We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holocaust Museum experience”

Virginia Holocaust Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.00*
and up
Richmond's Shockoe Bottom Segway Tour
Ranked #10 of 168 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded to educate the community about the tragedies of the Holocaust, the Virginia Holocaust Museum strives to memorialize and document the atrocities of World War II. Through exhibits, programming, and outreach, the Museum uses the history of genocide to teach the dangers of prejudice and indifference.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Holocaust Museum experience”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I was extremely pleased with my visit to the Virginia Holocaust Museum. I have been to Auschwitz previously so my expectations were high. I was not disappointed and have spread the word to family and friends that this is a "must see" while in Richmond.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    64
    20
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lucked out with a tour”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The museum's director is a holocaust survivor and gave our tour. Part of the museum is actually based on his personal experience and there is a replica of his house in the ghetto as well as his hiding place after he escaped the camp. The tour was pretty long, so allow for around 2 hours if you take the entire tour.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Va
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Moving Museum visit”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Very moving museum with an interesting way of presenting the material. Very sad.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank 49linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is not for Children!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I am a big WW2 buff and I couldn't wait to go. The museum is legitimately scary. You feel like you are actually living through the Holocaust.
It is a good authentic experience but it is not for the faint of heart or children.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank tfroggy912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Solemn Site, Great Museum”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This museum causes one to pause at the horrors the Jews experienced during the Holocaust, but also provides a look at life from the view of one who experienced and survived. The special exhibits, and especially the Nuremburg Trial are fascinating

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank MarciaS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virginia Holocaust Museum also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Holocaust Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing