We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needed the location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Ranked #30 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Virginia Beach, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needed the location!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Nice and clean, breakfest was good. experienced an issue with a table lamp and it was not resolved during my stay. Old fashion internet cable in room. on table with non-working lamp. Service was great, everyone was very nice and tried to be helpful offered office outside of room. I needed to use my laptop.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Vickie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for the review on tripadvisor about your recent experience at the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the service and breakfast layout at the hotel. I am extremely apologetic about the desk lamp not working during the stay.
The issue has been addressed with the maintenance personnel to avoid future occurence. I can assure you that your experience will be used to make sure it does not happen again. Please accept my sincere apologies for the entire experience. Please do come back and see us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    113
    46
    30
    22
See reviews for
144
81
29
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fernandina Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was the last Hampton on our trip, and as usual it was a good pick, easy to get to. accommodating staff. we didn't have reservations, but this wasn't a problem at all. My only complaint was being placed on the floor with a girls volleyball team they were a little loud, but it didn't keep me from sleeping. breakfast wasn't up to Hampton's usual standards but was just ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eknliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us. I apologise that we were not able to accomodate you on a floor away from the team as we did not have more choices in terms of availability that evening and that you were not completely satisfied with the breakfast choices. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again in the near future. We will do our level best to accomodate your requests.
Thanks once again for your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had a great overnight stay and found the hotel in one of the hotel magazines as you enter Virginia at the Welcome Center. We were driving from Florida back to Ct. A new hotel, great room, bed, internet, flat screen TV,very clean, and an excellent breakfast bar. How can you beat it for $79 a night plus tax!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us, and hope that you will return to our hotel again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

This Hampton Inn is just like all the others we stay in - clean and comfortable. It was easy to get to from the interstate and the price was good. Staff was friendly on arrival, at breakfast, and at checkout. The breakfast was the usual (scrambled eggs, bacon, French toast, cereals, yogurt, pastries, waffles, etc - a wide selection and all fresh).

My only complaint about this stay was that there were 2 fairly large bugs in our room that I needed to take care of. I found this unusual as I have never had this problem at a Hampton Inn before. I mentioned it to the front desk as I checked out and the woman was surprised, apologetic, and did comp us the room (which I did not feel was necessary, but was appreciated).

In spite of the bugs, I would stay here again on a future trip south.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy31748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. I want to apologise about the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit and would like to assure you that it will not happen again.
We have trained our housekeeping personnel to inspect rooms thoroughly prior to renting to avoid future situations like these.
Please be rest assured we value you as our loyal guest and are committed to provide clean and comfortable stay to you. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tundra
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice in the past year while visiting family in Richmond. Both stays we enjoyed this little Hampton. Nice location to hop on and off I-95. Rooms are clean, comfortable beds and good service. They do a good job with the complimentary breakfast and have both hot and cold options, coffee in lobby was welcoming. Truck Traffic can be heard at times, request a rear facing room to avoid this
There is a subway next door and McDonalds across the street if you need a quick bite. We did visit the subway this past visit and they couldn't be nicer and food was subway usual fresh and good for fast food.
The staff was very polite,friendly and helpful. We will be sure to stay here on our next visit. This would be a great stop over on your way further south.

Room Tip: request a room along back of hotel that faces rear parking lot, they are quieter, the truck traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dvctink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us, and hope that you will return to our hotel again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Check in was pleasant and fast. We went to a sparkling room with a comfortable bed and a clean bathroom. The pool was warm and enjoyable despite being cold outside. The staff is warm and friendly and the breakfast was a nice treat. It had omelets or scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, bread products, muffins, orange and apple juice and fresh oatmeal. Fresh and cooked to perfection with a nice cup of coffee to finish it off. Had an enjoyable stay. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank VirginiaSexyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, where so many travelers visit to find out more about potential hotel choices. We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant experience with us, and hope that you will return to our hotel again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, WV, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here several times between Nov. and Dec. 2013. My father was recently diagnosed with cancer and we had to make several long trips from WV to the VA hospital in Richmond for prep and surgery. The staff was supportive and helpful to me and my family during this time. It became my home away from home for most of Dec. and over Christmas. While things did not go as well as we had hoped with my fathers prognosis, the staff made our stay as good as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Teddy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your review on the site and we appreciate your kind gesture. We are so glad to know the location suits your needs and makes it easier for travel. Please do come back and see us again!!
Wish you good health and thank you again for staying with us at the Hampton Inn!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
7.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond South

Property: Hampton Inn Richmond South
Address: 4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Richmond
#16 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing