We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Ended up here due to being bumped from another hotel use to overbooking. We were placed in a suite. Wonderful room! Very clean and comfy! Wonderful staff! Very nice and helpful! Would stay here again! Centrally located to anywhere you want to go downtown.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Serena R,
Thank you for taking the time out to provide feedback for us. We appreciate your business and are ecstatic that you had such an amazing stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    92
    51
    16
    14
See reviews for
56
55
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great little hotel, we got a suite which was great as we are travelling with children and the second room makes a huge difference. The beds were very comfy and the bathroom was a good size. The complimentary breakfast was usual fare, but the server freshened up the hot food regularly which was nice to see. My only complaint would be that we had a room with two beds (staying for 2 nights) and they only remade one of the beds!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 29937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it when we have such positive comments about our hotel. We are very happy to hear that your stay was great and we will be handling the issues that you did have accordingly. We hope that you visit us again in the future.

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you.

-Front Desk Manager
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had another great stay at this HI Express. Convenient parking and much cheaper than other hotels in Richmond. Check-in was a snap. The room was clean, well furnished - free wifi was nice. The bed was very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was great - the selection was impressive - something for everyone. It was nice to see that the front steps were repaired and the patio area was spruced up since our last visit. The price was reasonable. We'll return again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kielbasaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

No AC in the halls, appliances that didn't work, excessively noisy AC unit in rooms, and an unfinished bathroom (spigot turned freely, caulking not finished, sharp edges on tub fixtures, etc.). Avoid until it is really renovated.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Henry D,

Thank you for taking your time to express your concerns with us. We value and appreciate your feedback and will be using it to make improvements.

Although your recent stay was unsatisfactory, we hope that you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations. We strive to provide a wonderful experience for each guest that stays with us .
Sincerely,

Front Desk Manager of Operations
Taylor Williams
Holiday Inn Express-Richmond Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Holiday Inn downtown Richmond was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms were very quiet and the beds were extremely comfortable. The breakfast had a good variety of both hot and cold items and various breakfast drinks. The best part of our stay was the wonderful personal attention we were shown while at the hotel. The front desk people were very helpful in getting us maps and directions. Dennis, our shuttle driver, was absolutely the best. I will definitely stay at this hotel again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troublearok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIE R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear troublearok,
Thank you for such positive feedback. We truly enjoyed having the National Beta Group here and we hope to see everyone once again at the next convention. We appreciate it when our groups have such an amazing experience! Again, thank you for taking the time out to review your stay.
-Taylor Williams
Front Desk Manager
HIE Richmond Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We checked in early, they found us a room. Room was spacious, simple decor and furnishing but nothing to complain about. Breakfast was very good and the Manager goes around checking if you are satisfied. Located close to the business district and the Capitol. Some really GREAT restaurants nearby in walking distance. We were on a business trip and needed several print offs and the lobby computer station and printer with wi-fi came in very handy. Net Net very good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avi_GlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
229 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Most of the previous reviews for this property are spot on. This is an older Holiday Inn property located in downtown Richmond. What struck me here was that the entire property simply feels tired. Paint is chipping and peeling in numerous places, carpets and floors have multile stains, room was not spotlessly clean but good enough.
This place simply is what it is....

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildcat1897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Wildcat1897,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at the hotel, we would like to thank you for providing your feedback. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments.

These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richmond - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond

Property: Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Address: 201 East Cary Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in downtown Richmond offers quality and convenience. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond, VA. Located in the heart of historic Richmond's River District, we offer corporate and leisure guests the best of the past and the future. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient Richmond, VA accommodations. Our hotel, situated in the heart of downtown Richmond, is close to businesses such as Wachovia Securities, the Virginia Biotechnology Research Park, Altria, Philip Morris, SunTrust Bank and Mead Westvaco, as well as other Fortune 500 companies. Virginia Commonwealth University is six blocks away. The Greater Richmond Convention Center is .4 miles. Your family will love staying at our hotel in Richmond, VA, located on Cary Street, because we are close to the Virginia Capitol Building, the Children's Museum and the Museum & White House of the Confederacy. Other nearby sights include the Virginia Holocaust Museum, the Landmark Theatre and VCU's Siegel Center. The Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens offers visitors natural Virginia beauty at its finest. When you stay with us, you'll enjoy deluxe amenities including a 24-hour fitness center and a free Express Start breakfast. The free high-speed, wireless Internet access will keep you connected. The 24-hour business center has print, copy and fax services. Stay Smart in the heart of Richmond and check out our great Richmond hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Express Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing