We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet 2 nights while having a medical procedure at MCV”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Macon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
384 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Quiet 2 nights while having a medical procedure at MCV”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here two nights, while my wife was having a medical procedure at MCV. The close proximity to I-64 interchange to get downtown was a consideration in our choice of hotels. We had a nice-size room with 2 double beds, a desk and chair with both wired and wireless internet that worked very well. Also, included was a mini-fridge & micro-zap. Room had a large bathroom with full length vanity and shower/tub combination. Everything was clean, and except for inconsiderate other residents slamming doors shut both morning & night, the room on the 3rd floor next to the emergency stairs was very quiet. The breakfast room is a little small, but we easily got a table both mornings. The fare while not as expansive as some other motels we've stayed at had plenty of choices: oatmeal, dry cereal, fruit, make your own waffles, sausage,eggs, ham, french toast, milk, juices, coffee(all day in lobby), sweet rolls,and biscuits, etc. The property was clean inside and out, and had plenty of free parking. It's a little difficult to find the hotel, as it sits about a city block off Broad Street, down a driveway past the Piccadilly cafeteria. I found coming from down town to turn right on Hungry Springs road, go to the first traffic light and turn left takes you right up behind the motel, and there's a sign on the street to guide you in. By the way, there's a truly great family-run Greek Italian restaurant right across the street in the Westland SC call Nick's Roman Terrace. Otherwise, up and down Broad there's restaurants and stores galore, and the Short Pump mall is just a couple of miles farther West on Broad Street. We'll definitely consider staying here again next time, and maybe then use the indoor pool and Jacuzzi.

Room Tip: I like a room on the top floor for the quiet. You're far enough off Broad to not have traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Kingfather,

Thank you so much for your comments about your stay. We hope your wife is doing well. Thank you so much for choosing us for your hotel needs. Thank you so much for your very detailed review of the hotel. We use guest feedback to make changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    158
    70
    26
    24
See reviews for
243
115
31
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Setauket, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Have stayed here twice, while visiting family, and each time we were happy with the accommodations, staff and breakfast. The rooms are clean and spacious, and the beds are comfortable. The pool is a nice extra, as is the work out area. Coffee and tea are always available in the lobby. All in all, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gigi1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear gigi,

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your time. We hope that you may consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsvile, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Had a quick trip to Richmond and this hotel is close to the Fire Training academy that I was going to. It was a good experience, room was clean, front desk was prompt in greeting us and processing our check-in and check out. The manager called my room to see if I had any problem with noise from a room below, and I had not. He had a complaint from someone, and it was good that he was following up on that issue. Monday breakfast was disappointing. I did not go down until a little after 9am, and most everything was gone, or not very appetizing. More food was made after another group came in about 5 minutes later.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Rich,

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We appreciate your comments and concerns. Thank you for telling us about the breakfast service. We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

On the way to Massanutten and stopped off for the night. Great price and room was large enough for our family of five. Nice free breakfast in the morning too. We didn't have the chance to experience the indoor pool or workout room but it was nice that they were available.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmoneynbc3308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Gmoneynbc,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We are glad you all enjoyed your room and the breakfast service.
Thank you for your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Came here from suburban inn across the parking lot. That place was a nightmare! This place was so clean, as an asthma sufferer who just stayed in a hotel that wreaked like dogs and smoke, I looked around, took a deep breath, and could breathe easy again. The breakfast was surprisingly really good and had a ton of options. Free (good!) coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and free cookies up front that my three year old loved! I'm just so happy about how meticulously clean our room, and the hotel, overall was. Customer service was great and pleasant. I also loved how updated and nice everything looked, and the pool was pretty nice too!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Matt,


Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us, and that we could accommodate you. We really value all guest feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed all that we had to offer. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, PA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have stayed at several hotels in the area during our daughters four years at UR. There are other properties as nice as Country Inn but our lodging dollar goes further here than at other locations. Every employee we have come in contact with has been professional and courteous. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The in room fridge will keep your wine cold for relaxing in the evening! The continental breakfast is typical and what one should really expect for a free continental breakfast. There are plenty of dining options within a couple of miles. We have one trip left to Richmond and that will be for graduation in May. We will be staying at Country Inn & Suites.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halfwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear halfwitt,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you chose us during your recent visit to UR. Thank you so much for all of your feedback. We are so glad that you and your family stayed with us. We will pass this very valuable feedback on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Front desk attendant was a bit cold on check in; not rude just not welcoming. Other staff were much the same but as I only needed to interact with them to check in and out it wasn't an issue. Breakfast room was small but it did accommodate everyone fortunately. These were the only problems we had as everything else was perfect - clean room, bathroom, beds and linen, quiet location etc. Would stay again and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Louby 76,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with you stay. We are sorry that you had a issue with our front desk staff. We will make sure that we address that issue right away. Thanks for telling us your concerns about the breakfast service. We are always trying to find new ways to make that service better. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Country Inn & Suites Richmond West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#44 of 81 in Richmond
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Address: 8010 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23294-4218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#12 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#14 Family Hotel in Richmond
#14 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off of I-64 and just minutes from historic downtown Richmond, the Country Inn & Suites Hotel Richmond, VA offers guests comfortable accommodations and signature Southern hospitality. Our Richmond lodging features all of the services and amenities that guests expect from a quality hotel, including a Business Center, Fitness Center, wired and wireless Internet access and an indoor heated pool and spa. For added convenience, our hotel near the University of Richmond is just minutes from several local attractions. Our top-notch services and prime location make the Country Inn & Suites the perfect hotel for your trip to Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64 Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing