We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The One Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 13 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

went to richmond with my wife to visit a civil was museum."the one"is just short drive from where we wanted to go.the neighborhood is a mix of restored and homes in need of repair.the area right around the b and b might be best suited for folks a bit younger that us.we walked just a few steps to two very good resturants with a local vibe.just a few steps more would have taken us to a large shopping and eating area.the owners were away,but the inn sitters were very nice.the room was nicely decorated and clean.i can think of nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: "the one"is in a busy urban area near a collage,so young folks are seen and heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fogbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollyBTheOne, Owner at The One Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review!! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to an opportunity to meet you on your next visit to Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

We loved our stay here. The cozy sitting room was great when one of us was still asleep and the other was up and ready for coffee and reading early in the morning. We loved the up beat colors and attitude of our hostess. The house was so special. The many snacks and breakfast on our time was much appreciated too.
One of us walked to a Chiully glass exhibit at the beautiful museum while the other took the car to historical venues. We met back and walked to dinner all very satisfied with the afternoon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollyBTheOne, Owner at The One Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Thank you SO much for taking the time to write a review for us! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back and see us again should your travels bring you to Richmond!! All the best from The One!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My Husband and I spent one day in RVA for our Anniversary. I used to live in the 804 and love going back so when we found the B&B last mintue we jumped on it. i booked their Dream Room and it was great, it took me back to my apt yrs ago and so it was a bit bias to write this review.... either way, everything was great, the robes, own bathroom and the parlor had snacks and drinks to enjoy... very relaxing and prefect to just stay in and enjoy the bussle the city offers. its also close to both the Bottom, CaryTown, and in the Fan.

Breakfast...the breakfast was continental which is dissapointing because you think B&B and you picture a warm breakfast not cereal and begals. But it was a decent spread. it was a bit of a turn off that no real protien or sustance was provided but oh well.
If your ok with mini muffins and fruit then you'll be fine.

but overall very good, we will go back

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, either is good i believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFXTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollyBTheOne, Owner at The One Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we are thrilled to hear you will come back to see us again.

As mentioned on our website, at The One Bed and Breakfast we take a less formal approach to breakfast for a couple of reasons. First, we think you should enjoy breakfast at your leisure and on YOUR time schedule, not ours. Second, The One Bed and Breakfast is in a primary location within walking distance of some of Richmond's most beloved and popular brunch locations.

We serve our guests a hearty continental breakfast featuring gourmet cinnamon rolls, a variety of fresh muffins and breakfast pastries, a variety of fresh breads, english muffins, and bagels. You can also enjoy an assortment of fresh fruit, cereals, oatmeal, breakfast bars and yogurts, as well as hard boiled eggs to ensure our guests have a protein option for breakfast.

We are happy you enjoyed your visit and the great location within walking distance to many great Richmond favorites!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This was our first visit (parents and teen) to Richmond. We took both rooms and essentially had our own apartment in a great location in Richmond. Nicely decorated and appointed with many unexpected and much appreciated details - especially snacks and beverages available at any time. It was a very pleasant decor and the balconies were a great place to sit, relax and make plans. Bathrooms were separate, but private for each room and no problem for our group. Polly was just attentive enough without going overboard. She gave us touring ideas and information that enhanced our visit. As described, breakfast was simple, but fresh and more than adequate as we really wanted to get out and about. We were all so pleased with our choice. Everything was clean, comfortable and well thought out. The privacy, feeling of having our own place and great location were highlights. For our purposes it was just right and we would certainly go back to Richmond and The One.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartchicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollyBTheOne, Owner at The One Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments via TripAdvisor! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again on your next visit to Richmond!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We really enjoyed our visit. The room was great and we appreciated the outside entrance. Snacks and drinks were part of the package. The Virginia Museum of Fine Arts and many nice restaurants are within walking distance. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollyBTheOne, Owner at The One Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for the kind words! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Had a fantastic couple of nights at The One. As Polly was showing us around her beautiful home and stunning accommodation, my companion and I couldn't stop grinning at each other. It's a fabulous place. The room we had was wonderfully kitsch, beautifully decorated and came with a balcony for late night watching the world go by. Polly is completely charming and will do anything to help you. As other guests have mentioned the parlour was a revelation, heaving with snacks and goodies and an excellent and very necessary coffee machine. We loved staying at The One, it is deliciously quirky, full of character and, should I have occasion to go to Richmond again, definitely the place I'd be heading.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looby1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollyBTheOne, Owner at The One Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you SO much for the lovely review and kind words! It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope you have an opportunity to come visit us again someday!! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and others! it is greatly appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic 1-night stay at The One. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds are quite comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and clean. The lounge across the hall from the 2 bedrooms is open 24/7 and stocked with snacks, beverages (including beer and wine), and lots of helpful information about Richmond. The One is within walking distance to many shops and restaurants and Polly can give you excellent recommendations (mine: drinks and oysters at Can Can during happy hour!). I hope to have another reason to visit Richmond so that I can stay at The One again.

Room Tip: The Slumber Suite (blue room) has a larger shower, but faces the main road and is probably louder at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsam13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PollyBTheOne, Owner at The One Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The One Bed and Breakfast! It was truly a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to your next visit to Richmond!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
1.9 mi away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#6 of 82 in Richmond
1,074 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 82 in Richmond
1,300 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Berkeley Hotel
The Berkeley Hotel
#8 of 82 in Richmond
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Richmond/Glenside
2.2 mi away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
1.8 mi away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#9 of 82 in Richmond
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The One Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The One Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1 N Boulevard, Richmond, VA 23220-4301
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range: £98 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best Of Richmond 2015! Enjoy all of the comforts of home on Richmond's historic Boulevard. In the heart of Richmond's Museum and Fan Districts, The One is surrounded by some of the cities greatest attractions all within walking distance! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing