We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend an afternoon!”

Real Richmond Food Tours
Ranked #6 of 15 Food & Drink in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come along with REAL RICHMOND Food Tours, as we help visitors and residents alike navigate the culinary and cultural riches that RVA has to offer. Taste and see why Saveur, The New York Times and other national press raves about our cuisine scene. Since 2010, our food tours through architecturally and historically interesting Richmond neighborhoods such as Shockoe Slip, Shockoe Bottom, Church Hill, Carytown, Museum District, Scott's Addition, Manchester, the Fan, Jackson Ward, and the West End let guests see the behind-the-scenes scene in several Richmond restaurants food/beverage purveyors and sample delicious creations at each of the several stops. Our walking tour routes cover 1.5 Miles of ground, and we do walk rain or shine. We offer private tours, including Capital of the Confectionery, a riverfront one and a Lincoln-themed tour and can customize tours to suit your group.
Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our group of 9 loved the Real Richmond food tour that we took a few days ago! Our tour guide, Maureen, shared tons of interesting facts about Richmond history and made the tour both interesting and a lot of fun for all. The food was abundant, unique and wonderful combinations of great flavors. Overall, our favorite stop was at Citizen - it was so fun getting to talk with the owner and try his creations. I would recommend this tour to anyone who likes to try new foods and wants to learn some of Richmond's history. We will definitely come back again!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank M0m0f3S0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
234 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Tasty Treats”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had a great time last weekend on the Shockoe Bottom tour. I had been to Shockoe Bottom many times for the nightlife several years ago but never during the day for the food. There are many great food establishments I never even know existed.
The restaurants we visisted were all great. My favorite being LuLus.
The amount of food we sampled was more than enough to sub as your lunch.
Can't wait to try a different part of the city next time. We live an hour from Richmond so taking the food tours really gets us into the city and we are not just milling around wondering where to eat.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Intro to the Neighborhood and Its Offerings”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We went on the Church Hill tour yesterday and had a grand time. The weather was perfect, of course -- that can't be guaranteed -- but the tour was well-organized and informative. We live nearby and know the neighborhood fairly well, but it was interesting to walk the route and hear each bakery/restaurant/market describe their products and talk about their goals. Unlike several of the earlier reviews, I can't say history was a major feature. Church Hill is very historic (Patrick Henry's speech at St. John's Church, the naming of Richmond, many historic homes, and an interesting sociogram of the city's ethnography and economic fluctuations), these topics were only touched on lightly and the focus was on the food, the neighborhood's renaissance and cohesion, and its proximity to other neighborhoods. The samples at each destination were generous and well-thought-out, offering people of varying tastes and dietary preferences plenty of options over the hours we were together. We'll look forward to visiting more neighborhoods here and to looking into similar tours in other cities.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NeitherHereNorTher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Friendly, Charming and Tasty tour of Richmond”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I was lucky enough to join this tour last weekend while visiting Richmond for my brother's graduation. I had been to Richmond once before for a few short days but hadn't seen much of the city besides a few strip malls and some of the wooded neighbourhoods. My goal with taking the tour was to discover some of Richmond's off the beaten path culinary character and also and as importantly, learn about the city's history and current culture beyond food.

In no way was I disappointed!

Maureen Egen, the owner and Chief Tour Guide is a lovely woman, both knowledgeable and warm at once and a sincere ambassador for the city. She runs several tours that cover various Richmond neighbourhoods (which I'd love to take if I have the opportunity to return to the Richmond area in the future) and she is a keen observer of the foodie and cultural scenes throughout the town. Her hospitality and welcoming disposition alone are worth the journey.

Apart from delicious pulled pork, down home Sweet Tea, decadent milk shakes, pillowy soft bread pudding, and soul food mac and cheese, this tour also covers some of Richmond's past history as a major slave trading and holding area, it's important role in the civil war (great stories about Abe Lincoln- both the real one and the Daniel Day Lewis variety included) and exciting artistic mural projects taking place throughout the area.

You'll leave this tour well fed, entertained and with a list of new eateries to return to as well as a much more intimate sense of Richmond's character.

If you're planning a trip to Richmond for any reason, make sure this is part of your itinerary:)

thanks Real Richmond!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TruBahamianFoodTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VCU Food Tour--a great time!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We went on the the VCU Richmond Food Tour this March. Although the weather was a bit cold, it was a sunny day, and a great time to walk around and see the architecture, the people, and to taste some hot food. Our guide, Leah, knew a lot of interesting "local lore," and was friendly and patient. We sampled Sally Bell's cupcakes, My Noodle & Bar, Big's BBQ, Ipanema, Harvest Grocery & Supply, and Balliceaux. It was well worth it, and in spite of the fact that my wife and I eat out all the time, almost all of this was new to us. Kudos to Real Richmond Food Tours!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Real Richmond Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Real Richmond Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing