We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not for light sleepers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Zebulon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not for light sleepers”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This hampton was very clean and good location close couple fast foods but if you a light sleeper like
me this is not the place for you. This place is right on I 95 road very loud even air on high.
So if u like to be near interstate and are not light sleeper this place is ok but the price was slightly higher than most hamptons that I have stay in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalton4unc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your pleasant experience at our hotel, with others. This kind of feedback is so important to us, and helps travelers determine their hotel choices, before they travel. We apologize about the noise level from the traffic and hope that you will visit again soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    113
    46
    30
    22
See reviews for
144
80
29
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

A very nice hotel. I stayed here while on business in Richmond and was pleased with the room and the service. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was delicious, and the pool was refreshing. My only complaint (which is my fault for staying there) was that it is pretty far from downtown and the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us, and hope that you will return to our hotel again!!
Once again thank you for sharing your comments with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westtown, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A decent room that was clean and fairly comfortable. The location of the hotel is the problem. Its basically right off the interstate which is convenient but it is not near any good restaurants. Had to travel several exits to have dinner and almost every restaurant was a chain. Had the worst meal of my life. Then had to drive back to the hotel after travelling all day. Will probably stay in Richmond on my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We are so sorry to hear of the restaurant issue you experienced when you stayed at our hotel. I am not sure if you were able to ask the front desk about restaurants in the proximity as we do have few really great choices of local brewery and non-chain restaurants within 3 miles distance of the hotel with positive reviews. Please accept our sincere apologies and please be kind enough to contact us again if you do come back to this area, as we'd like to make it up to you and offer our apologies in person. Thank you for sharing your comments, and please know that we are truly sorry for your inconvenience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We had a problem with our room. We told them in the morning expecting them to just say ok. They were appalled. Credited us and were looking into when we left. The customer service of everyone was amazing.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5middletons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your pleasant experience at our hotel, with others. This kind of feedback is so important to us, and helps travelers determine their hotel choices, before they travel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us, and hope that you will visit again soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The facilities were very comfortable and clean. The staff was most helpful and accomodating. It is conveniently located just of I-77. Security is very good and the amenties in the room were just what we needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank chrismD286EA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
I am so happy to know you have enjoyed your stay with us. The staff appreciates it too. Please do come back and see us again!!
Have a wonderful holiday season ahead!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Clean, courteous, charming, effecient, comfortable, convenient... need I say more? I definitely recommend this hotel for a family feel stay. The breakfast was awesome and the room clean and quiet. Spread the news!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
We are very delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn Richmond. Thank you for staying with us. I am so glad that this is a home away from home for you. Do come back and see us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here for Richmond marathon. 15 minutes from the start/finish area. We stayed 2 nights, but heard that you can check out of the room, they will hold your luggage and provide a place to shower if you want a "late check out" and they can't accommodate due to cleaning staff. A shower after a race is all I ever want. Great service!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
We are very delighted to know you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn Richmond. Thank you for staying with us and giving us the oppotunity to cater to your needs during the marathon weekend. Do come back and see us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Chester
Hampton Inn Chester
#1 of 14 in Chester
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond South

Property: Hampton Inn Richmond South
Address: 4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Richmond
#16 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing