We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food.”

Sunday Champagne Brunch at the Jefferson Hotel
Ranked #73 of 1,612 Restaurants in Richmond
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great service and food.”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This place was beautiful. I was impressed with the quartet playing and also the ice sculpture in the food line. Your choice of breakfast on one side and dinner items on the other. In the middle of the room, they had a variety of petite deserts available. When you first sit down you are served champagne, or choice of coffee, or both. Our service was excellent.

Food was great. So many different food items to choose from. Menu items can be found on their website.
My favorite was the marinated salmon, tri tipped beef, brie cheese, poached egg, and all the small deserts.. And of course the unlimited mimosa’s.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    14
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daegu, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Special Occassiin must”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt special... the greeting and wonderful smile we received from the valet, which is free to brunch guests, to the very warm and courteous service we received from our waiter to the patience of the hostess who graciously took multiple photographs. Loved that we could reserve our table during reservation, which we made over a month ago that looked down from the mezzanine to the numerous food stations and the champagne flowed. Made to order omelettes and waffles, sirloins of pork/ beef, salmon. mussels, clams, jumbo shrimp, eggs benedict, spoon bread, veggies, potatoes, grits and a very large dessert station chocolate mousse, carrot, red velvet, chocolste cakes, pies, mini creme brulee, pastries,... I can go on and on. The hotel was built in 1860 and the columns, tremendous high ceilings, stain glass windows (and ceilungs)and lighting really reflect that time period without being overly pretentious. It's pricey, I think it was $45 pp, and while you don't want to show up too casual opt for some comfortable shoes and don't forget your camera. We plan to go back during the holidays... reservations should be made in June.

Helpful?
3 Thank Peters365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Could Heaven even be this good ?”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Champagne, Incredibly Elegant Setting, Delicious Food,
Gracious Service. You would have to travel to Peacock Alley at the Waldorf=Astoria in New York City to find anything close.

Heavenly !



Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank marcusexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jefferson Brunch”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We couldn't get a reservation but we showed up to look at the tree and asked while we were there if there was an opening ! There was ! Way too much food but all of it excellent and we enjoyed seeing Santa and Mrs.Claus. So my suggestion is to always try for a table.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elonmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow Factor!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This bunch is a must-do, for everyone from locals to those visiting from out-of-town. We went the Sunday after Christmas and the holiday decorations can't be beat (don't forget to stop by the lobby to see the annual Gingerbread creation!). Yes, this is a buffet in the sense that you will carry your plate to your table, however I assure you this not like any other buffet you've ever been to. The choices appeal to everyone with the made-to-order omelet station to oysters on the half shell (complete with an ice sculpture!). And be sure to save room for desserts, again they are nothing short of amazing! This is definitely a splurge place, but so worth it! Chris was our "server" and he was attentive (our champagne glasses never dropped below half full) and entertaining, without interrupting our group. If you haven't been to the Sunday brunch, you are missing out. Don't delay, get on the phone and make those resies today! (Valentines Day is just around the corner!!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VABuckeye_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunday Champagne Brunch at the Jefferson Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Sunday Champagne Brunch at the Jefferson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing