We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfort food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama J's Kitchen

Mama J's Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“comfort food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great food, excellent prices, very friendly staff. They are always busy so you may have to wait to be seated but overall experience and food are well worth the wait.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank K.T. J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    126
    33
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to eat, true southern cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Loved this place. Great food and staff. It was a bit hard to find but worth the wait. We will be eating here more often.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Best Soul Food in Richmond....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Everything is great about this restaurant from the friendly staff to the good ol' home cooking. Prices are very reasonable and this place is popular. Get there early or be prepared to wait for a table. It''so worth it. Owned and operated by African American family and they make EVERYONE feel welcome. Absolutely loved the stafff and food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterTravel1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great good and southern charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

While on business in Richmond, I asked the bellman at my hotel where he eats in town. He suggested Mama J's and I wasn't disappointed. Amazing catfish, greens, macaroni and cheese casserole, topped off with a huge wedge of the still-warm rum cake. I've been back twice and it's my must-have in Richmond.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
“The best southern cuisine I've EVER had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The fried catfish is to die for. The fried chicken is addicting! All the sides were delicious. Never heard so many "mmmmm"s or "u have to try this!" before. And the staff made us feel at home. Prices are a steal. This is just what we needed. I recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie_gatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mama J's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Mama J's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing