We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and comprehensive”
Review of The Valentine

The Valentine
Ranked #35 of 168 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: For more than a century, the Valentine has celebrated one of America's most historic cities with exhibitions, educational programs,city tours, extensive collections and archives, and the restoration of the 1812 Wickham House. Enjoy lunch in the Valentine Garden (Monday-Friday) and shop at the Museum Store (open daily).
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quirky and comprehensive”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Established to house the varied collections of the last owners, there's a lot to see here. Previous owners had many interests so there are Chinese porcelains, Native american artifacts, and early surgical instruments among the collections on display. The lower level is a very nice accumulation of Richmond History, including locals participation in the Civil War and service through World War II. There are some fine examples of neon signage art, some fashion, and some retail history. The Wickam mansion, which is part of the complex, is a lovely historical home to tour. Afterward, the walled garden is a haven of tranquility in the middle of the City. Pick a spot on a bench and enjoy the fountain, the magnolias and the shade.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank details1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Public Relations Manager at The Valentine, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Valentine Richmond History Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    31
    3
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So-so...”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

It wasn't as good or as detailed as the Museum of the Confederacy or even the Virginia Holocaust Museum - I'd have thought that for the price there would be at least more extensive detail and galleries showing you Richmond's history. Instead, the galleries were themed, such as the clothes of that era, some neon signs, food, tobacco and the like. Nothing wrong with that, but I felt that it wasn't the best way to showcase the rich history that Richmond had to offer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank timothyseanfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Walking Tour”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I've attended two of their History Hounds walking tours and both were very informative and well planned. Being able to take my dog was an added bonus and the reason I choose these tours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SchnauzerLvr-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dcasuccio, Public Relations Manager at The Valentine, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you and your canine companion enjoyed exploring Richmond with our guide. We hope that you will join us for more tours in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stop for Tourists and Richmonders Alike!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We visited this museum on a rainy day in Richmond, and were delighted by the exhibits and presentation/tour of the Wickham House. This museum would be a great stop for anyone who wants an overview of the history of Richmond. The exhibits cover the history of Richmond from its origins through some of the present day marvels, and as a Richmonder, I felt like I learned a lot about my home town. This would be a definite stop if I were a visitor!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2,830 reviews
1,127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,854 helpful votes
“Another hidden gem in Richmond”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

You need more than a few days to cover all the bases in Richmond, Virginia. There are so many historical sites to visit, not all of them relating to the Civil War. There are battlefields, churches, cemeteries, state capitol buildings, mansions, museums, art galleries, even boulevards. While touring the Capitol Square and the Museum of the Confederacy complexes, you can add the Valentine Richmond History Center, which is located two blocks from the Museum of the Confederacy. There is something of everything. The Valentine is the premier source for experiencing Richmond history. It engages, educates and challenges a diverse audience by collecting, preserving and interpreting Richmond's rich history. There are paintings, sculptures, manuscripts, ephemera, documents, photographs, artwork and other archives relating to Richmond's history. In addition, there is a tour of the adjacent Wickham house, the 1812 home of lawyer John Wickham, who represented Aaron Burr in his famous court fight. Visitors will enjoy Sally Bell's, a legendary Richmond eatery in the garden of the Wickham house. The gift shop is filling with unique gifts and historical books about Richmond and the Civil War.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Valentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing