We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local eatery”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Franklin Inn

The Franklin Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Franklin Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #292 of 1,602 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: US$8 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
215 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good local eatery”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very friendly staff; delicious hush puppies; good food; cozy setting with indoor and outdoor seating. Draft beers, wine & liquor available.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ekejdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simply amazing!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

While on a recent business trip to Richmond I was amazed to find this amazing place. I had been joined by my wife and one year old son for this trip. My son had 'picked' himself out a driving cap earlier in the day and as we walked across the threashold, the locals in the place turned and warmly greeted us. It made me feel like Norm! The booths are tight but cozy and the food is warm and inspired. The hostess/server was quite accomodating to our little man and the penne pasta and house meatloaf hit the spot. Great base menu with good specials.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBoo80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Join the Locals at this Little Gem”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We ate here after a long day of sightseeing in Richmond. The Franklin Inn is a small neighborhood eatery that says they have switched from sandwiches to a small menu of made from scratch dishes and daily specials. Paper menus offered a limited but diverse selection and the establishment welcomed comments on their fresh new offerings. The atmosphere was one of quiet neighborhood conviviality, and we felt comfortable joining the mix. We both had the salmon, rice pilaf,and mixed vegetables special and found it delicious. Everything was fresh and flavorful, and our waitress was attentive and friendly without being intrusive. The prices were very reasonable. This place made me want to move to this neighborhood in a very delightful foodie town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chachasamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super!”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We called last minute to see if we could get in and they were very accommodating. Amazing food, service and atmosphere. Nice comfortable neighborhood feel. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank FC2YQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly local spot”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a small restaurant bar run by friendly people. The menu isn't huge but there's enough variety for just about anyone. I've enjoyed the burger and the rueben was great. Wednesday is pasta night and the portions are generous with a nice portion of protein - fish, chicken or beef. Daily specials are posted on the blackboard outside. The crab bites and hush puppies are a good appetizer but my favorite is hummus and veggies. Good service. There's brunch on Saturday and Sunday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nola2ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Franklin Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Franklin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing