We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manager was very kind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
Ranked #74 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“Manager was very kind”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at the Richmond Magnuson last weekend on a business trip. The room was very nice and comfortable. The rates were reasonable. I had to go to another hotel for a conference And since it was a short distance away no taxi wanted to take me. The manager offered for one of their employees to drive me there. That meant a lot to me. Looking forward to staying there again.
Neila Gobin

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank neila g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmt-GuestServices, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank for your choosing Richmond Magnuson Grand (RMG) because there were so many other places to choose here in Richmond. We have currently hired to great people ... our Front Office Manager and Sales Manager. They are both dedicated to enhancing the full guest experience from check-in to check-out, so thank you for noticing the change and posting your review. We hope to see you next time you in the Richmond area. Change is Coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    36
    40
    55
    72
See reviews for
61
33
18
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I'm sorry to be writing this review because the people at the front desk were very nice, but the second I went into my hotel room I saw a HUGE live bug clinging to the curtains - I killed it and then put my suitcase in the bathtub because the room looked dirty and the carpet was stained. I found ANOTHER bug on the shower wall and killed it. I pulled back the covers on the bed and saw people's hair (not mine) and something else that was stuck to the sheets that I couldn't identify (old noodle??). Under the mattress was an abundance of crumbles of food/nut shells/candy wrappers from previous guests. I was so disgusted I slept in my clothes and used my jacket for a pillow (contemplated sleeping in the bathtub but it didn't look any cleaner), didn't even take a shower in the morning, and washed everything the second I got home just in case any bugs from the Magnuson hotel decided to hop a ride home with me. Nothing in this hotel was clean. There were only a few cars in the parking lot of the HUGE hotel, so that should have been a clue that something was amiss. I wouldn't be surprised if in the near future the hotel was closed down due to inspection. I did not even contemplate eating the complimentary breakfast. Again, I'm sorry to write this because the people at the front desk were nice but I feel a need to warn others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmt-GuestServices, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
First, we do appreciate you choosing us and giving us the opportunity. I do apologize for the cleanliness of the room. That is definitely unacceptable. We have hired a new Front Office Manager who is keen on quality and cleanliness. He has hired some great housekeepers, so we know that changes are being made. We also have regularly scheduled pest control services to control those issues. If you were to stay with us again, I guarantee a different experience. If you are in the Richmond area, consider giving us a 2nd chance to provide the quality you deserve. Change has Come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is horrible! Run down, mold and mildew in rooms and hallways, no certificates in elevators, which I'm pretty sure is illegal. Hallways have no air conditioning. Rooms are old and dirty. We had an event there and we're told the day we showed up for the event by the owner, that the air conditioning for the ballroom was not working because thieves just stole the unit from the roof! Total BS. We were told by employee's that it hasn't worked in many months. Owner pretends to be different managers when we talked to him prior to the event. Very shady and a total liar. Do NOT go to this hotel, the worst experience ever!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank picaso32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgmt-GuestServices, Director of Sales at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your choosing us to host your event, and posting your review. We don't know what things we need to change unless we hear from our guests, so thank you. I do, however, apologize for your experience here at Richmond Magnuson Grand. We have made some changes since your experience. The General Manager had taken on too many hats. He has now hired a Front Office Manager dedicated to quality, and a Sales Manager committed to providing for the full service experience from a single guest to all groups. We have tackled those maintenance issues with an experienced hotel engineer. Once again, thank you for letting us know what changes we needed to make to provide our future guests a better experience. Change is Here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We came here based on reviews and the pictures on the hotel website. 1) Grand is a misleading title. We must have been booked in the rooms where pictures weren't taken. 2) Our room was very dated, poor water pressure in shower and very noisy air conditioner. 3) interior of elevators were in desperate need of a cleaning and our floor's hallway smelled damp and also in need of a deep carpet shampooing. There must be a special set of rooms where those that wrote better reviews stayed. 4) Front desk staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Ed G,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel.Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Clean rooms and bathrooms, fabulous price, hotel is centrally located to everything. Front desk staff members were very nice. All things considered, a delightful weekend in Richmond. We didn't use the pool, so we can't comment. A good value for the price!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinVinFlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2013

stayed here 3 times in the past few months. staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were
clean, and the hotel is located close to stores and restaurants. It also as a pool and hot tub
which is great for bringing your family and kids to enjoy while away at work. I had a issue with the
cable but as soon as i called down to the front desk the staff had it taken care of right away
so i have no complaints and i would recommend anyone to stay here

Room Tip: I would recommend sleeping on the 5th floor, not alot of noise and very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jahari m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

POOR POOR Customer Service- Smelly, very poor maintenance- where are the shampooers and vacuums?
I booked this hotel 10/17/13 from online (not from Trip Advisor) based on the basic rating of 3 and for the cost.
Did not know the ratings were skewed by the online company.
To begin- from the moment I drove into the parking area I wondered if the place was abandoned due to the High grass, trash and overall lack of maintenance. Giving the benefit of the doubt I proceeded to check-in. The front door windows were dirty, the entrance rugs were filthy (not raining) and the lobby smell was uninviting. The lobby ceiling had cracks and showed evidence of a water leak.

Once I did speak with the front desk clerk (she was very unfriendly) after waiting 10 mins. NOT Checking-In- I asked for a REFUND. She stated I was 15mins too late and could not receive a refund- I needed to speak to a manager. Waited another 10-15 mins for the manager to return to work. Asked for a refund. I was told I needed to call the Online agent for a refund or credit but I was too late to receive a refund from their end. I explained to the manager that I would need to call the Richmond City Code Enforcement to inspect the hotel for violations. The manager stated that he did not care if I called President Obama, I was not getting a refund...Nasty character!!!.
Being that I was in Richmond on business I was not prepared to pay for another hotel.,,but I went looking anyway, hoping to find another hotel I could afford. I had to end up going back to that RAT HOLE!! It does not matter how much a hotel cost when it comes to cleanliness and customer service... there is no excuse for poor management on any level. I could write for an hour on my horrible experience. The customer photos currently posted are TRUE!!! DO NOT spend a dime on this place. The Airport chairs or a campground would be nicer. To be honest the beds were ok. the rest is a NO!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d2yadah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpeters69, Manager at Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear d2yadah,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. I apologize for the experience you had with your stay with us. We are currently under new management and are making the necessary changes to improve the quality and customer service at the Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Robert G. Peters
General Manager
Richmond Grand Magnuson Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
0.1 mi away
Speco Hotels Richmond
Speco Hotels Richmond
#49 of 81 in Richmond
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Richmond - West Broad
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Richmond West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Richmond West
0.7 mi away
Best Western Executive Hotel
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Richmond - W. Broad Street - Glenside - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel

Property: Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel
Address: 6531 W Broad St, Richmond, VA 23230-2013 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond West)
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 100 percent smoke free Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel is 8 miles northwest of downtown Richmond, and less than 4 miles from the University of Richmond, Henrico Doctors' Hospital, Phillip Morris- Altria, INC, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Belmont Golf Course. Guests of the Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel can enjoy an indoor pool, jacuzzi, on-site fitness room, and a complimentary continental breakfast. All guest rooms include free wireless internet, coffeemaker, hair dryer, free local calls, alarm clock/radio, iron and board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Magnuson Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Richmond
Richmond Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing