We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't honor confirmed room rates.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
Ranked #73 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't honor confirmed room rates.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Upon arrival hotel said they were going to charge more than was set on the written confirmation the hotel sent to me. They denied they were obligated to honor that rate. They said a different rate was in the contract with the "event" I was attending. The "event" did not make each individual's reservations, each individual staying at the hotel made and confirmed their own reservations. Talk about fraud! The management was nasty, curt, and made no attempt to make any kind of adjustment. At check out I wrote note on my receipt amending the rate, signed it, and asked for a copy. The front desk manager told me I couldn't have a signed copy because "it is illegal to do that."

During our stay two of the five elevators did not work. None of the elevators had operating certificates posted. When that was questioned the management said they were on file in the office. There was no such notice about such a filing in any elevator. Many many of the ice machines did not work, many floors without any working machines. The ceiling in the hall on the 7th floor was falling down. Cockroaches were found crawling around in the ballrooms.

Back door near main elevators is marked "use room key to open after dark," it was never unlocked during the day.

Room service left rooms incomplete not providing clean glasses, changing linens. Maintenance staff left a friends room propped open and occupant suffered a theft.

Definitely, never never never stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear KD,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    36
    40
    55
    72
See reviews for
61
33
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Attended line dance workshop there. Had been quoted a rate of $73/nt., but they charged $87/nt. plus tax, even though I have the confirmation in writing. Unfortunately, many in our group did not have a written confirmation, so they cannot dispute it through their credit cards. Staff polite, but even refused my request to make me a copy of the bill on which I had written that I had confirmation in writing for $73/nt. rate and was disputing the charge of $87/nt.
Some elevators were not working. Ice maker on our floor was not working entire stay, Thurs.-Sun. 1 of 2 wash rags had large stain in middle. Hallways hot. Mirror had black spot where finish was gone. Internet service in room was spotty at best. Whenever I tried to do anything requiring Internet service, it would stop. Was only able to get a few minute of service in our room the entire time we were there.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Jackie H,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Mt Jackson, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Did not honor price quoted. Ice machines do not work. Jacuzzi does not work. Soda machines empty. Bathrooms without toilet paper..No certified elevator certificate. Most elevators not working. Smoking done in stairwells.
There are no refrigerators in rooms as advertised on web site. No coffee, forks, salt and pepper for breakfast. Food was awful. Floors and walls dirty. Bathtub faucet fell apart so had scalding hot water. Rooms smelled funky.
Parking lot full of cracks and weeds.
Worst place I ever stayed.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Pat P,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We made reservations for king bed, non-smoking, rooms with small refrigerator a couple months ago for a planned trip traveling with another couple. Upon early arrival at 12:30 P.M. the desk clerk "Stratos" communicated that none of the rooms were ready yet, but had our reservations - "come back in an hour and your rooms will be ready". When we returned in an hour "Stratos" told us those rooms were no longer available. We questioned him regarding what could happen in an hour, especially with early reservations and received a blank stare with no response. Requested to see the manager - Stratos replied that he was the manager. We finally obtained two lower quality rooms with double (not even queen) beds. Most of the elevators posted "out of order" signs, ice machines in the halls were broken, stairwells, doors and frames were dirty - in need of cleaning/ repainting, the indoor pool water was pretty cloudy, the parking lot had large areas of grass growing through the blacktop cracks. The "hot breakfast" on the complimentary buffet was cold. The general condition of the hotel and employee helpfullness has significantly deteriorated in the two years since we last passed thru there. This has become a one star hotel.

Room Tip: Hopefully the Magnuson folks will read the reviews and take corrective measures to return this facil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Dave H,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Third visit to the hotel for a dance workshop. Apparently this is new management; however, we made reservations in April for an August visit- we requested king beds with refrigerators on the 5th floor:(3 rooms) we called ahead to confirm in July and were told refrigerators were on "first come" basis. We arrived at 1:00 for a 3:00 check in - "rooms not ready"; were told to come back in a couple of hours: went to Denney's for lunch (across the street) and came back at 2:00 and were told no refrigerators available! After pressing desk clerk who said he was the manager, he provided us with rooms with refrigerators -it took about 20 minutes to check in (there was only one person at the desk -even though we had others in the group attempting to check in -- we ended up with double beds and a refrigerator that froze the contents even after changing the settings! "included" breakfast was horrible; couldn't eat it! We're moving next year; thanks goodness!BTW: a member of our group had an i-pad stolen from her room on the first day - we took care of our own housekeeping duties during the weekend.

Room Tip: Use the stairs; elevators run rough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Joan H,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

I booked my room online for the hotel. The hotel was chosen because that is where the Line Dance event I was attending was held. Arrived to the hotel to check-in to find a line of about twenty people and only one person behind the desk. The air conditioning is non-existent. After waiting what seemed like an eternity to check-in, it was my turn and lo and behold they didn't have the room I had booked. They tried to put me in a room with two double beds and no refrigerator and microwave. They found me a room with a refrigerator and microwave but made no effort to compensate the difference in the price of the room. Half of the elevators do not work. Got to the room to find it had an awful odor. At least the air conditioning in the room worked. Later found out the room has ants and that the smell had been the exterminator spraying. I would not stay again at this hotel if you paid me to. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melm212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear melm212,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband and booked this hotel for one night as a pit-stop during a long road trip. Our main concern was price and at $60 (via priceline) you get what you pay for.

Actually, If we had just checked in when we arrived at 11pm and gone straight to bed, I probably would have rated the hotel as average. The hotel room was large and clean. Bed was a king size and was reasonably comfortable. The only complaint was that even though the AC seemed to be running, the room was very warm which made it difficult to get a good night sleep.

But here comes the bad... When we walked into the lobby we were met by a group of about 10 screaming teenage girls and their enraged parents. The group was there for a traveling sports league and had booked several rooms at the hotel rate ($100+!). The group was trying to cancel their reservation and check out because they found bed bugs in their rooms. Now... we took this with a grain of salt because apparently the girls had pictures on their phones of these insects and I am under the impression that bed bugs can't be seen with the naked eye. Regardless, it was concerning to be checking in the midst of this circus. The group was denied a refund and apparently stayed at the hotel but they were livid and making a huge scene.
We checked in anyway and took the elevator up to our floor. No issues with our ice machine but as other reviewers have said, the elevators sounded like a death trap. We examined the bed and room overall but didn't see any signs of bed bugs or any other creatures. It was unnerving but the room seemed fine to us.

We decided to visit the hotel bar for a drink to relax. It was very... strange. The bartender told us that it was the 1st night the hotel bar/restaurant had been open in over a year because the previous owner did not think it would be profitable. I asked what wine they had by the glass and the bartender pulled out 3 half empty bottles from under the bar. They certainly looked like they had been there for a long time for I ordered a beer instead. Although they had bottles displayed on the shelves, I received a can (for $4...). The bartender had to procure the drinks from the back which was odd. They also left our empty cans in front of us after we ordered another round. The staff was fine, not overly friendly, but not awful. It was just clear they they had absolutely no hospitality training.

Poor management seems to be the overall theme for this hotel. The hotel is huge, but it seems that only part of it is being rented out. Basically it is semi-run down and just kinda sad. But as I said, if we did not witness the circus at check in and did not go to the bar, it would have seemed alright. It was fine for a pit-stop but I would not go back, even at such a cheap rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceraz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear ceraz23,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I assure you that we have analyzed the problems and have taken the necessary actions to make The Magnuson Hotel a different property then what you had experienced. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.0 mi away
Hotel I-64 Richmond
Hotel I-64 Richmond
#66 of 81 in Richmond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Richmond West
0.1 mi away
Speco Hotels Richmond
Speco Hotels Richmond
#49 of 81 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond West End
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Property: Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
Address: 6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230-2013 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent smoke free Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel is 8 miles northwest of downtown Richmond, and less than 4 miles from the University of Richmond, Henrico Doctors' Hospital, Phillip Morris- Altria, INC, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Belmont Golf Course. Guests of the Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel can enjoy an indoor pool, jacuzzi, on-site fitness room, and a complimentary continental breakfast. All guest rooms include free wireless internet, coffeemaker, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock/radio, iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing