We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very acceptable hotel in good downtown position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We had an exceptionally large room here with a king bed. The room was clean and comfortable and is a few blocks from the centre. We walked to the centre via the WWII memorial and the canal walk. In the evening we the area is very quite so we preferred to use the car to visit restaurants. The complementary breakfast is very good indeed and there is free parking in the underground garage. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrotterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for taking time to share your visit. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Express Start Hot Breakfast. The hotel is centrally located to many attractions in area and a short walk to the dining district. We hope to have you as our guest on future visits to Richmond, Again, thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

I stayed one night at this hotel. While it is pretty typical HI Express, the front entrance is quite odd. One must climb a long flight of stone steps from the street to the entrance/lobby level. (see hotel photos) As I left the hotel in the rain, the steps were very slippery and I fell head over heels down to the sidewalk. Luckily I only sustained bruised elbow, wrist, leg, and a sprained ankle. It could have been MUCH worse. The way the steps and lobby are situated, no one from the hotel even noticed my fall. A delivery person and my taxi driver were on hand to offer assistance. I could not even return to the hotel to report the incident without re-climbing those steps. If you stay here be extremely careful. I suggest you take the elevator to the hotel parking garage level and have a taxi meet you there.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimplyRedMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

I am so sorry to hear that you had a fall on our front steps. I really wish you would have let us known when it happened. With our hotel being a converted bank building, you are correct, the front entrance steps and entering thru the parking garage are your two options. Again, thank you for letting me know of the incident. We hope to have you back as our guest on any future visits to Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed here on the way back from a week vacation in Nags Head. The hotel was nice and check in was quick and easy. My husband & I reserved a one bedroom suite for us and we used reward points for a second room for our son. Our room was large, bed was comfortable. There was a living room area with a sofa, whirlpool tub, small refrigerator, microwave & coffee maker. Our son's room was small to average. He said he had trouble sleeping because of the noise. Our room was very quiet.
The breakfast was nice and there was plenty to choose from. We had eggs, sausages, toast, coffee, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc.
The biggest problem we had was the free shuttle was not running that weekend (Labor Day weekend). So to get anywhere we either had to walk or take a cab. We decided to walk to a restaurant that we thought was close, but it was a longer walk than we thought. The hotel is a distance from Shockoe Slip and downtown, so restaurants and bars within the neighborhood are limited. It would have been nice to have had the shuttle available to take us places.
We had two minor problems with the room. One is the hotel is older and is showing signs of wear and tear. The towel bar in the bathroom fell off and hit me in the head. The second problem is I had trouble accessing the internet in our room.
Would we stay here again if we are in the Richmond area? Probably not.

Room Tip: We thought the one bedroom suite was well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us. I am glad to hear that your enjoyed our Express Start Breakfast.I am sorry that our shuttle times did not work for you. We do not opperate the shuttle durign the weekends. I did review our records and saw that you had reported the towel bar, (which was repalced that afternoon) . I sincerely wish to have the opportunity to be of service on your next visit to Richmond. Again, thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Trying to be as fair as possible here, since the one night we stayed here was during a hurricane. Power was lost early in the stay. That was rather frustrating when every other hotel in town still had power. But I will confine my evaluation to the experience I had WITH power.

The property is an older one that has been updated for the HI Express. Lobby areas are rather large, and could have been furnished with more and more up to date furniture.

We had gotten a whirlpool suite. The furniture doesn’t quite fill the considerable space in the suite. They could easily add either a larger desk area, or a small dinette. The two TVs were large, new, and nice. The room was very clean, including the bathroom. Plenty of towels were provided. I can’t comment on the shower or whirlpool since we didn’t get to use them. The air conditioning is wall units, and seemed to work well while the power held out. Wireless internet was typical: easy to access, moderate to somewhat slow.

I also can’t really comment on the continental breakfast. With the power issues, they could only put out the basics like juice and donuts.

I think had we had power, we might have enjoyed the stay. The room was only slightly less expensive than the other rooms I priced for that night. But unless I were getting the very large suite, I would opt for another property in the downtown area.

My biggest concern is a glaring security problem they have. I don’t want to elaborate on it here, for fear it would quite literally give someone an idea. But suffice to say, it is worrisome enough that I would probably not stay here unless it were my only choice in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slovaktoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent visit to Richmond. Hurricane Irene did cause some problems for the area. The hotel did not get power restored until Tuesday of he following week. We appreciate your understanding during your stay. We would love for you to visit Richmond again, and we will be pleased to get you back in the Whirlpool suite ,and we will take care of your charges for the night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed one night as we were passing through Richmond and were pleased with our room. We were able to get a room with two double beds with living room suite that had a fold-out sofa, perfect for parents and two school age children. The room was neat and clean, quite spacious, and housekeeping was gracious and helpful. The fellow at the front desk was super friendly and accommodating. Hotel is well-situated for walking in downtown Richmond, and the parking garage was convenient and safe. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamelapancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for taking time to let us know of your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that your family had a good visit to Richmond. The Suite you were in is a great value for the family traveling to Richmond. We hope to have you as our guest on your future visits to Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed one night at the Holiday Inn downtwon. This was a very nice hotel close to many of the attractions. Hotel was either new, or had been reconditioned. Very nice condition. Breakfast was great. We walked to the Virginia Capital and canal area. Hollywood cemetary too which had two US Presidents and Jefferson davis grave sites. If you are going to be in Richmond this hotel is in a great location and the service was wonderful. Great staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gnerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for taking time to let us know of your stay with us. We appreciate the positive comments and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you as our guest on your future visits to Richmond.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

We were in town for a convention, the hotel location is nice, it was quiet, check in and out was hassle free. Our room was very clean and a/c was VERY GOOD! Although it is on E Cary Street and not as close to the historic area, you can walk there (or take a cab or shuttle) it is a pleasant walk there and back if you are in moderate to good shape and wear good shoes, we walked there all days of the 5 we stayed in Richmond. The free continental breakfast was nice, fresh and room was clean. All of our housekeepers were great, each room has its own fridg, micro and coffee maker. Parking is nice and off street and protected and easy to access. It is not "fancy" like Jefferson or Omni, but a very good value and updated and clean. I would stay there again. Our parking fee was included, but even if you pay I think it is a small fee...you would have to double check that.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hixdowntown, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you for taking time to share your experience in your survey. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. Yes, the good shoes are required in Downtown (there are quite a few hills in the city if your opt to walk.) We hope to have you as our guests on future visits to Richmond, Va. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,074 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.4 mi away
Graduate Richmond
Graduate Richmond
#32 of 82 in Richmond
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond

Address: 201 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-3736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £107 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in downtown Richmond offers quality and convenience. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond, VA. Located in the heart of historic Richmond's River District, we offer corporate and leisure guests the best of the past and the future. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient Richmond, VA accommodations. Our hotel, situated in the heart of downtown Richmond, is close to businesses such as Wachovia Securities, the Virginia Biotechnology Research Park, Altria, Philip Morris, SunTrust Bank and Mead Westvaco, as well as other Fortune 500 companies. Virginia Commonwealth University is six blocks away. The Greater Richmond Convention Center is .4 miles. Your family will love staying at our hotel in Richmond, VA, located on Cary Street, because we are close to the Virginia Capitol Building, the Children's Museum and the Museum & White House of the Confederacy. Other nearby sights include the Virginia Holocaust Museum, the Landmark Theatre and VCU's Siegel Center. The Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens offers visitors natural Virginia beauty at its finest. When you stay with us, you'll enjoy deluxe amenities including a 24-hour fitness center and a free Express Start breakfast. The free high-speed, wireless Internet access will keep you connected. The 24-hour business center has print, copy and fax services. Stay Smart in the heart of Richmond and check out our great Richmond hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Express Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing