We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Dining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amour Wine Bistro

Amour Wine Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Amour Wine Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 1,594 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sewickley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
179 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We discovered this 3 year old restaurant in Carytown last year and so were eager to return. And we were not disappointed! From the apricot, chives and garlic spread over their freshly heated bread, to a daily special Black Forest ham tartine and a wonderful crocque monsieur, accompanied by a wonderful white burgendy, we had a magnificent lunch!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    10
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A real 'find' for LUNCH !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Upon a weekend visit to Richmond, VA, my wife and I decided to explore the Carytown Shopping District. Not long after parking-up we realized we were hungry and looked for a place to eat LUNCH. Right by us was The Amour Wine Bistro and after we'd had a cursory glance inside we decided we would stay. We were seated in the front window, which was a great place for natural light and people-watching. There were no other diners when we arrived and only one more couple arrived during the whole time we were there...an hour or so, over the main lunch period. This was a real shame for the owner and his staff as the restaurant was beautifully clean, with crisp table linen and fresh flowers on the tables too. Their French breads were really authentic, along-with the 'spread' they came with. We chose baguette sandwiches and the Owner (who IS FRENCH and from Strasburg....see comment from "evey w") made a recommendation to us for an accompanying wine. This turned-out to be really good :-) Why this restaurant was not packed at LUNCHTIME, I have no idea. We had a lovely meal and felt 'special' the whole time we were there. Merci beaucoup, Monsieur le Patron ! Nous reviendrons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saturn5man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“American yes, French, not so.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Not sure that the previous reviewers have ever experienced classic French food.

Sadly, this restaurant does a disservice to the French and their cuisine.
Bland seasoning, poorly executed and uninspired execution.
The true classic, escargots, flavorless.
Manager/Owner ? constantly hovering.
Decent wines.
No atmosphere or vibe to speak of.
Not worth a return visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank evey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good meal in Richmond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

After having read the reviews here I decided to take my parents for Father's Day. The menu is very nice, not extensive but more than adequate, and the prix fixe menu is a reasonable price. You have three levels of wine pairings to fit your budget. We did the middle level and the wines were all very good.

In general the food was quite good. I would not say it was as spectacular as some have said but it is a solid meal. Some standouts were the sweetbreads, they were perfectly cooked, and the duck breast.

All in all it is a good place and well worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMSamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

I have only been here three times but I can't wait to go back! I just love Paul the owner and he makes it such a great experience. He's very friendly and great at explaining the food choices. We went for my family birthday celebration (we are all born in the same month) last year for the coursed meals. It was a pretty penny for the 5 of us to eat, but well worth it. This is definitely a special occassion type of place as this is expensive. However, my husband and I recently went there for dessert and after dinner drinks and had a lovely time sitting at the bar and talking to Paul. We shared homemade sorbet and some bellini's. Soooo yummy! Be careful with the bellini's because they'll put you on your butt (we only had 2 a piece!). I can't wait to go again for an actual meal because he pairs wine with each course and it's just awesome!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbedall03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amour Wine Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Amour Wine Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing