We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safety First”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 5 April 2005

If you are at all familiar with South East DC you'll feel right at home at the Quality Inn and Suites on E. Cary Rd. in Richmond, VA.

We booked this trip sight unseen via the internet, realized we weren't in Kansas anymore as we approached the general area.

The parking garage features 6' ground clearance, which leads to aggravating antenna slapping

against low hanging water pipes with alarming frequency ... is my antenna still attached?

On the plus side, there are a great many closed circuit cameras strategically placed in the

garage that play on the lobby TV. Those serve as a wonderful distraction from the abundant

stains on the carpet.

The furniture in the rooms is old and needs to be replaced. The power went out after midnight.

Take a guess on whether or not the alarm clocks had battery backup. If you guessed no, you are

correct. The tv had cable ... the remote control was missing the battery cover.

In the interest of full disclosure, the rooms are large. The bed was comfortable. Overall the

room and bathroom were clean. Wet water (cold and hot) flowed from the faucets and shower head.

I would not stay at this hotel again.

ever.

  • Stayed: April 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MikeinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 254 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
28
Reviewed 20 August 2004

Nice, large room at very reasonable price. Good continental breakfast. Fitness room isn't much, and some of the equipment wasn't working. Overall for the low price it was good value.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Jacksonville, FL
13
Reviewed 2 May 2003

Very disappointed! Stayed at this hotel last year and wrote raving reviews about the service and staff! The management and staff have changed and are not customer friendly. They try to make the customer feel like it is the customer's fault for the management's inability to properly manage the hotel. Poor management and service!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 March 2002

I stayed there for 2 nights. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The service was great.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reneb623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank RossK966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank misaacx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BadalPTL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
943 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond I 64 West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond

Address: 201 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-3736
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £103 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in downtown Richmond offers quality and convenience. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond, VA. Located in the heart of historic Richmond's River District, we offer corporate and leisure guests the best of the past and the future. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient Richmond, VA accommodations. Our hotel, situated in the heart of downtown Richmond, is close to businesses such as Wachovia Securities, the Virginia Biotechnology Research Park, Altria, Philip Morris, SunTrust Bank and Mead Westvaco, as well as other Fortune 500 companies. Virginia Commonwealth University is six blocks away. The Greater Richmond Convention Center is .4 miles. Your family will love staying at our hotel in Richmond, VA, located on Cary Street, because we are close to the Virginia Capitol Building, the Children's Museum and the Museum & White House of the Confederacy. Other nearby sights include the Virginia Holocaust Museum, the Landmark Theatre and VCU's Siegel Center. The Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens offers visitors natural Virginia beauty at its finest. When you stay with us, you'll enjoy deluxe amenities including a 24-hour fitness center and a free Express Start breakfast. The free high-speed, wireless Internet access will keep you connected. The 24-hour business center has print, copy and fax services. Stay Smart in the heart of Richmond and check out our great Richmond hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Express Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing