We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for a stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
San Diego
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fine for a stopover”
Reviewed 16 September 2006

This hotel is in downtown Richmond. I booked it to be fairly close to the downtown tourist attractions. During the day the area is full of business people at work, but at night the area is fairly empty. As a solo traveler, I decided not to venture out after dark. The parking garage is an extra $7 but well worth the price since parking on the street is scarce after 6pm. The free continental breakfast is fine. If I were to visit this area again, I would not stay downtown even though it meant driving a little further to get to the attractions.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Didn't feel safe outside after dark
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndySD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    94
    53
    16
    14
See reviews for
56
56
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2006

Stayed here one night in January for Martina McBride concert. The room was terrific, clean, large, well lit. Parking Garage was sufficient - roof is very low - but sufficient for my SUV and provided off the street parking. Nice little diners very close for late night meals and such. Staff were friendly. Would stay here again. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2006

This was my first visit to Richmond and I wanted to stay in the historic district w/ in walking distance to the sites and Shockoe Slip and Shockoe Bottom. Therefore, The Quality Inn was a good value choice. It doesn't have any character but our room was large, clean, modern, convenient and w/ free wireless high speed internet. Any other hotel in the historic district was priced much higher. (However, I later learned about the Massad House, only a few streets away that is budget-priced and has free parking---it's not reviewed yet on TA, so I'd be interested to learn what people have to say about it). Ask at the front desk for directions to the Canal Walk and Belle Isle, a short walk away---that's a nice walking tour, and then head toward Shockoe Slip for food and drinks. Richmond was a good city to sleep overnight enroute driving south on 95---there's not a lot to do unless you're really into Civil War history, but the water walk was pretty and the Shockoe districts had yummy food. Richmond looks like it has a number of grand, historic, and expensive hotels, but if you're on a budget, The Quality Inn offers a decent enough standard of comfort and value. Given the price and location, I rate it above average.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sphynxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 May 2006

My boss and I stayed at this Quality Inn and when we left we both knew we would never return to this Inn or any other Quality Inn. The first night of our stay the fire alarm in my room was sounding off for a new battery replacement. I called the front desk and was told to "just take the battery out of the fire alarm." I asked him what if a fire started how would I be alerted? He stated "out in the hallway was an alarm and he proceeded to make the sound of the fire alarm system in the hallway." The last night of our stay my boss wanted a soft drink, so in the Vending Machine area she goes and finds the soda machine "broken" or "vandalized". We call the front desk once again and inform them of the situation. The attendent for this night informed us that the machine was not broken but that the vendor would be in tomorrow to re-fill them on all floors.

The rooms were dirty, the elevator floors were ripped up, the staff was irritating and not helpful in the least. This location is In need of serious repairs.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 January 2006

My sister and I have stayed at this hotel two years in a row while in Richmond for the Maymont Flower Show. It is always clean. The price is hard to beat and the staff has never been anything other than professional and courteous.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2005

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for one night November 23, 2005 - the day before Thanksgiving. We liked the room, clean and cosy, it had everything you may need on a trip: from the fridge and microwave to the guides to Richmond. The staff was friendly and attentive. There were lots of cafes and reastaurants near by. For us it was economy accomodation choice which appeared to have all the above economy features. We certainly are going to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trabelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2005

I negotiated a wonderful rate for a long-term stay ($45 a night) and was not disappointed. This is an old bank building converted into a hotel. The hotel is, therefore, relatively new. Walls are thick and rooms are quiet. Rooms vary in size, because the building was -not- constructed as a hotel. As one reviewer noted, the garage is a bit odd (very low ceilings), but who cares? It keeps your car out of the hot Richmond summers. I had a 2-room suite; 2 new televisions, a brand new Serta bed (one of the best beds I've ever had at a hotel), new furniture, and a very nice, modern, well-lit bathroom. Also had a microwave, refrigerator, and coffeemaker, all attended to and cleaned daily. Breakfast was more than adequate. The hotel is not a gorgeous piece of architecture, for sure...but for a great rate right downtown in a safe, substantial, relatively new building, you can't beat the Quality Inn.

  • Stayed July 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank radio71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
0.2 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
991 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Richmond - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond

Property: Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond
Address: 201 East Cary Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel in downtown Richmond offers quality and convenience. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express in downtown Richmond, VA. Located in the heart of historic Richmond's River District, we offer corporate and leisure guests the best of the past and the future. Business travelers can appreciate our convenient Richmond, VA accommodations. Our hotel, situated in the heart of downtown Richmond, is close to businesses such as Wachovia Securities, the Virginia Biotechnology Research Park, Altria, Philip Morris, SunTrust Bank and Mead Westvaco, as well as other Fortune 500 companies. Virginia Commonwealth University is six blocks away. The Greater Richmond Convention Center is .4 miles. Your family will love staying at our hotel in Richmond, VA, located on Cary Street, because we are close to the Virginia Capitol Building, the Children's Museum and the Museum & White House of the Confederacy. Other nearby sights include the Virginia Holocaust Museum, the Landmark Theatre and VCU's Siegel Center. The Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens offers visitors natural Virginia beauty at its finest. When you stay with us, you'll enjoy deluxe amenities including a 24-hour fitness center and a free Express Start breakfast. The free high-speed, wireless Internet access will keep you connected. The 24-hour business center has print, copy and fax services. Stay Smart in the heart of Richmond and check out our great Richmond hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Downtown Richmond Hotel Richmond
Holiday Inn Express Richmond
Holiday Inn Richmond
Richmond Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing