We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Richmond was a nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Springfield Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Richmond was a nice experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed one night at the Holiday Inn downtwon. This was a very nice hotel close to many of the attractions. Hotel was either new, or had been reconditioned. Very nice condition. Breakfast was great. We walked to the Virginia Capital and canal area. Hollywood cemetary too which had two US Presidents and Jefferson davis grave sites. If you are going to be in Richmond this hotel is in a great location and the service was wonderful. Great staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Thank you for taking time to let us know of your stay with us. We appreciate the positive comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest on your future visits to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    96
    56
    18
    14
See reviews for
58
58
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We were in town for a convention, the hotel location is nice, it was quiet, check in and out was hassle free. Our room was very clean and a/c was VERY GOOD! Although it is on E Cary Street and not as close to the historic area, you can walk there (or take a cab or shuttle) it is a pleasant walk there and back if you are in moderate to good shape and wear good shoes, we walked there all days of the 5 we stayed in Richmond. The free continental breakfast was nice, fresh and room was clean. All of our housekeepers were great, each room has its own fridg, micro and coffee maker. Parking is nice and off street and protected and easy to access. It is not "fancy" like Jefferson or Omni, but a very good value and updated and clean. I would stay there again. Our parking fee was included, but even if you pay I think it is a small fee...you would have to double check that.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your experience in your survey. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. Yes, the good shoes are required in Downtown (there are quite a few hills in the city if your opt to walk.) We hope to have you as our guests on future visits to Richmond, Va. Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

we stayed two nights when we went to and returned from Banff. The room we stayed for the first night is a little noisy due to aircon problem. But the room we stayed after returning from Baff was very comfortable. It is spacious, clean and the aircon is in very good condition. The hotel staff are friendly. The parking is free and breakfast (free) is included. We woule like to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosej_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Thank you for taking time to share your positive experience from your 2 stays with us. We have checked your room from your 1st stay and have replaced the HVAC unit. We hope to have you as our guests on future visits to Richmond, Va. Again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I stayed here once for a work conference, and it was an enjoyable stay. It was a bit confusing getting into the parking garage, but once in, it felt safe and secure. The staff was very friendly at check-in and helpful with directions to local offices I needed to get to for my meetings. Everything was reasonably priced, to include the $10/day for parking. I've stayed around the corner at the Hilton Garden Inn where you'll pay $18/day for parking, and local lots can be as high as $15 or $20. Parking just costs money when in Richmond (or any large city).

The room was comfortable and clean, and the cleaning staff was friendly and thorough. The breakfast was nothing to rave about, but good for a Holiday Inn. It was warm, free, and plentiful. What else could you really ask for?

If you're looking for an inexpensive, safe location to stay near the Capitol Building, then this is a good pick. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thank you for your recent review. We are glad you had a comfortable stay with. I appreciate the compliments on the service you received. We hope to have you back as our guest on future visits to Richmond. Again, Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

All about the place is clean and service was very good - room was spacious, bed was comfortable. Location in downtown Richmond is good. Fast internet.

Only real downside was that the 10.00 per night parking fee is not listed on the webpage for the hotel, nor was it included in our confirmation email. Will be seeking a refund, and presumably will get it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roboird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thank you for taking time to complete the Trip Advisor Comments. We appreciate the positive comments and are pleased you had a comfortable stay with us. I am sorry for the confusion with the our parking fee. We will be happy to take care of this charge for you. We hope to have you as our guest on future visits to Richmond Again, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I picked this hotel because it was walking distance to downtown and had a free hot breakfast. It is in a decent part of town that I had no problem walking back to the hotel at 1:30 in the morning. The a/c fan ran continuously so we all slept well and couldn't here anything or anyone outside our room. The room & bathroom were relatively clean with no complaints. Breakfast was better than expected with hot scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy along with the regular continental breakfast fare. My wife wanted to stay at the more costly Omni but conceded the breakfast was good enough to warrant a stay here. The staff was pleasant and friendly. I was able to find on-street parking that was free & close to the hotel so no complaints on that one. I would recommend the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbortzva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Thank you for taking time to add your comments to Tripadvisor. We apprecaite your positive comments are are glad your had a comfortable stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest on future visits to Richmond. Again, Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2011

During my stay I left a large amount of cash in the room. The hotel manager retrieved the cash, and furthermore deposited the money into my bank account - unbelievable there are still great people in this world!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcharbonneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 81 in Richmond
1,015 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richmond - Downtown
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond

Property: Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Address: 201 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-3736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in downtown Richmond offers quality and convenience. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond, VA. Located in the heart of historic Richmond's River District, we offer corporate and leisure guests the best of the past and the future. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient Richmond, VA accommodations. Our hotel, situated in the heart of downtown Richmond, is close to businesses such as Wachovia Securities, the Virginia Biotechnology Research Park, Altria, Philip Morris, SunTrust Bank and Mead Westvaco, as well as other Fortune 500 companies. Virginia Commonwealth University is six blocks away. The Greater Richmond Convention Center is .4 miles. Your family will love staying at our hotel in Richmond, VA, located on Cary Street, because we are close to the Virginia Capitol Building, the Children's Museum and the Museum & White House of the Confederacy. Other nearby sights include the Virginia Holocaust Museum, the Landmark Theatre and VCU's Siegel Center. The Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens offers visitors natural Virginia beauty at its finest. When you stay with us, you'll enjoy deluxe amenities including a 24-hour fitness center and a free Express Start breakfast. The free high-speed, wireless Internet access will keep you connected. The 24-hour business center has print, copy and fax services. Stay Smart in the heart of Richmond and check out our great Richmond hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Express Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing