We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with a room for improving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel is nice and clean. It is difficult to see it from the road. Our room was adequate with generous size bathroom. Hotel provides breakfast with hot and cold items. When we went to the indoor pool, the lights were off, and we were unable to turn them on. We asked for help, and receptionist told us that previous guests probably turned the lights off, and it takes 10 minutes to turn them on (??) The lights actually turned on in approximately 10 minutes. There was not towels in the pool. Jacuzzi didn't work at all.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank 649,001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear 649001,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are very glad you enjoyed the breakfast service. Thank you for telling us about the pool area lights. We are very sorry for this inconvenience. We will be sure to pass your thoughts about this on to our staff. Thank you for your feedback. We use guest feedback to make changes to the hotel to make it better. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Country Inn & Suites Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

The front desk receptionist was very pleasant and professional. It appeared that she was there by herself and very busy. She kept it together and tended to everyone's need's. Our room was very nice. Clean and comfortable. The hotel was also quiet which was welcome after a long ride from Myrtle Beach. My granddaughters loved the pool. The only negative thing I have to say is that the breakfast room was filthy. The carpeting was extremely dirty and the floor in front of the food bar was so sticky I couldn't believe it. I was shocked.The poor women that seemed to be running the place seemed haggard. None of the hot food trays were refilled and it seemed hard for her to keep up. So we left without breakfast and ate somewhere else. I booked this hotel for breakfast in the morning so we could eat and be on the road on our way home that morning.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank luvstheshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear luvstheshore,

Thank you for telling us about your visit. We appreciate your feedback about the hotel. We are so glad that you, and your granddaughters enjoyed your stay. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the breakfast service. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the breakfast service. We will pass this feedback on to our hotel staff. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

The hotel was nice but the driveway/road was full of potholes. Almost missed the entrance because of all the businesses in front of the hotel that made it hard to see. Hotel itself was clean and quiet which made it perfect for our one night stop on the way to NC.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Dear Dennis,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you. Thank you for your concerns about the potholes. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We will be sure to pass this on to our maintenance staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Country Inn and Suites on West Broad Street in Richmond is clean, has friendly staff, and is close to several resturaunts. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone wanting a home away from home while travelling.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank tareed1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is an average hotel in every way. My husband was infuriated because we had stopped at a rest stop and picked up one of those coupon books. Country Inn & Suites promised a rate of $68 a night; however, when we got here, he was told that they wouldn't accept the coupon because they "only had 4 rooms left" so the room was $135! (I think she lied because they didn't appear to be that full). Luckily, we were able to get a slight discount. The rooms and pool are okay. The breakfast was okay---scrambled eggs, chopped ham, an assortment of cereals, the usual variety of bread items bread for toast, stale blueberry muffins, English muffins, etc.), apples, waffles, juices, and coffees. The beds were okay---not very comfortable, but they could have been worse.

Room Tip: No tips! This is a very average motel. Try somewhere else first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twinsmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed our room. We were able to visit with our family in the hotel and the staff was very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was great. Gladys was very attentive to our needs an made the breakfast area very welcoming! We will stay here next time we come to Richmond. We had stayed at several other hotels in the area in the past and were not happy. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: There was a couch, comfy chair and nice desk to work on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolores D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Dolores,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you and your family chose us for your hotel needs. We will pass your feedback about Gladys on to her. It is so nice to pass on great feedback on to our staff. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A very clean, well maintained hotel. Staff was great! Amenities were excellent. As a single female who travels, I felt very safe. My room was very comfortable. Bed sleep great! Thank you... to to exceptional staff. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
1  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Christine,

Thank you for telling us about your visit with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel. We really appreciate all of our business travelers. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Country Inn & Suites Richmond West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
9.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
12.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64

Address: 8010 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23294-4218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#12 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#14 Family Hotel in Richmond
#14 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £67 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off of I-64 and just minutes from historic downtown Richmond, the Country Inn & Suites Hotel Richmond, VA offers guests comfortable accommodations and signature Southern hospitality. Our Richmond lodging features all of the services and amenities that guests expect from a quality hotel, including a Business Center, Fitness Center, wired and wireless Internet access and an indoor heated pool and spa. For added convenience, our hotel near the University of Richmond is just minutes from several local attractions. Our top-notch services and prime location make the Country Inn & Suites the perfect hotel for your trip to Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64 Hotel Richmond
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing