond. Thank you for your feedback about the Desk person. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I was upgraded to a suite room. Tastefully decorated with a bedroom and living room, coffee maker, mini frig, and microwave. Very comfortable and I slept great. Nice breakfast included, eggs, ham, yogurt, fruit, breads. I'm a light breakfast eater, so was more than what I needed.

My only negative was it was hard to find. Bad signage on broad street. Look for the outlook across the street or the holiday inn next door.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Dear Susan S,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We really appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed what the hotel had to offer. Thank you for your concerns about finding the hotel. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We are sorry for the confusion. We use guest feedback to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#38 of 81 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Address: 8010 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23294-4218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#14 Family Hotel in Richmond
#14 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off of I-64 and just minutes from historic downtown Richmond, the Country Inn & Suites Hotel Richmond, VA offers guests comfortable accommodations and signature Southern hospitality. Our Richmond lodging features all of the services and amenities that guests expect from a quality hotel, including a Business Center, Fitness Center, wired and wireless Internet access and an indoor heated pool and spa. For added convenience, our hotel near the University of Richmond is just minutes from several local attractions. Our top-notch services and prime location make the Country Inn & Suites the perfect hotel for your trip to Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64 Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing