We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great service, needs a better room...”
Review of C'est Le Vin

C'est Le Vin
Reserve with OpenTable
C'est Le Vin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #838 of 1,603 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: US$30 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: E Franklin St
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, needs a better room...”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Visited on Friday date night, early before a movie. Greta small plates and interesting wines. We split the cheese plate, the seared polenta and the seafood lettuce wraps. All were nicely presented in perfect tapas portions. Lots of places claim to be doing small plates these days, but there's a difference between small potions and a tapas menu meant to share. Washed it all down with a nice Albarino. We were wanly and got seated right away, our waiter was attentive but not over bearing. He brought the food as we ordered. Overall a great experience. I just think the room could be a little nicer, maybe put in some booths. It kind of looks like an empty space converted to a restaurant by putting in cheap tables. Definitely could do away with paper napkins! I'll leave judgement on the artwork on the walls up to individual taste, but it's not something that I'd hang. Overall, a good food and wine experience, but more upscale ambiance is needed to match both the service and what's coming out of the kitchen.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BernardAugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wine bar needs to know wines”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Interesting location, the food is good but the service very poor. A lot of wines on the list not available, the waitress knew nothing about wines. The evening was saved by the manager.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great date night spot!”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My fiancé and I have been to C'est le vin two times now, and both times have been superb. I love the tapas style of eating, and being able to sample tons of items. Don't miss the cheese plate or the amazing garlic shrimp. It's has great ambiance and is the perfect spot to be able to talk without it being too loud. We've had great service so far (but not intrusive like some places). Highly recommend!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnaEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RUDE SERVICE -ASKED TO LEAVE B/C I DID NOT ORDER FOOD.”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Horrible, decided to check this place out this spot on Free poetry night. The waitress was extremely...RUDE!!! As I was listening to the poetry...the waitress told us if we did not order food we had to leave. Ended up walking out!
Would not recommend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cute, but simple.”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We made reservation for Friday night at 7pm. We were seated right away. The interior is simple and could use a bit ambience. The hostess was super sweet and we were provided a flight tasting after we checked in using yelp!
The menu comes in small plates and larger shared plate options. The food was good, but not amazing. What was amazing were the prices on the wine list! Wow, delicious bottles for $25? Amazing.
Also, during dinner there was a small Spanish guitar band that played lovely music.
We enjoyed our meal here, but could have used something a bit more lively with the crew we were in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoAly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C'est Le Vin also viewed

 

Been to C'est Le Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing