We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat find”

Lamplighter Roasting Comany
Ranked #2 of 19 Coffee & Tea in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Neat find”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Loved this coffee shop, tucked into a little neighborhood in Richmond. The staff was very friendly and the doughnut I had was excellent. Their sandwiches looked amazing but we had a brunch reservation a bit later so I went with something smaller. They have tons of outdoor seating; the indoor seating is a bit limited. There was a line but it moved really quickly. I highly recommend checking this place out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mariah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Favorite coffee house in Richmond”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

If you love to people watch & you love good coffee you will absolutely dig this place! The building used to be an old filling station with lots of fun outdoor seating. The clientele ranges from super hip hipsters to business people. The dragon French toast is to die for & the red headed step child chai is fantastic. We never mss a visit here whenever we travel to Richmond, it makes me feel like I'm back in Williamsburg, Brooklyn! Oh, & the artwork in the bathroom rocks and changes frequently! I love this place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovelylisa10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good eats!”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stumbled upon this place after leaving Maymont. It was a terrific find. My dughter and I ordered the Goat herder's daughter it was very tasty, my son ordered the buffalo 66, he too, enjoyed his sandwich. The person who took our order "Stacy" was freindly and helpful. She offered to customize my drink since many (maybe all) of their softdrinks are home made. the sides were great too. We ordered collards and kale -tasty, fruit salad - sweet but tasty; and cheesy grits - my son liked them. Several are vegetarian dishes but meat is served as well. There are vegan and gluten free options available. The bathroom was clean - which means a lot to me. This is a hip hidden gem in a local neighborhood. I recommend you try it at least once. Very informal setting with seating outside and in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank karentl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great coffee - Great sandwiches”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

These people are serious about coffee, and they have a very fun eclectic menu for food. Specials every day. I have been several times now, and I've never been disappointed. Yum.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank schimmelart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great lunch place”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We ate lunch here on a warm afternoon. The outdoor seating was full but we were able to find a table inside. There is not much seating. The menu has many vegetarian and vegan options. The tempeh sandwich was outstanding. The coffee drinks were worth the trip alone. We were possibly the only ones in the place over 50, but the staff was friendly and helpful. Creative food and a fun atmosphere. This would also be a good place to get to-go food for a picnic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lamplighter Roasting Comany also viewed

 

Been to Lamplighter Roasting Comany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing