We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best al fresco brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portico Restaurant

Portico Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Portico Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 1,602 Restaurants in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Chef Paolo Randazzo, former owner of Franco's Ristorante and current owner of Sensi, both in Richmond, VA 804-784-4800
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best al fresco brunch!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited in late May after church. We'd been there for lunch and dinner previously, but brunch in the garden is not to be missed!! Bellini cocktails, marvelously spicy Bloody Marys, awesome artichoke appetizer, delectable entrees-and all surrounded by one of Richmond's most gorgeous gardens! I didn't want to leave...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KristinB843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    51
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Romantic Date Night”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I went to Portico a few weeks ago and had an absolutely wonderful and romantic date night. The outdoor dining area and fireplace area are amazing. The flowering gardens and surrounding herb garden are beautiful and set the scene for an truly out-of-the-way wine country setting. Excellent service and wonderful food in a terrific environment. You'll NEVER find it unless you search it out at the west end of River Road, but weel worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Portico, a restaurant with an intimate cottage feel. While we were hoping to dine outside - the garden is beautiful, best al fresco dining in Richmond! - it was too hot. Inside was a bit loud, but the gracious service and tasty food more than made up for the noise level. We shared the seared tuna appetizer and then had a pasta dish and a special that was a salad. . . . . Everything was perfect! As was the dessert! We had a very leisurely meal and enjoyed linger over our coffee.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magical summer celebration”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were celebrating a wedding anniversary, and this is as good as it gets. We've dined al fresco in many fine places in Europe and the US and it doesn't get any finer than in our own backyard at Portico. Enjoyed a very reasonably priced French rose on the patio during the brief wait for our table, and started with a crab and roasted artichoke bruschetta that could have been a nice lunch in itself. She had the stuffed shrimp and I had the sea bass special, and both were outstanding. I can't name the Italian pudding we had for dessert (similar to creme brulee, but denser) but it was a perfect end to a perfect meal. Appetizer, two glasses of wine each, two entrees and a shared dessert for $100 on a beautiful patio and professional and friendly service? That's now just a value, it's a bargain. If you catch a beautiful day and want to dine outside, then Portico should be your first choice.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brock58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pebble Beach, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic quinoa seafood salad special”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Met here for lunch with friends. The special today, June 27th, was a quinoa seafood salad. Really, really good. I hope, for readers' sake, they make this a regular menu item.

Restaurant has a nice comfortable interior, and a large outdoor patio.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PebbleBCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Portico Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing