We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and Informative Tour”

St. John's Episcopal Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$120.00*
and up
Richmond's History and Food of Shockoe Bottom and Church Hill
Ranked #12 of 168 things to do in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent and Informative Tour”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We visited on a very rainy Saturday thus did not give the interesting graveyard as much time as we otherwise would. We did go on a guided church tour which is well worth the money. The history of the church and the information on Patrick Henry and some of the other founding fathers from Virginia was presented in a very interesting manner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ted047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    61
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“I had goose bumps”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We visited on a Saturday late in the afternoon hen the visitor center was closed. Luckily a wedding was scheduled, and a church staffer was in the worship area. She gave us an impromptu tour, answered all our questions, and told us all about upcoming events. We stood in the spot where the luminaries of the American Revolution stood as they listened to Patrick Henry's famous speech. We all had chills!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Rich in history”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A must see for lovers of American history. Free tours, regular reenactments but no photo's allowed during their performances.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FLgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3,309 reviews
1,826 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,893 helpful votes
“Inspiring!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 via mobile

My docent group and I went here just this afternoon, and it was fabulous! Our guide, Ray, was phenomenal! The oration we received was informational and inspiring. I can't wait to come back for a reenactment in a few weeks. I will recommend this to anyone who is or is not interested in the American Revolution!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Walk through time”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

This tour was extremely informative. It was amazing to be in the same point as so many great founding fathers and history makes of this country. Made me realize how much the country and government has changed from how it was originally founded to be. Tour guide was very interesting and informative. The church was beautiful and fit in beautifully with the remainder of our historic tour of this area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jegraham01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. John's Episcopal Church also viewed

 

Been to St. John's Episcopal Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing