We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best service I have ever experienced with a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Ranked #24 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Some of the best service I have ever experienced with a hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The hotel staff was absolutely amazing!! We came to this hotel from a terrible experience at a hotel down the street (terrible rooms, dirty, etc.). As we were finding a new place to stay, we saw the Country Inn and Suites on W. Broad and decided to check and see their availability. We explained to the front desk worker that we had just come from such an awful hotel, and she not only provided us a room, but also gave us a reduced rate! When we got into the room, there were a couple of dirt stains on the floor. We asked them about these stains and they told us a baseball team had just stayed in the hotel and they were in the process of cleaning and shampooing all the carpets. They apologized for the dirt and then upgraded us to a suite. We had a very pleasant stay here, and I plan to stay there again in the near future. Thank you for such wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bicey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    161
    72
    30
    24
See reviews for
254
118
31
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I'm in my late 30's traveling with a 3 and 5 year old and my husband. The only thing I didn't like about this hotel is that I thought it was right off of 95 (I expected to be able to see it from 95), but that is not the case. It's a few miles away - but worth it! Sooo clean and nicely decorated. We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite and it was so nice! Everything is so clean and nicely decorated. The sheets are soft, and the comforters are heavy and soft. High quality everything. The indoor pool was nice (a little chilly though), and the hot tub was great. Breakfast was ok - the basics - could stand a little more hot items. We stayed at this location twice on our trip to Myrtle Beach, SC from Philadelphia. It was our half way point. We would definitely recommend this hotel. You will not be disappointed. Oh, and loved the noon check out! Not many hotels have such a late check out time! Oh, and my children loved the fresh baked cookies at the check in desk on our arrival.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We really enjoyed our first experience staying at the Country Inn. The room was spacious and the lovely furniture made you feel like home. All personnel went out of their way to accomodate our needs. The hot continental breakfast was very impressive leaving our entire family satisfied for the morning and afternoon...they even had fresh baked cookies upon entering the lobby. Everything was spotless! My only complaint was poor signage to find the Inn. Our GPS told us we were "there", but we couldn't see the Inn from the road! It was especially hard on us after traveling 9 hours and arriving in the dark. It would have helped to have a sign on the highway indicating where to turn. It was located behind Hooters and sandwiched between a Quality Inn (which we could see from the road) and a Service Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madsting60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

If you are tourists visiting Richmond, not sure there is a reason to stay here. While it's nice and the service was fine, not in the middle of anything for tourists. In general all amenities are in good shape and breakfast was OK, althought the help seemed to have an attitude that we were a bother rather than a client.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayushmehta, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64, responded to this review, 26 July 2010
I apologize you were unable to find something that suites your interest in the vicinity of our hotel. We would be more than happy to help you plan activities for your future stay, if you would like to call in advance and let us know type of places you are most interested in visiting. Regarding the breakfast host, I do apologize and I would like to let you know that we have replaced that individual. From our new personnel you will be receiving the caliber of service you expect from any Country Inns & Suites By Carlson staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2010

my stay her good the staff Liz and Nevis was excellent- being that i'm in the customer service field my expectations are higher because i deliver what i want to receive.. i actually had left part of my luggage there! and when i called them they were aware and just needed my info to send them to me & it was no cost!!! to me!! wow.. Liz was very very very helpful i ended up needing an extra room and she took are of it for me . i suggest staying here even though i didn't get to use amenities cause of my short stay but anytime Richmond is on my destination list i will be always faithful to them....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diva4Frames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We upgraded to a small suite and the room was excellent. Staff was helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the breakfast. This was an excellent value for the rate.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore,MD.
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2010

The hotel was clean,well kept,with comfortable bed,pleasant decor, very good housekeeping staff performance,nice basic exercise room and pool. The parking was free and convenient, breakfast included and front desk staff polite and helpful. Fine value for
the money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
6.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#42 of 81 in Richmond
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Address: 8010 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23294-4218
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#12 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#14 Business Hotel in Richmond
#14 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off of I-64 and just minutes from historic downtown Richmond, the Country Inn & Suites Hotel Richmond, VA offers guests comfortable accommodations and signature Southern hospitality. Our Richmond lodging features all of the services and amenities that guests expect from a quality hotel, including a Business Center, Fitness Center, wired and wireless Internet access and an indoor heated pool and spa. For added convenience, our hotel near the University of Richmond is just minutes from several local attractions. Our top-notch services and prime location make the Country Inn & Suites the perfect hotel for your trip to Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64 Hotel Richmond
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Richmond West At i-64

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing