We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a great meal”
Review of Greek On Cary

Greek On Cary
Ranked #129 of 1,606 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: US$7 - US$11
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opa! Welcome to Greek on Cary! At Greek On Cary we'll be bringing you homemade authentic Greek food to Richmond. We use only the freshest ingredients to provide our customers with amazing food. Come by and check out our famous Gyros! If you need a bite on the side, be sure to try out the Hummus, Falafel, and other Greek favorites all through the week. We have specials each week, so ask what it is we're dishing up this time! Whether you're with friends and family or you're just passing through for a quick bite to eat, Greek On Cary is sure to offer some of the best food here in Richmond. We're looking forward to you joining us soon!
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I try to eat here on at least a monthly basis. The inside is a bit cramped and not the best looking, but the awesome food more than makes up for it. I typically get the gyro and my wife gets the souvlaki, and they both are fantastic. With a combo, instead of fries you can get the soup, which I highly recommend. The desserts are excellent, too. The wait staff are very friendly and the service is fast. I can't say enough good things about this place! Go, go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    39
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Dry lamb on our gyros. Fries were soggy like they have been sitting under a heat lamp. Asked for mayo and it was discolored. There is actually a sign asking you clean your own table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CherieLynn831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Not fancy, but great food”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had a variety of appetizers and the food was wonderful. The owner served us and even brought us over another small dish for us to try!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sweetnlow63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“New Addiction”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

Greek cuisine 2 just opened up out by me and I can't get enough! It is run by his wife and she is fantastic. The gyros are the best I have ever had! The hummus plater is perfection and the baklava..... Well, it will make your day! I have gotten take out twice this week and don't see that changing. Greek food has now made it into my top 3 of favorite foods!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yum! A great choice!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Greek Cuisine is one of the many interesting eating options that can be found in Carytown. My wife and I chose GC after taking a quick stroll through the neighborhood where we checked out some of the cool second hand stores, sidewalk musicians, and bike shops. Shout out to Carytown - this neighborhood is awesome and definitely deserves a visit!

I ordered a Gyro sandwich and my wife noshed on a greek salad with chicken - both were outstanding! Unfortunately we didn't have room left for any baklava or tiramisu - they looked good! Friendly staff.

I wasn't surprised to see a bunch of other reviewers who enjoyed their experience here - I think you will too!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skijumper_311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greek On Cary also viewed

 

Been to Greek On Cary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing