We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Ok , service not so good.”
Review of Bistro Bobette

Bistro Bobette
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro Bobette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 1,699 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: South 12th
Description: Bistro Bobette, Richmond's first authentic French Bistro serving comfort food in Historic Shockoe Slip. Our atmosphere is lively,chic casual and we strive to provide our guests with the utmost in professional service and quality cuisine. We utilize local,organic seasonal ingredients.Menu includes classic French fare, steak frites, mussels, quiche, homemade soups, charcuterie, tartare, escargots, house made terrines/pate, salads, fish and meats, complimented with an expansive wine menu. All desserts are homemade. Specials change daily. Menu changes monthly . 3 course Chef's Pre Fixe nightly from 5-6. for 22. Special Bar Bites available nightly.
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Arrived at this restaurant feeling we were really in for a treat, My friends speak fluent French and also know the owner Wendy( kind of)
Well upon arrival the owner raised her hand at my friend as to acknowledge her being there and then we were told to wait. We had a reservation and clearly there were some tables in very good spots but NO we were told we had to wait.
Others came in the restaurant and were seated ,while we still waited, so we decided to have a drink at the bar and asked Wendy Owner/hostess why we were waiting, we were told that she was waiting for a "good table" Ok we though our friends know her maybe we are getting a really good table.
After 25 minutes had passed , we catch Wendy's eye and ask " is our table almost ready", to witch she swiftly said " follow me" and proceeded to seat us at a table, which was in a terrible spot, all four of us crammed in at the back of the restaurant? No apology for the wait or nothing was given!
Ok we thought at least the food will be good, well NO it wasn't two of us ordered the fish special( believe it was sea bass) and both were over cooked .We told the waitress who just looked annoyed and took them back. Still no apology. It was replaced but wasn't much better. Asked for a good red wine choice and we were told that the owner would come and help us. Well ..we had waited long enough for "Wendy" so we took a jab at it ourselves. Wine was good.
If this is their idea of a good French restaurant they obviously underestimate The palate of many of the people who live here and are well traveled. All in all this restaurant was a very bad experience and came with a very rude owner. None of us will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Bornabrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bistro B, Owner at Bistro Bobette, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much sharing your feedback and taking the time to reach out. We so regret that you did not have a positive experience with our service, especially as we strive to provide the utmost in food quality as well as service. We also offer an apology for your wait upon entering our restaurant. It was not our intention to make you wait and we regret missing that mark.We hope that you return to experience what is normally a very positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

136 - 140 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

I only went here for lunch, but the place was a little cramped and the service was a little stuffy. Also just a tad pricier than I was expecting. That aside, super good food if you enjoy French cuisine! I'd like to try for dinner as well, but overall a positive experience for me, great sandwich and delicious chocolate mousse for dessert!

Thank KBeth00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I'm a vegetarian which doesn't often go well with French cuisine. I love their veggie side dish combo options. Everything is so favorable. I'm sure their meat dishes are equally well executed. Good service too...with a lot of seasoned personality,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fanSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Recently my wife and I dined at Bistro Bobette for the first time, but definitely not the last. It's a small, sparsely decorated restaurant that features large displays of contemporary artwork rather than the ubiquitous memorabilia found in other French bistros. We dined on sea bass and the restaurant's own version of cassoulet, with an appetizer of venison foie gras. The selection of wines by the glass is small but well chosen, and the chocolate mousse dessert we shared was a perfect complement to our meal. Our server was always there when we needed her, and helped make our evening at Bistro Bobette a memorable one.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul_Har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The food is perfectly prepared and pleasing to all of the senses. The staff is extremely knowledgeable about both the food and wine offerings. We dine here at least a couple of times a year for special occasions.

Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Bobette also viewed


Been to Bistro Bobette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing