We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave It One More Try But Never Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 8 February 2006

I decided to give this hotel another chance due to its proximity to I-95 and Subway and a McDonalds and gas station. Again, unfortunately, the hotel left much to be desired. During my stay I again saw two ants---one on the table and one in my bed---and found another stray hair probably left by another guest. I also found a hair barrett on the floor near the door.

The heat in the room is an old system and it is not central heat. It took almost a full day for the room to heat up to a semi-comfortable temp and the fact that it was about 30 degrees outside overnight did not help. I checked in at approx 2 pm and had the heat on "full blast" all afternoon and night and when I checked out at 10 am the next morning, the room was barely room temperature.

The wallpaper was coming away from the wall in my room and the hotel has that old, lived-in and worn out look. The room is best classified as a dive that is only for the person on a very strict budget. Nobody should bring their wife or significant other to this hotel and definitely not the kids. Spend a few more dollars and get a better place to stay. While the front desk staff was friendly, they could not make up for the failings of this old hotel which is badly in need of updates and more careful cleaning.

Advice: do not stay here. Stay around the corner at the Candlewood Suites or try another exit off of I-95 altogether. I have given up on this hotel and it appears that management has also given up. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrueTripInfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 381 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Davidson, NC
13
Reviewed 4 December 2003

Couldn't get the room cleaned. Bathroom was not even cleaned. Tolit not cleaned two days in a row. Ask to have the sheets changed and it didn't happen.Cleaning crew woak me up early every morning with their load talking outside my room. It was more like YELLING! Not Pleased. Be aware!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: si vous voyager avec un chien je vous conseille le premier etage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jean pierre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ElenaMariney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: 住習慣一般飯店的人最好不要輕易嘗試美國這種公路旁的motel,太可怕了
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Alb-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenVincent, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Richmond South, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Richmond South-Bells Road
11.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#35 of 82 in Richmond
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond Airport
12.5 mi away
Quality Inn West End
Quality Inn West End
#47 of 82 in Richmond
240 reviews
7.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - North Chesterfield - Arboretum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn - Richmond South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Richmond South

Address: 4350 Commerce Rd, Richmond, VA 23234-2240
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price Range: £47 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Richmond South 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Richmond South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Richmond South Hotel Richmond
Richmond Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing