We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good for Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Ranked #29 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good for Hampton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for two weekend nights for a Dragonboat Festival I was participating in.The location is not great, on an industrial highway that looks unappealing as you approach from 95. It is however right off the exit and you can get there and get back on the road quickly without driving through the industrial area. Hotel itself was above average. Keeping in mind that it is the Hapmton brand my room was larger than expected, the free breakfast had better choices than most Hamptons. The room was clean, had a small fridge in it - that was a bonus. Overall it was better than acceptable and good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    113
    47
    30
    22
See reviews for
144
81
29
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed the night as a stop over on our trip north on 95. Excellent staff at check in and check out. The rooms were very clean, newer. The beds were firm and comfy. Pool occupied the little ones. Breakfast attendant was quick and neat. Overall a pleasant and effortless stop.


There isn't much right near the hotel, but we didn't need much. Subway and a bar and grill across the road that was good enough for a quick traveling meal.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GoBmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This Hampton Inn was clean and comfortable. No unpleasant odor upon entering the room as has been our recent experience with other Hampton Inn locations. Some noise from the highway but did not keep us awake

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank V5880LPsusana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrison, ny, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Hampton Inn Richmond South is close to many attractions in Virginia. The hotel is extremely well kept. The staff is courteous and professional. The room is extremely clean, roomy, comfortable and well priced. The breakfast is delicious and hot!!! Breakfast items are replenished throughout the morning. The hotel is located right off I95. Great hotel!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The rooms are very clean. The service staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was your traditional fare but the people who service it are very accommodating. There is not a restaurant in the building but there is a sports bar across the street-within walking distance, as well as two fast food restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GmaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We greatly appreciate that you took the time to post your feedback following your stay at the Hampton Inn Richmond South
I am so glad that the location is best suited for your business needs.Thank you very much and it was with equal pleasure that your kind comments were shared with our entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel was nice (we stay at Hampton Inns a lot) but we were surprised at how loud the traffic was on the side street. We weren't on the I-95 side so we didn't think it would be very loud. Fortunately, we were out and about a lot and mainly used the room to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We greatly appreciate that you took the time to post your feedback following your stay at the Hampton Inn Richmond South.
I understand your concern about noise levels since the hotel is right off the interstate. We offer earplugs upon request and alarm clocks in rooms that have different musical sound effects for the background for a good night sleep
We look forward to welcoming you back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymond, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Easy on/off I95, the front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean. Very impressed. We did experience a fire alarm during the middle of the night for some reason but it was shut off quickly and they adjusted our bill accordingly.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter according to the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnthompson3168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sangeeta_GM, General Manager at Hampton Inn Richmond South, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We greatly appreciate that you took the time to post your feedback following your stay at the Hampton Inn Richmond South
Thank you very much for your great room tip for other frequent travelers and your kind comments were shared with our entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
11.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond-Midlothian Turnpike
7.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Richmond / Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Richmond South

Property: Hampton Inn Richmond South
Address: 4300 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Richmond
#16 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Richmond South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Richmond South Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing