We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maymont

Maymont
Ranked #2 of 168 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Maymont is a 100-acre American estate, an extraordinary gift given to the community by James and Sallie Dooley who lived there from 1893 to 1925. Whether strolling in the gardens, touring the mansion or petting a goat, there is something for everyone to enjoy.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Springfield
Level Contributor
143 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

The gardens are beautiful especially Italian and Japanese gardens You will see roses and other flowers, waterfalls, and sculptures.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 649001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,152
    306
    35
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Visit to Italian and Japanese Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Only had time for a short visit to the Maymont so my wife and I viewed the Italian and Japanese gardens. The park is maintained by donations ($5 recommended) and so does not appear to as well maintained as the Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden we visited the day before but is still worth a look see..

Maymont is more a place to hike then a leisurely walk. There are are alot of stairs to get between the gardens - up and down a steep hill - with the Italian garden being at the upper level and the Japanese garden at the lower level. The smooth rounded wooden bridges of the Japanese garden can also be a bit of a challenge to walk on with regular flat street shoes. Sneakers or good walking shoes for rough terrain is recommended. Of course I came unprepared with regular dress shoes during my visit and I found the easiest path up and down was the huge stone staircase next to a waterfall to the Japanese garden.

The Italian garden with is fountains and stone work was very impressive to see. The lakes, waterfalls and wooden bridges of Japanese garden were equally beautiful. One part of the lake has a stone lily pad trail you can walk on to cross over a section of the lake to an island. We saw kids having fun playing in the waterfalls.

After visiting the Japanese garden, If you follow the trail for several minutes you can visit a small cactus garden and it will eventually lead you to the zoo. We walked far enough that we saw the cactus garden and a bear playing with a floaty in the lake at the start of the zoo and then headed back to our car. From this point on the trial there are a steep wooden staircase over rustic terrain that can lead you back up the hill, but we walk back to the stone staircase as our way back up as you can do it in normal flat street shoes

Maymont has several parking lots, but the lot closest to these gardens is on Hampton St and is a right turn just below the intersection of Dakota Ave and Hampton St. .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank W8LT3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatlinburg, TN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maymont”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

This is a very nice place to visit. Garens not quite as nice as Lewis Ginter, but lots of extras besides just garden. Take time to visit the house which is cool, the nature center for great exhibits, the petting zoo we bypassed so cant comment there, but other wildlife exhibits were good. Well worth the 5 hours (and the donation for entrance) it took to see everything.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank busywifeandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always dependable to impress out of town visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

I can always trust the Japanese and Italian gardens to impress my most finicky of out of town visitors. We were able to go on a beautiful Sunday morning and not take too long.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank QuietVisiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Definitely Worthwhile & Worth A Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

We always enjoy seeing animals, wild and domestic. Maymont has a variety and there's many things to see at this estate within the city of Richmond. We focused on the Nature Center and enjoyed it very much. The grounds are well kept and the animal areas very clean.
This park is free to the public. They do provide a donation box if you are so inclined.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maymont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing