We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand State Capitol” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virginia Capitol Building

Virginia Capitol Building
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.00*
and up
Abraham Lincoln Foot-Steps Tour by Segway
Ranked #5 of 167 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Inside the white, columned state capitol building, designed by Thomas Jefferson to resemble a first-century Roman temple in France, is the only sculpture of George Washington produced in his lifetime.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
581 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Grand State Capitol”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

As an avid state capitol explorer, this capitol was very different in that it did not have lots of wood in it. Told that Thomas Jefferson copied a building from Paris, thus all the marble. It was very grand and beautiful. They have added an entrance and elevator system that fits into the design so nicely.

From the bottom of the hill on Bank Street the view of the capitol sitting up on that hill is magnificent. The grounds are lovely with several statutes and a huge one with George Washington on his horse. That is a great statute.

They have a movie about Virginia's past which is very interesting and some great statutes inside of Washington and Thomas Jefferson. I was very pleased with my visit to this wonderful capitol.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    185
    32
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“really worth seeing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I thought this would be a snooze but must say that it was an interesting place to visit. We opted out of the free guided tour but joined it later anyway. The stories are interesting and the building is beautiful. One thing we had trouble with was finding the entrance! Bank Street is the entrance but the signs are hard to see for this street when you are on the grounds of the capital.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank conciergeinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lot of history in a little time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Unfortunately we were only able to spend an hour at the capital. It had beautiful architecture and a lot to learn. It was a little unbelievable how many recognizable names have walked in these storied halls. We wandered upon a tour which was very informative, but we had to leave early due to prior engagements. Will definitely visit again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trenton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
155 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great place to spend an hour or two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My friend and I loved visiting the Capitol on a sunny April morning when the dogwood and tulips were in bloom. The dazzling white Grecian-style building sits at the top of a big grassy hill only a block from modern downtown Richmond. We didn't take the organized tour, but we found our self-guided walk through the historic spaces very satisfying. Every staff person we met was knowledgeable and helpful. Beside and behind the Capitol are an inviting fountain and at least three impressive monuments. Our favorite was one dedicated to the brave young people who participated in the civil rights movement of the 1960's. Both inside and out, this is a perfectly lovely place to stroll about absorbing Virginia's rich history.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marilynpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anoka
Level Contributor
157 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We did not take the tour. We went through self guided and thought it was one of the best capitals we have seen and we have seen many. The people we met were friendly and helpful. When they built a large addition to the capital they put it all underground so as to keep the building looking as it did in the early 1900's and the center section is right out of the Civil War. The entry for tourists is on the Southwest corner near the street so you can look up at the capital just as Thomas Jefferson envisioned it. Don't miss the bell tower at the West end of the property and the monuments. If you do decide to park on the street and decide to ignore the parking signs I can tell you that the fine can be paid on line and will cost you $40.00 but those spades are plenty. Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SDeuker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Virginia Capitol Building also viewed

 

Been to Virginia Capitol Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing