We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's All About the Catfish”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama J's Kitchen

Mama J's Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 1,602 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's All About the Catfish”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

My family of four, including two tween boys, enjoyed our meal here last week. The staff was warm and welcoming to regulars and tourists alike. We tried a variety of items, and hands down, the fried catfish was a standout. We also enjoyed the pork chops, corn muffins, collard greens and mac n cheese. The cakes looked amazing but we didn't have room!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    129
    33
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“If you have to choose one restaurant in Richmond-go here”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We never line up for food but having read the reviews we decided to wait. It was well worth it. We ate very well - 2 seats at the bar came up and we took them. The food was excellent. The lady behind the bar was hospitable and friendly. We had the fried chicken and the spare ribs. We felt welcomed and well fed and the price was very reasonable. Nothing to fault this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_atoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do not miss this, so good”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I had tried to eat here previously but the line was out the door so we put together a party of 8 to come early and get a reservation. Everyone of the party raved about each different entree. The fried catfish was amazing, one piece is enough but you can get two. I had the roasted port terderloin special with roasted potatoes, yummy. The prices are incredibly low. Although there is another restaruant claiming comfort food around the corner, Mama Js is better and less expensive. I reccomend the mac and cheese, collard greens, green beans and mashed potato sides. Bring a crowd to get a reservation and come early both to lunch and dinner. Try and carpool if possible, parking is challenging.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tuscanytomorrrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My Oh My”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Mama J's definitely does not disappoint! Having read all the reviews, the bar was set very high and they hit and surpassed it. I opted for a salad as I'm watching my waistline but there was plenty to steal from on the other plates. My chef salad was delicious, plenty of bacon, ham, chicken, cheese and egg to balance out the lettuce! We started with the friend shrimp and the catfish bites appetizer - don't miss the pepper sauce on top of the latter! Was lucky enough to sample the fried chicken too.

The service was friendly and fast, as other reviewers reported. MamaJ herself said hello and welcomed us. All around awesome place to swing into!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MomOf2_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Soul Food”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have been here visiting from Maryland. A group of us VPs decided to get some soul food. The chicken wings were amazing. The grilled pork chops were tender and juicy. The macaroni and cheese wasn't as cheesy as normal and the server said it depends on who is cooking. The server had a less than welcoming attitude, but the food was worth the lack luster service. I will try again with a different server.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrLaurie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama J's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mama J's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing