We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“100 Percent Smoke Free and All New Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“100 Percent Smoke Free and All New Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very nice and clean room that is Pet Friendly. New
Furniture with very comfortable mattress. No Breakfast but Coffee at Front Desk. Also no Pool. Excellent Pizza Place callers Mr. Pizza. 3 Topping Large Pizza for $11.99 and they will deliver. Have stayed here 4 times

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank TheMarcoIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience from your stay with us & especially for returning several times. Our new upgraded rooms continue to get very good reviews & I am glad you share that feeling. Our pet policy does attract some great customers, especially when they stay FREE. Unfortunately we don’t offer some amenities like breakfast but that is how we keep our prices a little lower. We continually look for ways to improve our product and services while keeping prices in check with our competition. We did just add more TV channels and they look great as most are in HD. Thanks again for being a return customer. We hope to see you again the next time you need a place to stay in Richmond. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    116
    60
    35
    31
See reviews for
105
92
48
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

A half way point on a trip to NY is the Red Roof Inn off Route 95 in Richmond, VA. It is clean and accommodating. We have stayed at many Reds Roofs over the years and have only been disappointed once near Washington. Our reservation was honored to and from NY.The desk persons are friendly and efficient. Although we did not travel with our dogs we know that Red Roofs are pet friendly. A nearby dog show had many rooms taken by pet owners (usually in the rear so as not to annoy guests in the front rooms). We requested larger pillows and they were promptly delivered to our room. The towels were adequate and the bathroom shower and bath had hot water for bathing. There is coffee self served in the office and soda machines and snack dispensers located in the room where there is an ice dispenser. The price was reasonable for one night and AARP or AAA Senior discounts are honored. Two gas stations are at the corner one with a Mc Donald's. A sports bar restaurant is across the street and a Subway next door..
For price, quality and a decent clean room with TV, WIFI and clean sheets you cant do better than Red Roof Inn.

Room Tip: A double bed up front if available. Make reservations in advance because Red Roofs are usually fille...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your comments on our new upgraded rooms, cleanliness, and friendly service. Comments like “For price, quality, and a decent clean room …. you can’t do better than Red Roof Inns” are what we work hard for. Being a 20+ year employee I sincerely appreciate your dedication to our brand. Make sure you take advantage of our current promotion through August 31st – Stay 2 and get 1 FREE. I hope you are already a RediCard member. Have a great summer and hope we see you again soon on your next trip from NY to SC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night on a roadtrip up the east coast. We arrived after midnight, and were unable to book online at a discounted rate. The front desk attendee, Khan, was more then helpful and friendly. He was able to honor the online rate, even though it was no longer available online for that date. He made sure to give us a good room, and told us to come back and let him know how we liked it. Unfortunately he was gone by the time we left, but he was so great that we made a point to stay at the same hotel on our drive back. Room was clean and comfortable, located right off the express way yet room was quiet inside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmine1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us on your trip up the East coast and then coming back again on your return trip. Reading this experience & getting your recommendation means a lot to the staff and me. Your positive comments on my staff (Khan) and our rooms are very much appreciated. I will be sure to share this with him. We hope you had a great time on your trip along the beautiful East coast. We look forward to seeing you again in the future; the next time you need a place to overnight in Richmond. Have a great summer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Room looked clean but rugs were filthy....black from dirt. Toilet leaked water. Front desk clerk was great, tried to help us in any way she could. But every 30 seconds the toilet would run, lose a half cup of water. Had to rig inside to stop the flow. Beds were fairly comfortable. Towels needed to be bleached as they were stained. Room was nicely decorated. Wifi didn't work properly. Weak signal. Kept shutting itself off. Then wifi from surrounding businesses took over, then back to red roof. Mentioned the dirty rugs on checkout with little to no reaction. Fine for a night's sleep but wear slippers. Remember, no amenities like continental breakfast. No hair dryer in room.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I sincerely apologize for your experience not being above satisfactory here at my Inn. With the recent update of our rooms our goal is to not only meet the guest’s expectations but exceed them and in this case it seems that we did not. I have spoken to my team & shared this with them to make sure we are providing cleanliness that exceeds standards in all our rooms to compliment the changes. We also discussed the importance of reporting any maintenance issues so we can remedy before selling the room. In order to keep prices lower we don’t offer a continental breakfast but do have rooms that come with hair dryers, irons, and mini fridges. When sold out of those room types or to get a lower rate we do have hairdryers and irons almost always available at the desk. We are currently in the process of upgrading our WiFi and will hopefully have that completed in the next few months. It is our hope that you will accept our apology, know we will work on what needs attention, and give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

It is a budget motel and nothing fancy, but the room was clean, the bed was bouncy but firm, and nice plump pillows. The area feels safe and literally right by Hwy 95 ramps. We picked this motel because it's a stopping point for our further destination. So, we just needed a place to sleep for the night. We checked in at around 1:30am. The front desk attendant was very nice and courteous. Overall, we were happy with the quality in comparison to the price we paid.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LotusLight4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I very much appreciate your comments on our rooms, cleanliness, service & hospitality. We work hard to make sure our guests are delighted and we enjoy reading reviews like this that tell us you got “a good night sleep” at a good price. Our location is popular with many guests as we are easy to spot right off I-95 and just one “U- turn” from getting back on in the morning. Hope you and your family enjoyed your trip. Have a great summer and we look forward to seeing you again if your travels bring you to a stop in Richmond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at this room because of the reviews that I read here, and I'm glad that we did. It was a great start to our vacation. We stayed here on the night of June 28 in transit between Kings Dominion and the beach at the outer banks. We had our dog with us, and had a great, quiet stay in a clean room. Tamika at the front desk was awesome and helped us get some extra sheets, was very friendly and very polite. We had a wonderful stay. There was nothing extra here, just great customer service and a nice clean room. If that's what you are looking for, then I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure this morning to come in and the first thing I read was “Great clean room and pet friendly”. It started my day off just like your vacation started & thank you for that. We hope you had a great time at Kings Dominion and in the outer banks, it sounds like good family fun (which includes the dog). I appreciate your comments on my associate Tamika and am glad she was able to help make your stay wonderful. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again in the future when your travels require lodging in the Richmond area. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The rooms at this property have been renovated in the past two years. (Very nice updated),
Rooms have laminate flooring, flat screen tv's, upgraded bedding and furniture. Location is literally right off the Interstate 95 and next to Subway and McDonalds as well as gas stations. Expect 5-10 minute drive to downtown Richmond...about 4-5 miles. (Good location in my opinion)
Staff is friendly, coffee in the morning and good housekeeping staff. (room was clean!)
Ample parking and well lite area. I stayed here for two nights with my dog and felt safe and secure.
Have stayed at this location several times in the past 20 years and always left satisfied. One of the better Red Roof Inns. Judging by my experience it would suggest that the management is doing a great job; as well as the employees.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the interstate; these are most likely noisy. Side rooms as well as ones facing Comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 95traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience from your stay with us. I always enjoy hearing positive comments about my staff & property – especially from seasoned travelers. Thank you for the recommendation. Our new rooms with the laminate flooring are very popular with many guests as a change from full carpet. Our flat screens are nice, and now even better with our upgraded TV package (more channels) most of which is in HD. Our easy access off the intrastate takes some stress out of traveling. Our pet policy gives guest the FREEdom to bring your per at no extra cost which makes many guests very happy. Have a great summer and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you to Richmond for the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#38 of 81 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond South
Hampton Inn Richmond South
#29 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Richmond South
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn - Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Property: Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
Address: 4350 Commerce Road, Richmond, VA 23234
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Richmond
#27 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Richmond South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South Hotel Richmond
Richmond Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing