We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
Ranked #38 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
“Excellent Service!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My stay at this hotel was great. My room was clean and very comfortable. Khan was the customer service representative at the front desk and was wonderful, welcoming and very friendly. He went out of his way to ensure that my stay was comfortable. All this made my stay very enjoyable. Everything including the rest of the office staff, the management and the room service was also excellent. I would recommend this place and definitely plan to stay at this hotel the next time I visit Richmond.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samreenpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. It is always great to hear a guest received “Excellent Service”. Your positive comments on Khan and the rest of my staff are what we strive for. Your recommendation is very much appreciated. With our new rooms and quality we provide a great value. We pride ourselves in being customer service focused and providing clean rooms for our many guests. Have a great Spring & we hope to see you soon on your next travels to Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    116
    61
    36
    33
See reviews for
106
92
51
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Okatie, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our stay at the Red Roof Inn - Richmond South was a good one. The room was clean. The staff was friendly. No frills, definitely, but good for an overnight. Thanks to Janet for welcoming us and allowing us to park in a good spot with our moving van and trailer. Thanks to Tamika for sending us off with a smile. The only suggestion I have is for the main office to have a microwave available for those patrons who don't have a superior room with a microwave in their room. Thanks Red Roof Richmond South!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I very much appreciate your comments on our service, quality, and hospitality. It is always a pleasure to hear positive comments on my staff and their service. Janet, Tamika, & the rest of the staff look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your suggestion, I will make sure the desk knows that they can give access to our break room that has a microwave guests can use. Have a very nice Spring, when it finally gets here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel, which tells you that it can't be too bad. I'm not in love with neighborhood, but it's okay (I've stayed in far worse). It's handy to the I-95, McDonalds, and gas stations. Unfortunately, this stay had a few little glitches. Our toilet sporadically flushed itself, and the bathroom drain that was so blocked that taking a shower was more like taking a bath. The staff are pleasant, though, and the rooms are comfortable and fairly quiet. It has free WiFi. For the price I think it's a good wee hotel. Should we find ourselves spending another night in Richmond, we'd stay here, again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for staying with us again and sharing your experience. Many guests like our easy access off I-95 & our rates, especially with our new room styles. I sincerely apologize for the plumbing issues during your stay. If you did not report it during your stay I would be interested in which room you stayed in so I can make sure the problem has been corrected, you can email me at i0086@redroof.com. I appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels land you in Richmond for the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osceola, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I don't know what room s the previous people were staying in but they certainly weren't the ones that we looked at. first room had bugs in the sheets. Second room was dirty and heat didnt work well. The rug had not been vacuumed. The back of the bed was filthy with dirty tissues and other junk .the third room was also dirty but the heat worked. The front desk lady was very nice and accommodating. Management did take the cost of the room off of my bill but said he checked the room and there were no bugs. I would not of moved into three rooms believe me if there wasn't something terribly wrong with them. I know what I squished in the bed sheets. There is also no reason for 3 rooms to be dirty. Even though there was no charge for the room I wanted the next customers to be wear and check out the rooms before you pay for them. Sorry, GM but I have to tell it like it was. I do appreciate you taking it off my bill

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 3333reno3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at our inn. With the recent update of our rooms our goal is to not only meet the guest’s expectations but exceed them. I can assure you that we take pest issues very seriously & had that room professionally inspected. I have spoken to my team to remind them all that we most provide the best experience possible to our guests from the front office to the quality of our rooms. It is our hope that you will accept our apology and give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed one night on a road trip. It was a surprisingly nice place. The room was very, very clean, nicely appointed (for a Red Roof Inn) and spacious. The beds were comfortable. The hotel backs up to the highway but was quiet at night. We heard almost no road noise. The price made it a high value situation. No coffee in the room, but there is a McDonald's on the corner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charidawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. Your positive comments are much appreciated by the staff and me. We pride ourselves in being a “good stopover point” for many of our customers – providing clean and comfortable rooms for those just passing through. We hope you stay with us again on your next trip through Richmond. Have a great New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Well we stayed here four or five times now, that we even request the room we like and get it just about every time. Its quite at night, the bed comfortable and the clerks at the front desk are accommodating. The only problem we seem to have with all Red Roof Inns is the coffee, they're not hot enough or they've ran out, also would be nice if they had a little refrigerator so if you requested milk they'd have it, but that seem to be an over all problem, There a subway on the back side and a MacDonald's across the street for quick snack.They also have room delivery, you can look it up in the room. The manager is also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyrebell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you very much for coming back to stay with us again & taking the time to share your experience. I see you are a regular contributor which makes your review even more special. “Another Great night sleep” is our goal. Next visit try one of our Deluxe 2 Bedded rooms or the Superior King which all include a microwave and little refrigerator. Over the next couple months we are adding irons, ironing boards, and hair dryers to all our Deluxe 2 bedded rooms. We are also in the process of adding more TV channels & some in HD. Thank you very much for your kind remarks on the staff and management, plus your recommendation. Have a great New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

here is my problem I like this hotel I stay here every week for work but this one worker is about to make me go somewhere else to stay . front desk clerk is named wala I believe he trys to make people think that they are stupid like I said I stay here a lot so I know where to place my key to keep it from dmagntizing I try to remain calim but when you try to explain things to this young man he don't want to hear what youhave to say and hen trys to talk over you and what really chaps my hide is then when he knows that you are upset he starts to snicker or laugh he is going to do this stuff with the wrong person and hes goig to get hurt nobody want to deal with going to your door with both hands full and your key not working because he never made the key for but one knight and you told him at check in that it was for two something needs to be done about this young man this is not the first time that I have had issiues with him so to avoid him I will check in when he is not working so I wont have to deal with his attuide I hope someone talks to him cause it will cause you to start losing busness if he dosnt stop his stuff. my name is Otis turner my company is t&b equipment

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sportyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for staying with us several times. I certainly want you to continue to stay with us and appreciate you giving us another opportunity. I would be very interested in talking with you during your next visit so we can take care of this issue. In the mean time I will be sharing this with that GSR to make sure we are providing proper service and hospitality to all of our guests. Please email me at i0086@redroof.com or call me at extension #402 during you next visit so we can discuss this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#44 of 81 in Richmond
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Hampton Inn Richmond South
#29 of 81 in Richmond
403 reviews
7.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Richmond Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn - Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Property: Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
Address: 4350 Commerce Rd, Richmond, VA 23234-2240
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Richmond South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South Hotel Richmond
Richmond Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing