We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama J's Kitchen

Mama J's Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kentucky
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very possibly the best catfish ever ! And I have eat a lot of catfish. Very small, but quite unique Friendly staff. Food takes a while to get to table but well worth the wait! Don't visit Richmond without going to Mam J's!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank realfan112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    126
    33
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RICHMOND, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just as good as home cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

read plenty of reviews on Mama J's. We decided to try it out, for a late father's day lunch (on a Sunday). I recommend others to arrive early because the wait could be 30 mins or more and the line is a bit long. There's really no waiting area. The restaurant dining area is cozy and a nice ambiance. As our waitress was taking the order, we mention it was our first visit. She mention the items were a la carte and recommend the fried catfish, crab cakes, mac & cheese, seafood salad and candied yams. Like the previous posts, the serving were large and seasoned well. The peach cobbler and banana bread was good. The cakes were a bit dry and hefty. Overall the staff were awesome. We'll definitely visit again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DREAMA06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Had a great lunch in a very crowded semi-upscale restaurant on North First St which is on the North side of Broad Street in downtown Richmond. The service was great, the hostess very interesting and elegant and the food was very good. Parking is not easy and they also do catering.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobooVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmville, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

You can't beat a visit to Mama J's. The place is rather small,
and there's usually a line, but the food is definitely worth the
wait. The catfish and collards are a must. The servings are
large, but make sure and save room for dessert. The peach
cobbler can easily serve 3 people, and the slices of cake are
huge as well. The service here is also as good as the food.
If you want good home cooking in downtown Richmond, this
is definitely the place to go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra57726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond, va
Level Contributor
266 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have eaten here 5 times, I have stopped ordering the collards, every time mine were tough and had sugar in them, I like mine with ham, not sweet. Baked chicken is good, catfish good, pork roast and pork chop good. I find the Mac and cheese bland and not creamy. The rolls and muffins are good but don't expect real butter, they serve country crock. Green beans and cabbage good. I am a southern girl, I grew up on these staples, so therefore I hold a higher standard. Service is always great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank susan822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama J's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mama J's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing