We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sprout - A Localvore Restaurant & Bar
Price range: US$29 - US$31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main St.
Description: Sprout is a proud member of the localvore movement in Richmond VA, serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner six days a week. Localvore is the diet of eating locally, and Sprout is committed to dealing direct with the farmers, growers, tofu makers, artisans, etc. that provide the food we serve. You can always rely on Sprout to serve up a menu of over 90% locally sourced ingredients, and feel confident that your dollars are being reinvested right back here in your local Virginia economy.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Amazing atmosphere and the food was out of this world! Service was very friendly and hospitable too. Great opening weekend experience and I look forward to more in the future!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CLo4090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sprout, Sprout, Let It All Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

These are the greens I've been dreaming about! So come on. I'm talkin' to you. Come on.

Following an evening event, we decided to seek out Sprout while we were out and about. We were greeted inside the door by friendly, albeit hip young restaurateurs. The decor was as you would expect from a new trendy localvore restaurant. Some unexpected features included beautiful stained glass windows, gold toned tin ceiling, and a delightful sprig of Rosemary as the table greenery.

The service was pleasant and attentive, especially considering having been seated only 15 minutes before the kitchen was to close. We ordered a sausage and cheddar pizzetta with lovely fresh greens resting on top, and Rosemary marinated steak with sauteed greens and polenta frites. They were both clean & wholesome tasting, and were absolutely delicious. The portions were a little on the light side, but the overall the value and quality of the meals were superb.

There was a live band about to play in a separate back room as we were finishing our meal. We decided not to linger too long, as the music was a good decade younger than our age bracket. :)

What a wonderful experience Sprout was to two passionate and conscious diners, who are often disappointed by the scarcity of restaurants that offer quality, nourishing ingredients with a commitment to support local food production. We will definitely be returning, but earlier in the evening next time.

Sprout will definitely be recommended to friends and family!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NameOfTheRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Simply the BEST!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

We live 1 1/2 hours away and planned a trip to Richmond just to go to this restaurant. I had heard about it somewhere (Food Network?) and checked them out on Facebook. Got a social network coupon sent to me and I couldn't resist! Make reservations on OPENTABLE.com so you get credit and come back here - you're going to want to...It's a very small, eclectic place - printed menus taped to old album covers! I had the soup of the day - sweet potato soup and it was evident from the first spoonful, we were in for a treat - very flavorful. For dinner, I scored with the parisienne gnocchi with wild mushrooms in a brown sauce on a bed of steamed kale. What a surprise - the gnocchi was fried and having never had kale - I was thrilled with the opportunity to try it. The entire dish was luscious. Kale had been sauteed in a little oil and chunks of garlic and it was still crunchy but not at all bitter. The gnocchi was very good - but I'm not a big fried foods person. I am a mushroom lover so yum to that. What makes everything we had so special was how fresh it was and knowing the concept behind localvore. My husband had sliders which he loved and was delighted with the homemade sweet potato chips. Menu changes as the season changes - asparagus is about to make it's debut. Dessert - one option - mint chocolate chip cheesecake was made at Cracked Egg Bakery. Not sure it was work a whole $7.50 a slice but we enjoyed it before knowing the cost! Our server was the only server and quite nice to chat with - we hope to go back and delve into the interesting fresh food served here. Owner says weekends are quite busy, it was pleasantly busy on a Wednesday night but we never felt rushed. Bathrooms were clean - that's important!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kthomasva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What a shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

What a shame the owners took an absolutely wonderful building filled with charm and beautiful hardwood floors and turned it into a dirty, scared 'hangout' feeling. A group of 12 experienced a very frustrating lunch recently. There were only 2 of us who liked our entree and when they put bread on the table, we were told after the fact that it was for the people who ordered entrees only. The sandwiches and pizzas were a joke, one thin slice of cheese and 3 little pieces of apple do not make a meal. The service was horrible and very slow, which made no sense because we had a reservation and they were not even half full. Unfortunately the artwork was avant guarde to the extreme, the painting on the wall in front of me was of a skeleton head screaming 'jerk.' Not appetizing! The location is great for the university, the space has such fabulous potential....what a shame!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelagentnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Tearoom in Richmond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2009

Excellent Service. Delicious Tea Sandwiches. High Quality Teas

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lrlntad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sprout - A Localvore Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing