We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, so so food”

The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,607 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing has brought award-winning dining to the banks of the James River. The restaurant occupies the top floor of the recently restored Power Plant building, which once provided electricity for Richmond’s fleet of trolley cars. The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing specializes in seafood as well as its signature wood-stone oven flatbreads. With indoor and outdoor dining, offering stunning views of the river and city skyline, The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing promises a truly one-of-a-kind, waterside dining experience never before available in Richmond.
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, so so food”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We had reservations for 8pm for a party of 7. The place was packed inside and out in a Wednesday, so we had high hopes.

However, service was extremely slow and spotty. We got appetizers delivered before drinks. Two of 7 of our entrees were entered in incorrectly and we got those entrees 10 min after the other five.

Crab cakes were dry and fell apart- definitely not worth it.

The star of the dinner was the ahi tuna appetizer with the cabbage slaw- really flavorful and great presentation.

I'd come back here for a drink at the bar and maybe an appetizer, but I wasn't impressed by dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Scarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    145
    55
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quechee, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding and Reception Dinner”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Al I can say is it was EXCEPTIONAL. Job Well Done. From Laura to the waite staff and Bartenders everyone was Great... A Beautiful Day and Evening. A Great Place for a wedding and Reception...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 418Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Skip the Crabcakes”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our party of five ate here after my daughter's graduation. Although the view of the river from the dining room is lovely, the food was mostly blah and nothing to write home about. Granted it was a busy evening but our cocktails took 30 minutes to arrive. For appetizers we had the calamari, which my companions complained was too salty (I don't eat it) and the crab puppies which were okay. We all ordered seafood for the main course. My husband ordered the seared tuna which he enjoyed quite a bit. The rest of us ordered seafood combination platters or crab cakes, one of the house specialties. The shrimp in the combo platter was very fresh and tasty. The crab cakes however were terrible. The menu states all crab, no filler. That may be the case but the crab was the inferior portion, the stringy bits rather than the lump. Further, they were soggy and fishy tasting with bits of shell. Really bad. On the upside, we all ordered bread pudding for desert and it was delicious.

This restaurant would be a fun place for drinks on the patio on a warm summer night but be careful what your order.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great bartender, great view”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Four of us dropped into The Boathouse to ogle the view of the Richmond skyline and enjoy adult beverages. The restaurant wasn't really scheduled to open for 10 more minutes or so but we were warmly welcomed in by GM Zach Deaver. Aaron the bartender prepared fabulous martinis and bloody Mary's with expertise and good cheer. The day was warm so we sat outside, admired the view, and relished our delicious cocktails. This is how customers crave to be treated. Bravo, Zach & Aaron!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DIANA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Boathouse location is an awesome idea. Enjoyed the environment, view, and the Shrimp and Grits were tasty. Would have preferred a large portion for sure. The local IPA's were unique, and the Haywood in the green can was my personal favorite.

Our group of 12 was too large to seat outside but we were close enough to feel the breeze.

Be sure to place (East Old Main Street) in your GPS or you will end up going the wrong way!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JuniorCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse at Rocketts Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing