We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overcharged” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
Ranked #73 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Overcharged”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Fortunately I only stayed there one night. When I reserved the room was quoted a price actually a little lower than one stated on a line dance festival flyer, but upon checking in the price was $14 higher. Clerk assured us would be straighten out before actually billed to my credit card. The price quoted was suppose to include the breakfast buffet, but I was also charge double the fee for one person in the room. My room was clean and sufficient, but the breakfast buffet was not plentiful or staffed to serve a large group. The airconditioning was not working in one of the ballrooms or halls. The hotel was rundown and I would strongly discourage anyone for using it for a convention. When I did received my credit card bill, discovered was charged additional $10 !! Called assuming they would adjust the bill, but only got a rude man that said hotels can charge an additional $50 for incidentials (?)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shopperinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear shopperinva,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    36
    40
    55
    72
See reviews for
61
33
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed at this hotel for two nights. I had a confirmed reservation and reservation number from the hotel via email with a rate per day. When I got to the hotel I was told they would NOT honor the rate THEY had confirmed to me. I was told I could talk with the Manager about it, however the manager was NEVER available. They charged me $14 more per night than my confirmed reservation amount. I wrote the manager a detailed letter requesting a refund of the overcharged amount and I also phoned after two weeks (to give him a chance to credit my card) to talk with him. He did not respond to my letter or my phone call. I will dispute the charge with my credit card company and file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau of Richmond regarding this matter.

NOW on to the quality of the hotel. It was dismal! My room's shower drain was so clogged with disgusting stuff it wouldn't drain (yes I was standing in inches deep water when I showered the first time.) I was told they couldn't get anyone to my room to clean it up so they gave me a key to a room down the hall where I could shower. (Let me say the front desk staff were very nice and tried to be helpful and this was the only solution they could come up with--so I accepted it.) A little odd to go 'down the hall' to shower in the morning, but at least that shower drained. NEXT the air conditioning unit in my room was so loud it was impossible to sleep. AND...the whole hotel has a funny odor--like maybe they've had water/mildew/mold problems. IN ADDITION, the elevators were awful. A number of them weren't working at different times, NONE of the ones I used had those safety inspection notices (I know at least one person got 'stuck' on an elevator that weekend). LASTLY The 'free included hot buffet breakfast' and I write 'hot and buffet' tongue in cheek, was pitiful. Cold eggs, stale bread...yuck! Even though breakfast was 'included' I went out to eat breakfast one day just to get a decent meal.

One good note, I will say the front desk staff were kind and apologetic, but they really couldn't solve any of the issues.

I will NEVER stay at this hotel again and would STRONGLY encourage anyone considering a stay there to seriously re-evaluate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jackee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Jackee K,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I'm going to try to be nice, only because some of the people here are very nice. At first entry the hotel looks modern and the room is quite clean and comfortable. That should be enough for some people. The staff are well trained and very pleasant. Here's the thing: This hotel has recently been bought by private owners who, by all opinions I've heard, can't afford it. This is a big convention hotel that used to be the Crown Plaza. At first blush I should have been skeptical. The sign out front on one side welcomes the line dancing festival of Virginia. On the other side it promotes "smoking pet rooms" (WTW?). Also the back parking lot appears to have been victim of a nuclear holocaust. Still the people and the room is nice so I forge on. I should tell you that I'm staying here for several weeks while my house is renovated so this is not an inexperienced observation. Day four of my stay, the Direct TV goes out and remains out at the time of this writing. Some rather out spoken breakfast companions confirmed my opinion that the bill has not been paid. There were no weather events to cause it and what company with competitors lets their service be down in a hotel for multiple days? On inquiry we've received various reasons and finally they just offer a discount. Breakfast is always interesting. They move it around daily and seem to offer whatever they have found on final clearance at the super market. The most troubling things have been the presumed owners. The man walks around policing the place to ensure that no one abuses the paltry offerings. The woman screams at the poor employee who has to lay out the mere morsels they provide. Today there was a well fed cockroach feasting in the middle of the floor on some spilled catchup. For reasons that defy logic they offer periodically hard boiled eggs or scrambled egg whites. The tried and true regular scrambled eggs are never on the menu. Be prepared to be surprised! Then there is the pool. As my s/o put it: If there insurance company finds out about this, they are in trouble. The ladder is loose. The hot tub is more of a vat with holes and two jets that work. I here the treadmills don't work, but I haven't first hand tried them. Oh and the wireless, There are about seven different connections all that offer at most two bars of strength, I better end this before it cuts me off. Have fun.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank fanSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear fanSXM,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Overall it was ok just to sleep in. However I will not do it again. Weird smell throughout almost smelled like a combo of curry and body odor. We had a king room and bed wasnt comfortable and there was no fridge in the room. There was also advertised free breakfast but there was none. Floors were not cleaned throughout hotel. No Ac in halls or elevators. Enter at your own risk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chch88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear chch88,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Upon arrival hotel said they were going to charge more than was set on the written confirmation the hotel sent to me. They denied they were obligated to honor that rate. They said a different rate was in the contract with the "event" I was attending. The "event" did not make each individual's reservations, each individual staying at the hotel made and confirmed their own reservations. Talk about fraud! The management was nasty, curt, and made no attempt to make any kind of adjustment. At check out I wrote note on my receipt amending the rate, signed it, and asked for a copy. The front desk manager told me I couldn't have a signed copy because "it is illegal to do that."

During our stay two of the five elevators did not work. None of the elevators had operating certificates posted. When that was questioned the management said they were on file in the office. There was no such notice about such a filing in any elevator. Many many of the ice machines did not work, many floors without any working machines. The ceiling in the hall on the 7th floor was falling down. Cockroaches were found crawling around in the ballrooms.

Back door near main elevators is marked "use room key to open after dark," it was never unlocked during the day.

Room service left rooms incomplete not providing clean glasses, changing linens. Maintenance staff left a friends room propped open and occupant suffered a theft.

Definitely, never never never stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear KD,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Attended line dance workshop there. Had been quoted a rate of $73/nt., but they charged $87/nt. plus tax, even though I have the confirmation in writing. Unfortunately, many in our group did not have a written confirmation, so they cannot dispute it through their credit cards. Staff polite, but even refused my request to make me a copy of the bill on which I had written that I had confirmation in writing for $73/nt. rate and was disputing the charge of $87/nt.
Some elevators were not working. Ice maker on our floor was not working entire stay, Thurs.-Sun. 1 of 2 wash rags had large stain in middle. Hallways hot. Mirror had black spot where finish was gone. Internet service in room was spotty at best. Whenever I tried to do anything requiring Internet service, it would stop. Was only able to get a few minute of service in our room the entire time we were there.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Jackie H,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.0 mi away
Hotel I-64 Richmond
Hotel I-64 Richmond
#66 of 81 in Richmond
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Richmond West
0.1 mi away
Speco Hotels Richmond
Speco Hotels Richmond
#49 of 81 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Hotel
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond West End
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Property: Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
Address: 6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230-2013 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent smoke free Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel is 8 miles northwest of downtown Richmond, and less than 4 miles from the University of Richmond, Henrico Doctors' Hospital, Phillip Morris- Altria, INC, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Belmont Golf Course. Guests of the Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel can enjoy an indoor pool, jacuzzi, on-site fitness room, and a complimentary continental breakfast. All guest rooms include free wireless internet, coffeemaker, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock/radio, iron and board. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing