We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room for a necessary stay outside of Richmond” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area
Ranked #34 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Virginia
Level Contributor
341 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice room for a necessary stay outside of Richmond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great breakfast choices...cinnamon buns are great. Have wider choices...pancake making machine, 2 types of sausage etc. Room had plenty of room for us and our dog, including her 4x4 playpen. Only wish was that they had more room for potty...they only have a hill next to highway. So we walked behind the hotel next door.
We were disturbed the 2nd night at 2 am by a domestic outside the side of the hotel and thus right in front of our window.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nav1go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Amy J,

We appreciate you reviewing your visit and are glad you had a good stay overall! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the variety of our breakfast choices, but do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. Our team will discuss your comments to ensure we do a better job of providing a quiet stay for our guests. Otherwise, we thank you again for your comments and hope to see you the next time you're in the area!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    60
    16
    10
    10
See reviews for
57
31
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was a quick business stay. I believe Holiday Inn Express are the best for these type of trips. Easy check in. Very professional front desk staff. Nice and quiet. Good night sleep. My only minor complaint is that the breakfast was sub par...Guess that's why it is free & it is very hard to complain about something free.

Room Tip: Might want to skip the free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Scott W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express; I'm pleased to hear we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed your stay! We do apologize, however, that our complimentary breakfast fell a bit short of your needs and will further discuss your comments. Otherwise, thanks again for your praise and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Richmond!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have tried several hotels in Richmond and never felt like I found one I'd consider coming back to until I stayed here. It's in a very quiet location with no street noise. The mattress and pillows were super comfortable. For the first time in many years, I slept like a rock in a hotel room. Breakfast was delicious and all the staff were very attentive. I look forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie22311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Annie22311,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express; I'm very happy to read you've found your new home away from home in Richmond & felt you received excellent value for your money! We are grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and can't wait for your next visit. Thanks again for your praise!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansing mi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Pros: nice staff, clean, comfortable bed, excellent location. Cons: very very dated. No fitness room (they sent me to the Fairfield next door which had a line for the one treadmill that worked), there are smoking rooms and they put me in one after the only room left was on first floor with a window to a chair directly in front of the pool... not happening for a single female traveling alone... when I got back from dinner loud people were at the pool- glad I moved, TV - only a few channels had a signal and so many didn't work. Overall - I'd only stay here again in case of emergency.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daphne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear daphne r,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express. While I'm glad to hear you found our staff friendly and your room clean and comfortable, I do apologize that some of our amenities and facilities fell short of your expectations and will pass your feedback onto our team for further discussion and improvement. If you'd like to discuss anything more, please feel free to give me a call at the number below. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you'll allow us another chance to give you a great stay the next time you're in town.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

It is clear the ownership of this hotel is not supporting its generally very dedicated staff by insuring basics are attended to. In general, we found the staff, particularly the housekeepers and a clerk named Monique, to be very friendly and conscientious. On the other hand, the repeated breakdowns of the printer in the Business Center were a major turnoff. The housekeeping staff is very shorthanded to the point rooms are sometimes not made up until late afternoon. In short, they need more staff. Because of the printer issues, a desk clerk attempted to printed out plane boarding passes for us and could not complete this simple task. Some of their clientele are smokers, and one night a guest was smoking outside the side entrance, which he had propped open, causing obnoxious second hand smoke to waft into our room as well as the interior corridor. I believe the desk clerk did take care of this problem. Rooms are very comfortable and we enjoyed the breakfast. As a Hilton Honors member, I would say this hotel has a ways to go before it can come close to what we normally receive at Hampton Inn, and I have to fault management and ownership for this. This hotel has a lot of potential, but it unfortunately comes up short.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear maryanddave,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. While we're glad to hear you found our staff friendly and helpful, we do apologize for the inconveniences you ran into - ensuring a clean environment is a priority so I will pass your comments onto our corporate team for further discussion; we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If you'd like to discuss anything more, please feel free to reach to me at the number below. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to have another chance in the future to give you a great stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I'm 61 and my wife is 52 which I think helps to know when reading a review. Friendly helpful staff at the hotel. Room was very clean and good value for price paid. Stayed in a room with two double beds. Free Wi-Fi on all floors and hardwired computers available on the first. We did not use. Nice 32" flat screen TV with HBO. Lots of hot water and good pressure in the shower. The shower head is adjustable by turning the outer band. Some shower head selections were more useful for getting shampoo out of my hair. We stayed on a Sunday in room 310 and it was very quiet. My wife liked the beds but I found them a little too firm. Tripadvisor lists a weight room but I did not see it. We did not use them, but there is one washer and one dryer on the 2nd floor and each costs two dollars per load. The standard vending and ice machines are available. Oddly Coke and Pepsi products are on different floors. The pool is outside, we prefer inside, but it was broken during our visit. We could have used the indoor pool next door at the Fairfield Inn but did not. Breakfast had a wide selection of hot and cold items available and was very good. Being from Georgia, I especially liked the biscuits and gravy. O'Charleys restaurant is a 200 ft walk outside the back door and you get a 10% discount by showing your room key. See my positive review for this on TripAdvisor. If you prefer going out to eat head down W. Broad St a couple miles down the road. There is just about any fast food restaurant and any type of sit down restaurant you could want to try. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Turn outer ring on shower head to select different modes. Washer and dryer available for $2 each on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harpmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear harpmike,

Thanks for writing a detailed review of our Holiday Inn Express - we're glad you had a great visit and enjoyed many of the amenities we offer! While we do not offer a fitness room, our guests are welcome to use the one at our sister property next door; feel free to inquire at our front desk if interested on future visits. Otherwise, thank you again for your comments and we can't wait to see you the next time you're in Richmond!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our stop was the HIE off the Staples Mill Road exit of I-64, not the HIE closer to U of Richmond. This stop was a last minute audible on a long drive. The location setting was a bit commercial, office building across the street and a strip mall behind the parking lot, but it was convenient for our short stay needs. Front desk gave a good dinner suggestion for what we were seeking. The hotel offers a Thursday night Manager's Reception 5 till 7 PM and a self-serve breakfast, which included a waffle griddle and other warm food options. The staff was friendly, beds were comfortable, the room was clean and the rate was reasonable. This hotel efficiently met out needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Bob K,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel; I'm very pleased to hear our location worked well for your needs and our staff was able to help you discover a new favorite restaurant! It's also good to read you had a comfortable, clean stay overall. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Richmond Short Pump/I-64
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Richmond Northwest
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Richmond Short Pump
2.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Richmond West at I-64
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area
Address: 9933 Mayland Drive, Richmond, VA 23233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you travel for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area hotel near Innsbrook is here to provide you with the quality, comfort and security that you need. Conveniently located off of I-64 in Richmond's West End, we are near fine restaurants, malls and leisure attractions. You'll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your stay. Amenities, such as wireless high-speed Internet, a fitness center, plush towels, and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night. Every day starts right with our hot delicious Express Start breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Richmond I-64 Short Pump Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Richmond - i64 At Innsbrook Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing