We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifesaver During Hurricane Irene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lifesaver During Hurricane Irene”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had to book a hotel last minute in Richmond to escape Hurricane Irene. The only thing I could find was the Comfort Inn by the Airport in Sandston, so I booked it. My husband absolutely refused to stay there, it was disgusting. So I found the number for the Holiday Inn Express which was about 10 minutes away. I called and the friendly staff rescued us from hell, they even gave me directions over the phone. The best part is they accepted our two dogs and gave us a military discount which included not paying for our pets. The hotel is beautiful and so clean. It was jammed packed with people, and their dogs, who were escaping the storm. We never lost electricity. The restaurant was packed but good. I am so grateful that these folks were able to make our stay comfortable during such a hectic time. The staff was amazing!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvldlphn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    64
    18
    10
    11
See reviews for
61
35
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tipton, PA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed here one night on our way from PA to SC. Nice, clean newer hotel and was able to get a great rate using Priceline name your own price option. I have found the Holiday Inn Express Hotels that I've stayed in to be consistent in upkeep and cleanliness. It isn't anything fancy or luxurious but you don't expect that at this price point. Great place to sleep while on the road.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipton_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romulus, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here while visting our son at the University of Richmond. Location is less than 10 minutes away from campus. While this is not the closest hotel to campus, it was probably the best overall we have stayed at in the past 3 years while visiting (usually 3-4 visits per year). The front desk and other staff that we encountered were the friendliest we have experienced on our visits there. The room was typical of other hotels of its type (Hampton, Country Inn & Suites, etc.), nothing extraordinary, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast quality was a bit above average for hotels of its type with the choices of bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, toast, bagels, etc. They had a pancake machine instead of Belgian Waffle maker. Not a lot in healthy choices, however, other than yogurt and bananas. I would have liked more fruit options, but the choices were similar to other hotels of its type. For the price we got on this trip, I'd say value was excellent compared to other options in the area. You are also only about 5 minutes from the Short Pump area, where there are lots restaurants, shopping etc.

There is a Westin, Embassy Suites, and others a bit closer close to campus, but unless you have to have a bar and restaurant on site, this hotel's rooms are plenty nice enough for most anyone staying for a few days. Use what you save on a nice dinner!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cayugadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

While travelling through Virginia we needed a room for the night so we stopped at this HolidayInn Express. We did not have reservations but there was availability. We have never stayed at a HolidayInn Express before and were surprised at the exellant accommidations and pleasant staff. The hotel served a free continental breakfast buffet which again was very nice. i would definately reccommend this hotel if you are in the area. It is right off of interstate 64 hith plenty of resturants and shopping in the area.

Room Tip: Book ahead if possible. They fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc55ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Perfect location, the gentleman working late at night was very friendly and helpful, and the room was spotless clean. Even the housekeeping staff was friendly. We make this trip a lot and will be using this hotel as much as possible

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btrent8736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

On the road looking at U of Richmond with our son and stayed here one night. With the AAA rate it was a real bargin. Loved the staff - Joanne is the best and so if Wanda. Clean, spacious, comfortable with a super breakfast. Gym and pool are next door at the Fairfield Inn. Would stay here anytime.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Friendly & professional desk staff. Clean facilities & room. Comfortable bed. Good value & easy access.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liv4wked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
4.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond West End Short Pump
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Northwest/Short Pump
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area
Address: 9933 Mayland Dr, Richmond, VA 23233-1462
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you travel for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area hotel near Innsbrook is here to provide you with the quality, comfort and security that you need. Conveniently located off of I-64 in Richmond's West End, we are near fine restaurants, malls and leisure attractions. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your stay. Amenities, such as wireless high-speed Internet, a fitness center, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night. Every day starts right with our hot delicious Express Start breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond - i64 At Innsbrook Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing