We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Harbor”

Richmond National Battlefield Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.00*
and up
Richmond's History and Food of Shockoe Bottom and Church Hill
Ranked #32 of 168 things to do in Richmond
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
2,741 reviews
1,446 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,503 helpful votes
“Cold Harbor”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We drove around the grounds of cold harbor, and learnt a bit more about the history of this battle. The NBP sites are always remarkably calm and peaceful a great contrast to the carnage and utter destruction that took place and is remembered.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lots to see and learn”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We travelled around the Richmond area, looking at a number of battlefields. Due to the city being literally in the middle of some of the sites, you have to travel a bit.
We did the driving tour, covering the Seven Days battles. This tour was extremely well marked, all of the stops were easy to find on the map and in person. Many of the stops were little more than signage, but some, like Fort Brady, Gaines Mill and Cold Harbor have a good bit to teach. Even if you think you knew the information, there is still more to learn here.
Definitely start at the Richmond Battlefield Park Visitor Center downtown, at the Tredegar Iron Works ( a site worth seeing alone) and get some maps and guidance. It will help make the sightseeing easier.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank ca_davies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet Dignity - Worth the Visit”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Cold Harbor battlefield is peaceful and serene with its lush trees and meandering pathways. But if you look a bit closer you'll see the remains of the trenches of both the Confederates and the Union stretched along the ridges and fields. You are actually THERE, where it happened! Powerful stuff. Small signs fill you on details and paths bring you in and around the battlefield. You get a sense of what the soldiers saw (and perhaps felt). There's a little interpretation center at the site but it was closed when I roamed about. But it looks interesting. Cold Harbor is worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim2315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
646 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Perfect starting point before you start seeing the battlefields.”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

If you are a history buff like me you like to get the whole picture of the past before narrowing it down to specifics. There are well over a dozen places that make the "Richmond Battlefield" and they are within a 80 mile area.

I would STRONGLY recommend going to the city of Richmond and starting at the NPS Visitor Center, get a map, and tour the heart of the Confederate War Machine site, Trodegar Iron Works. This was the perfect place to start from and a must stop if you are either just getting a highlight of the battlefields or are going all out to see everything!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ExploringViking96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Plan your visit - this is stretched out!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We actually visited on June 1, which is within the anniversary date of the Cold Harbor Battle. We went to the Tradegar Iron Works Site, which was a great museum. Their was a non-National Park Museum there that was great as well. They rangers at the National Park Site at Tradegar told us to make sure we got to the Cold Harbor site as there was going to be some reenactments, etc. We did, and it was great. They shot cannons, and, they took us down into the battle field area where we could be in the main areas of the order of battle. Great visit.

You cannot do the Tradegar Iron Works in less than 3 hours, don't even try!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richmond National Battlefield Park also viewed

 

Been to Richmond National Battlefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing